We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Historic Site for Families”
Review of Conrad Mansion

Conrad Mansion
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Conrad Mansion Museum is located in Kalispell's east side residential area atop a bluff overlooking the valley and the Swan mountain range. The home sits on three landscaped acres,surrounded by a dry stone fence with iron gates. Six large annual flower beds and extensive ever-blooming perennial beds provide constant color during the summer season, with pruned hedges, evergreens, and spacious lawns serving as a lush background. MISSION To preserve and exhibit the 1895 Charles Conrad Family Estate through public tours, educational programs, and community events.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun Historic Site for Families”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great place to go to learn about the history of Kalispell and the Flathead valley. In all honesty, I haven't gone for years, but still remember loving it. I live in the Flathead valley, so pass it often. They also do great events a few times a year which are always a hit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JShultes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    47
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Glacier Park
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice side trip”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A lot of Montana and Kallispel History. Something every one should see. Times it is open is great for the traveler. If you have kids taken them

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RayMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite a tour”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I don't always tour historic homes, but this was a real classic. My tour guide was excellent and I was amazed by the many "before their time" innovations used in the building of this fabulous home. Not pretentious, but beautiful! A good way to spend a couple of hours in Kalispell.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaGmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must See if you like history”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The house is virtually all original, thanks to Conrad's wife, who was a packrat and saved everything (even receipts!). This is a great tour of a pre-1900 mansion, with a nice staff telling all of the history behind each room. It's a well spent couple of hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTxGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Home in Kalispell”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Conrad Mansion is a beautiful home filled with lovely antiques. Even my 7 year-old son was able to remain engaged by the interesting objects. It was a bit of a "furniture tour" -- as a non-native, I would have preferred more insight to the actual history of the Conrads and their impact on the development of Kalispell.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlyBird_Ozmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conrad Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Conrad Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing