We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
portland or
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

An older, completely refurbished, and very comfortable hotel in downtown Kalispell. Several things distinguish it. First, unlike the chains, it has character. By "character," I don't mean quirks or minor discomforts. Rather, I mean charm and a sense of place. Second, the staff is very welcoming and small town friendly in a sincere way. Third, it is very reasonable in price and offers a free breakfast, free snacks and coffee during the day, and free cookies in the evening. We had a very quiet room overlooking the rear. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room off the street for a quieter room. We had room 321, which was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    141
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
102
238
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the staff were warm and friendly, and the breakfast was delicious - I had potato quiche, fruit, yogurt, and excellent coffee. The afternoon cookies were fresh, soft, and delicious. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. It exceeded my expectations, considering how inexpensive it was compared to the chain hotels in the area. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for any traveler.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkiesFromNowOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Last year's road-trip did not go to plan. My girlfriend ended up in intensive care in Kalispell, Montana, after a fall. I stayed 2 weeks in the Grand, having spent 5 days there five years previously. They went beyond understanding and reached real compassion during the very hard times that I went through. Nice hotel with pleasant rooms too - try their buffet breakfast.
And if you need to drown your sorrows, try Moose's saloon which is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is almost 100 years old in the downtown section of Kalispell about 15 minutes or so from the airport. It is full of charm. It was nice to stay in a place with some atmosphere instead of the usual chain hotel. There are freshly baked cookies and popcorn in the evening. There is a full breakfast in the mornings, including a quiche while we were there. The room is fairly small and it had a window unit air conditioner, which may bother some people. There is an elevator or stairs to the rooms. Connected to the lobby is a small shop that has the work of local artists. Our cost including taxes was $120.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have travelled all over the world and have never stayed at such a charming place!!!!!! .. It is worth a trip to Kalispell, Montana just to stay at this place...when we walked in, we instantly felt at home.. Amelia..who works there about every evening.. is such a gracious host ...she was so welcoming with a beautiful smile on her face ...she immediately offered us warm cookies and milk. Wehad 2 of our babies... Chlloe and Willoughby..our 2 adorable furry friends.. with us.. They are our family and were treated as such by all of the staff at the Grand..When we went out for supper Amelia offered to pet sit for us... WOW.... This was the first time we have ever been offered something so great.. This made us feel so welcome.. This is the most pet friendly place we have ever stayed at..and we have stayed at a lot ..we always travel with pets.....We love you all for showing us that you not only care about people but also the animals we care about and love so much..The rooms were lovely...the artisan craft shop and all of the wonderful wool hats in the lobby.. loved them all... The breakfast was awesome and gourmet at the very least......We felt we were visiting old and very dear friends.. We will definitely be back...We absolutely loved..loved..loved it....Can't say enough good.. Thanks for your amazing hospitality..I think you have the southerners beat.... they are known for their hospitality and we can attest to that but they could definitely take some lessons from the experts at the Kalisplell Grand Hotel....Thank you so much for all you do to take care of us travellers... Love to you all.. Mark and Lora Williams..Chloe and Willoughby.. Finnegan and Lucy are jealous....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorawilliams1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTINEZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights on our way back from Glacier. (Wish we had stayed here on our way in since it was half the price and double the quality). Room was comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast was wonderful, with home baked pastries. We looked forward to the afternoon cookies in the lobby where locals come sit and chat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This old hotel building is managed very well. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a nice bed. The old building was interesting and so different than staying at a Hampton Inn, or the like. The continental breakfast was very good, and the quiche was excellent. With very a nightly rate of around $102 for our room, we feel like we got quite a deal. Yes, we would stay there again. If you have kids, I don't recomend this location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ricksour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
974 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#9 of 20 in Kalispell
613 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Property: The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing