We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally clean and gracious hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalispell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptionally clean and gracious hospitality”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had planned to stay just over 2012 Labor Day weekend but our plans changed and we were graciously accommodated for a stay of 9 nights at the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. Denise and Tom far exceed expectations as hosts and are resource treasures! We whole-heartedly have recommended them to our friends. We stayed in one of their suites with a kitchenette and were very comfortable and pleased with our room. This is the first place I'll call on our next trip to Kalispell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTDaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. It's an honor to know we will be the first place you'll call on your next trip to Kalispell, Montana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
82
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black Diamond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to spend a few days in Kalispell Montana and hung my hat at The Hilltop Inn. Not only was it less expensive than rooms across the street, you could feel the authentic investment the staff shared. I was met with a smiling welcome and was even asked if I was prone to leaving items behind and if so, where could they be sent. The yard was impeccable, well-manicured and peppered with Adirondack chairs and loveseats. The room was extremely clean and populated with up to date appliances, furniture and artwork. There’s grocery and restaurants in walking distance, onsite wireless and a genuine feeling that the owners were sincere in adding to a positive experience. Well done to all involved and I highly recommend The Hilltop Inn, Kalispell Montana

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Such a great review and to recognize the Kalispell Hilltop Inn's pricing matrix. It's nice to see the authenticity of your experience with us and to reflect on our clean rooms, well groomed grounds and a sincerity from the staff of our budget Inn to compliment your experience. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri/everywhere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

You might dismiss this place at first glance. All I can say is, don't!!

This place is amazing! It's like renting a small, very clean apartment with the best landlords possible. The owners really went above and beyond...not only were they extremely friendly and informative (if you need info on where to hike, the best places to visit at Glacier State, etc, go talk to either of the owners) but they went above and beyond to help and make us feel welcome. I'm always a bit wary when traveling with my partner to a smaller city, as many people are not so accepting of same-sex couples. Regardless of what their views might be, there was no apprehension in helping us, and I felt that the owners were genuinely interested in helping everyone who came through their doors.

Also, during this visit my dog ate something very toxic, and of course, I panicked and ran to the office to find the closest vet. The owner was quick to supply me with her own bottle of hydrogen peroxide to help, and checked in on us later to make sure my pet was fine. I cannot say enough about not only the rooms, but the service and the friendly demeanor of the owners.

Long story short...my pet is fully recovered (thanks to them!), we had an amazing stay and a great time at Glacier state due to their recommendations, and we had a clean, cozy, apartment sized room for half of the price any other place in town had to offer...there were even grills outside each room, and a swing outside (we saw many deer sitting out there in the evening!) I would recommend the Hilltop Inn to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touringgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are so glad you stayed with us and that your dog is doing okay. Information about hiking or camping in the area or about Glacier National Park comes from our very own - Tom. His achievements and accolades concerning the outdoors in Montana are quite amazing. He's very informative and more then willing to keep folks up-to-date about the high alpine and back country. He's also a big advocate of Bear Spray concerning this geographic area. Yearly, many of our guest want to speak with him, while reserving, to find out hiking conditions in areas like the Jewel Basin, Glacier National Park and even floating the Flathead River. They have come to know him as an active outdoorsman and to be accurate with conditions in these areas. Thanks so much for such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Decent spot for a night. Rooms are renovated and provide all the basics that you need. Unfortunately our bed was like a rock and not comfy, but besides that it was clean.
Most people just stay for one night and it was quiet with mostly older couples visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Really? :-O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Hilltop Inn is very friendly, clean and accomidating. They remember you from previous stays and are motorcycle friendly! Their prices are reasonable in a town that isn't. I will always go to the Hilltop first!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontesanoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Yes, we are motorcycle friendly; thanks for acknowledging that about us. We are pleased to see guests return and do our best to remember. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemphill, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Like many of you, my wife and I prefer to give our business to local mom and pop-type businesses rather than large chains, but doing so, can be hit and miss. Thank goodness for Trip Advisor. If we had depended upon our first impression of the Hilltop Inn and not first read the Trip Advisor reviews, it is unlikely that we would have stayed here. That is not to say that there is anything at all wrong or even unattractive about the exterior of the Hilltop Inn. Basically, our first impression was that it looked fairly old, unpretentious, and with few frills. But it is also brightly lit, very open, and has the wonderful advantage of parking directly in front and within just a few steps from your room. The Hilltop Inn is something of a throw-back to earlier times with a Route 66 feel to it.
Based upon the great things other reviewers said about Denise, we made it a point to meet her, and what a delight she is. Friendly, bubbly, conscientious, and hard working. She and her husband Tom, manage the Hilltop Inn and appear determined to make stays by their guests pleasant, relaxing, and memorable. All the rave reviews given by others regarding the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms was exactly what we found. Our room was really more like a small apartment than a typical motel room. The kitchen was well equipped and spotless. We only stayed for two nights, but once we were settled in we started to wish we had booked for a longer time. We couldn't have been more pleased.
I hope folks keep doing reviews of small, local motels like the Hilltop Inn, because we plan to continue staying at them when possible. They tend to be fun stays and a pleasant change from the consistent but often boring major chains. So keep the reviews coming. Folks like Denise and Tom who are doing their best as small business men and women need and deserve our support.
-- Glen and Dee Provost, east Texas

Room Tip: Ask for one of the kitchenette suites. There is only a few of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toledoglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
An internet wiring upgrade has delayed our response but we are excited to have this upgrade completed for our guests. Thanks for your support of the small business it is much appreciated in a field of big corporations. We are so glad you stayed with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are looking for super cleanliness, great value, maximum comfort on the couch and with new queen sized beds, wonderfully decorated, safe and with great owners and staff, then this is the motel for you! We were not sure what to expect when we pulled up to this older, little motel in Kalispell but we were met with a very clean property, friendly staff and an owner more than happy to show us into a room that SHE was cleaning, that says something right there! The room was fresh, super clean and beautifully decorated! The entire room screamed new and inviting! For those on motorcycle, we were in our car this time, you can park your motorcycle right outside your large window so it never leaves your sight. After spending the night we loved it even more and have decided that this will be the ONLY place we will stay on our monthly visits to Kalispell, as it is now our home away from home. Gregory & Melitta Ball of Cranbrook BC Canada

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melitta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our management and staff are pretty hands-on when it comes to quality and clean. It's so exciting to have earned your trust to this level and we are honored to be your 'home away from home.' Our delay is from a internet wiring upgrade but it is worth it for our guests. See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#7 of 20 in Kalispell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kalispell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalispell Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalispell Hilltop Inn

Property: Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Address: 801 E Idaho St, Kalispell, MT 59901-3204
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalispell Hilltop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Northwest Montana, close to beautiful Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and National Forests. Our facility is ground floor with door-step parking and non-smoking rooms. Free wireless internet, guest laundry room, ice machine with both non-pet and pet friendly rooms available. Known as Flathead Valley's choice Budget Inn the KHI is conveniently close to area shopping and dining from our geographic location in Kalispell, Montana. Picnic tables and a gas BBQ are available for your enjoyment. Our policy is to let you see and inspect our rooms first so that your individual quality standards are satisfied and to preview our shabby/chic interior design. Welcome! to the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kalispell Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing