We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home to us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalispell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels like home to us!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you are looking for super cleanliness, great value, maximum comfort on the couch and with new queen sized beds, wonderfully decorated, safe and with great owners and staff, then this is the motel for you! We were not sure what to expect when we pulled up to this older, little motel in Kalispell but we were met with a very clean property, friendly staff and an owner more than happy to show us into a room that SHE was cleaning, that says something right there! The room was fresh, super clean and beautifully decorated! The entire room screamed new and inviting! For those on motorcycle, we were in our car this time, you can park your motorcycle right outside your large window so it never leaves your sight. After spending the night we loved it even more and have decided that this will be the ONLY place we will stay on our monthly visits to Kalispell, as it is now our home away from home. Gregory & Melitta Ball of Cranbrook BC Canada

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melitta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our management and staff are pretty hands-on when it comes to quality and clean. It's so exciting to have earned your trust to this level and we are honored to be your 'home away from home.' Our delay is from a internet wiring upgrade but it is worth it for our guests. See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
82
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Awesome place to stay very clean,very friendly managers they went way out of there way to make our stay pleasant and like home would definately go back, a big thank you to them for making our vacation in Montana all the more better ,would highly recomend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerBob2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
You are quite welcome and we are so glad to be part of your Montana experience. Although our response is delayed due to an internet wiring upgrade we are thankful for you taking time to review our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I searched all over for a place to stay when we were unable to book a room anywhere the night before arriving in Kalispell. We figured that before going home we would search out some of the smaller hotels and came across this hotel, the service from Denise at the front office was amazing. She came with us to show us the room and check for cleanliness, which is was perfect. We had an amazing stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone asking for a place to stay while in Kalispell. Thanks again for the wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: Don't judge a book by its cover, this is an older hotel but very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
There is wisdom in your room tip :) you let the secret out of the bag. Thanks for complimenting the clean aspect of this facility and even though we may be older our shabby/sheik design along with a great staff, who has an understanding about traveling, work hard to create this kind of positive experience. It's not all about bling - but it is about detail cleaning. Our response is delayed due to an internet wiring upgrade and we thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I were on a 16-day driving vacation, and spent one night there. We were VERY impressed with everything about this Inn. When we called to make the reservation we told Denise we might be late getting in, and she said that she would prepare an envelope for us, with our key and instructions in it. She faithfully did that, with even a helpful map of the Inn, showing us exactly where our room was located. The room was very nicely furnished, and ours was actually divided up into four small rooms - kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath. It felt like a tiny but comfortable home! We wished we could stay another day and just chill out there, but we had to move on due to our travel plans.

It was very clean and fresh smelling, which we highly value. The rate was very good also.

There is a great Smith's grocery store just three blocks west of them, and an excellent full service car wash right across from Smith's.

We can't say enogh good about it, and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had room 122, and I think it may be their top room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eet2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for your review and descriptions - It's very appreciated and most important to a small business. Our internet wiring upgrade delayed our response. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

During a recent motorcycle trip I spent a night at the Hilltop Inn in Kalispell Montana. The location made it easy to find. The check–in process was quick and efficient. it ws my first visit to the motel and I was greeted like an old friend come back to visit. I was offered a key and allowed to check out the room before signing anything. As it was an older place I really wasn’t expecting the level of accommodation that was provided. I was expecting dark and dusty and found the room to be clean, spacious, well lit and the couch comfy. I was assigned a kitchenette and although I didn’t cook, it was nice to have the extra space to spread out the gear. With a lot of the older style motels the bathroom & shower can be small and the shower head hit you somewhere mid-chest. To my surprise the bathroom was well lit, renovated and the shower high enough to work with my 260lb 6 ft frame. I’ve since recommended the Hilltop Inn to several friends that are touring that part of Montana and I look forward to returning next year. The sign by the door stated that people arrive as guest but leave as friends. It works for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write a detailed review of the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. We are honored to see your experience and to share this with others. Travel safe and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on a Motorcycle trip. Very clean and comfy, yes it's not new, but everything worked, free Wifi, within walking distance of a few places to eat, lots of places to hang our wet gear to dry out :). great value. We'll stop there again the next time we pass through Kalispell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved staying here in July 2012 for 3 nights while visiting Glacier National Park. It's close to Glacier - about 1/2 hour on good, scenic roads. We traveled with our dog and she was very welcome at the motel - they didn't even charge us extra for her. We ate our dinners outside at one of the picnic tables provided. We read our books by the evening light in comfortable lounge chairs provided. There are birds and flowers and trees and beautiful grass. The room was so clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room was equipped with frig, microwave, and coffee maker. The motel is close to a grocery store (2 blocks away). We have very fond memories of the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. Owners are friendly and helpful and welcoming. Thanks for making our vacation one of the best ever! Only one suggestion - a reading lamp in the room would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and pointing out we are pet friendly. Like the reading lamp suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#7 of 20 in Kalispell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kalispell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalispell Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalispell Hilltop Inn

Property: Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Address: 801 E Idaho St, Kalispell, MT 59901-3204
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalispell Hilltop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Northwest Montana, close to beautiful Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and National Forests. Our facility is ground floor with door-step parking and non-smoking rooms. Free wireless internet, guest laundry room, ice machine with both non-pet and pet friendly rooms available. Known as Flathead Valley's choice Budget Inn the KHI is conveniently close to area shopping and dining from our geographic location in Kalispell, Montana. Picnic tables and a gas BBQ are available for your enjoyment. Our policy is to let you see and inspect our rooms first so that your individual quality standards are satisfied and to preview our shabby/chic interior design. Welcome! to the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kalispell Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing