We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalispell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We always stayed at a hotel chain when in Kalispell, but we stumbled on this quaint motel on the top off the hill, and decided to stay. The motel is not new - but acceptionally clean and updated. The staff is the best I have ever dealt with, freindly and extremely helpfull, they will try their best to make your stay as good as it could be. The nice yard and lawn alows the guests to sit outside and relax. a big area for your pets - away from the people area. Since our first stay a couple of years ago - this is our home away from home. No other place will do...Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

We are glad you found us and excited to read your review about our facility. Thanks for sharing the the description of our yard and pet walk area. This helps to describe the grounds of our facility and the experience of being pet friendly. We are honored to be your home away from home.

Tom & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Kalispell Hilltop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 182 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

Cheap and Cheerful fits the bill for this place. We would definitely recommend this Inn for those looking for a quiet, clean room.

Our recent stay at the Hilltop was made extra special by our gracious hosts Denise and Tom. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable for all the right reasons. We appreciated the on-site management experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Platinumist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thanks for such kind words in your review.

Tom & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Though this motel is a bit dated, it is super clean, the beds are comfy, and the owners/operators are top notch human beings! Laundry on site. Bring a hair dryer. No built in ones like you may have become accustom to. If you forget, Denise has one you can borrow. 2 touring bikes to borrow if you want to peddle around the city. Kalispell is a great area. Stay here if you go.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kneesee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thanks so much for your review and including our laundry facility. My husband Tom may know the outdoors here in Montana and fishing but the hair dryer is about us girls. You can borrow it anytime. Hope to see you soon.

Denise
Co-Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Don't go here looking for fancy here, but if you want a sweet and personal experience at a retro motor lodge - don't miss it. It was a step back in time, with internet, super clean and incredibly affordable. Don't think about "activities" here - spend your time in the phenomenal outdoors. Lots of places to eat nearby, and not far from Glacier and Flatlake. You may go to bed with an empty parking lot, and wake up to no vacancy signs. No one is there during the day (guest wise) - it is just a place to rest your head, feel welcome, and not worry about safety or cleanliness. It is really terrific for what it is. The only issue I had was the motorcycle parked right outside of my window, next to the bed, revving up at 6 am to start their day. I wish the bikes had a seperate parking area!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fitzgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

I like the perspective of your review and the description of your experience.

Reviews like this truly help to describe our Budget Inn and marketplace in Northwest Montana. On behalf of management and staff I would like to say thanks for your review and kind words.

We hope to see you again when visiting the area.

Travel safe,

Tom Lewis
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Kalispell Hilltop Inn for 4 nights and were absolutely delighted with our stay. This is an older motel built back in the day, however it's been tastefully remodeled and updated, and doesn't have that "old building" smell. The grounds are immaculate as was the room we stayed in, which had a small living room and a kitchen as well as a bedroom and bath. All were spotless. Denise was terrific in booking the room and she and her husband are friendly and helpful about local attractions. You can tell they take pride in the Inn by the way the rooms and grounds are taken care of. Housekeeping staff were also friendly and accomodating. Their prices are great too. What a gem!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for such a nice review. We enjoyed you as well and hope to see you soon.

Tom & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a very clean motel! It is close to everything. The managers are the best!!! The cleaning staff are great!!! It is reasonably priced. Would stay here again and tell everyone about it!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pozz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thanks for the review and kind words.

We enjoyed the conversations and laughs about your adventures in our geographic area..

Tom & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I found the staff very friendly and very accommodating in finding the rooms and spaces to fit all in our party. It took a few phone calls back and forth, but they did a get job of getting us situated. One of the rooms we ended up with had a kitchenette (sink, cupboards, table and chairs) but no stove or hotplate which we assumed it would have. They were wonderful about providing an acceptable appliance that fit our needs perfectly. The refrigerator was not full sized, but neither was it a dinky little one, it was large enough for everything we had. The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable, but the futon needs a new cover. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speters_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thanks for staying with us and giving us a review. We enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope to see you again.

Tom & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#9 of 20 in Kalispell
626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Kalispell
Econo Lodge Kalispell
#11 of 20 in Kalispell
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalispell Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalispell Hilltop Inn

Address: 801 E Idaho St, Kalispell, MT 59901-3204
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalispell
Price Range: $66 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalispell Hilltop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Northwest Montana, close to beautiful Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and National Forests. Our facility is ground floor with door-step parking and non-smoking rooms. Free wireless internet, guest laundry room, ice machine with both non-pet and pet friendly rooms available. Known as Flathead Valley's choice Budget Inn the KHI is conveniently close to area shopping and dining from our geographic location in Kalispell, Montana. Picnic tables and a gas BBQ are available for your enjoyment. Our policy is to let you see and inspect our rooms first so that your individual quality standards are satisfied and to preview our shabby/chic interior design. Welcome! to the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kalispell Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing