We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,121)
Filter reviews
2,121 results
Traveler rating
2,013
74
24
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,013
74
24
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno shoesjapanese restaurantoverwater barvilla suiteour honeymoonsea restaurantfishsix sensesman fridaymarine biologistsun deckwine cellarrobinson crusoemain restaurantchef johndolphin cruisethe resort manager
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 2,121 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2016

There is so much to say about Gili that it’s hard to know where to start!

Firstly, believe the reviews – this place is absolute heaven on earth. From the warm welcome on the jetty by the GM Steven, to the fantastic service by Shifzan, our Mr. Friday who felt like a friend by the end of our stay. The overwater villas are true luxury and every need or want is catered for, they manage to deliver this is a ‘rustic’ manner which makes your Maldives experience all the more real. The surroundings are breathtaking; we snorkeled with rays, turtles, reef sharks and many more just off our own terrace, incredible!

The food alone makes Gili worth the visit, Chef John does a fantastic job and we can’t recommend the Teppanyaki experience with Chef Michael enough. A must do for all guests is the Meera Spa…total bliss, I’m not sure I’ll ever see a Spa menu quite like it – I just wish I had longer on the island to try more!

In short, it’s easy to see why Gili was voted the No.1 hotel in the world - the staff, the service, the surroundings…all unparalleled!

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Dear NicolaF

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Gili Lankanfushi experience with the Trip Advisor community.

It’s great to read that you enjoyed our brand of rustic luxury and amazing sense of space from our large villas to our spacious island and open lagoon.

Thank you for also appreciating all the hard work by your Mr Friday and our culinary and Meera Spa teams.

We all look forward to welcoming you to our “heaven on earth” sometime soon.

Warm Regards
Brad Calder
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Our weekend stay at Gili Lankanfushi left us completely relaxed and unprepared to return to reality. Our "Mr. Friday", Gasim, as well as the rest of the staff,made sure that every tiny need and want were met. The island is quiet and calming, the grounds are stunning and the water is to die for. Chef John has created the French Laundry of the Maldives. I have many food allergies and have not been able to eat freely feeling safe to do so in a very long time. Chef John made that happen, a highlight of my stay. Cannot recommend Gili enough! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Missy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Dear MissyE

Thank you for your very complimentary Trip Advisor review.

It’s very satisfying to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Gili Lankanfushi. Thank you also for recognising the attentive service provided by our resort hosts and your Mr Friday who we like to think begins your holiday as your butler and leaves as your friend.

At Gili Lankanfushi we are passionate about food, from our local fisherman who delivers our daily catch prepared fresh to your table, to our organic garden growing an array of herbs, leaf and baby vegetables, to the extraordinary talent and diverse ethnicities of our culinary team all headed up by our Executive Chef John Bakker. It was great know you appreciated the behind the scenes tour to see how the master pieces arrive to the plate.

One of the hardest part of our job is saying goodbye to our guests but we do look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you once again to Gili Lankanfushi and I know Gasim has many more adventures to share with you.

Warm Regards
Brad Calder
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Dear Gili Lankanfushi staff and specially to Mr. Aboo, John and his team, Michael in the Teppanyaki...We do miss our stay. It was lovely letting the day pass with no pressure whatsoever. Loved the sea, your eco-friendly mentality, your food, the sand...absolutely nothing can be criticised. Thanks for your care and concern with our family. And hopefully see you in the near future!!!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pumbita25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Dear Pumbita25

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review from your recent family holiday.

It’s great to read that you appreciated our eco-friendly mentality as we are strong believers in sustainable luxury.

John, Aboo and Michael thank you for recognising their efforts to make your stay special and they both eagerly await the day when you will return to Gili Lankanfushi to visit them.

Warm Regards
Brad Calder
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

We had the opportunity to take part at an event organized by the Gili Lankanfushi a few weeks ago.
As invited chef for a special gastronomic evening in their restaurant, we had the pleasure to collaborate with a highly skilled team. We can only praise their professionalism, the mostly efficient organization and the excellent service to all guests.
When it comes to our stay and the location, we only stay speechless : the warm welcome, the astonishing landscape, the remarkable accommodation… Really everybody should be lucky enough to stay here one in his life !

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Laurence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Dear both
Many thanks indeed for your amazing Trip Advisor review and the whole team here will be delighted to read your comments.
It was as much our privilege for us to have you both with us and I know the Culinary team thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The Michelin style dinner was warmly applauded by those guests attending and we all hope that we can do this again.
With the very best of regards
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016

We were welcomed as part of their family. Everyone in the island was so friendly especially our Miss Friday Nicky.
Stayed over in Crusoe residence and it was a mind blowing stay. Overall our stay was so serene. The staffs are over friendly. It must be either in your bucket list or 1000 place to visit before you die.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank navaneep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Good evening from all of us at Gili Lankanfushi and thank so much for your great review.
We are all delighted at how much you enjoyed your stay and Nikki has asked me to pass on her thanks for mentioning her.

Our Crusoe Residences are certainly unique and it was lovely to see that you enjoyed the experience there.

We all hope to see you again at Gili Lankanfushi and many thanks once again for your very kind comments.

Cheers

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews