We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ole' BBQ”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #8 of 170 Restaurants in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Ole' BBQ”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Well you aren't going to go hungry at this restaurant. I had a starter ceasar salad which was average. I tried the combo meal with the BBQ chicken and brisket. The BBQ chicken was great! Tender and moist. The brisket was OK, I'd never had it before so I don't have any comparison. You did get a choice of 5 BBQ sauces to smother on your meat choice. The spicy ones were my favorite. The garlic mashed were good, I would pass on the jalapeno mac n cheese. The corn bread muffin was delicious, I would eat one right now if I could. I got to see the famous Dave's pig, and you could get your picture with him. I did feel guilty eating BBQ food with a pig walking around. Overall, I would eat here again, it was pretty tasty and the service was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldD_TRaveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    165
    59
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, MT
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Suprisingly Yummy and Fun Chain”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Okay, so its Famous Daves. Yet, I will have to say that this is the best Famous Daves location I have ever been too. First the decor is right on for Montana. The food is good but not great. Service is pretty good too. The bar section has an amazing number of beers on draft and a good place for a drink or too. There is also an outside patio for enjoying the warmth in the summer.

I have a bunch of kids, and they love this place. You get your standard crayons and coloring sheets after being seated. If your lucky, the pig character will be there greeting patrons and such.

Overall, this is no word class BBQ joint. But if your looking for a family friendly environment with good food and service, you wont be disappointed here. Just be sure to bring an empty stomach!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTriGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummie”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent restaraunt, great atmosphere, lots of local memorabilia on the log walls. Great food, and the best ribs in the world.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank whatever0987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chain restaurant puts 'em to shame!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place is a chain restaurant , so we had no great expectations going in, but were we ever surprised!! The decor was very cottage-chic,and the staff welcomed and immediately seated us, The menu was quite extensive,and they had those seasonal mini-menu's that highlight the various specials of the time. After ordering some suds from their good-sized draft selection (which included some local faves),we decided upon the full rack of ribs, and the Texas beef brisket, the kiddies both had ' Daves burgers' (jack cheese n' bacon), Everything arrived promptly , and was it ever good! We opted for the 'Wilbur beans' (smoked pork and peppers),and potato salad on the side and they didn't disappoint. The ribs were enormous and utterly amazing,with a definite hickory smoked flavor, and the brisket was one of the most memorable,smoky,seasoned cuts of beef I have ever consumed, The 'Wilbur beans' were a stand out dish which were a big hit with everyone. The salad was spiced perfectly!! Oh ,and the selection on the table of the 6 or so sauces was greatly appreciated! That 'mustard' sauce was incredible! The kids both gobbled up their dish's so they must have been good. Yes we would definitely recommend this place to any food lover, it was a supper we all won't soon forget!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benny-boy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service, nice atmosphere, good food!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We've been wanting to try Famous Dave's for a while. Our server had a big smile on her face the whole time she served us, she seemed to actually enjoy serving customers. The decor was suited a Montana experience. Very rustic. We had the nachos ( must try, full of flavor, full of toppings like beans and sausage, not your typical nachos, so much better). I had the Cajun chicken burger and Mac and cheese and my husband had the Texas manhandler. We enjoyed our burgers, they were huge and rich (translation - not for someone watching their diet). They were tasty. The Mac and cheese we didn't like. It had corn in it, which some people might like, but we didn't. I would return and try more items on their extensive menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maybellelovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing