We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Life. Live it Well.”
Review of Gili Lankanfushi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gili Lankanfushi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfushi
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Think endless vast ocean, myriads of blues, white soft sandy beach, beautiful water villas perched at sea, and abundance marine life at your doorstep. Our anniversary getaway at Gili Lankanfushi was a little piece of Heaven on Earth. Every intrinsic detail was observed in making a guest feel totally, fully taken care of. From the beautifully designed villa to the enjoyment of the facilities, at every turn of your head, the view was amazing.

Thank you such a memorable time at Gili Lankanfushi.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Teri

Thanks so much for your TA Review subsequent to your recent stay with us.

It was fantastic to read that you had a great time and we very much hope that we will see you again @Gili Lankanfushi. In the meantime if we can be of any help at all, please feel free to contact us.

With the best of regards

Steven and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We just return from Maldives 2 weeks ago. Our initial plan was to stay for only 4 nights, but ended up staying another extra 2 nights! 4 nights at Villa in Jetty 1, another 2 nights at Crusoe Residence.
From the moment we arrived at the airport till the day we depart, Gili has done well with their hospitality. only a few minor glitches but perhaps management can look into it to improve their service better.

Our Mr. Friday, Mustho has been excellent during out weeklong stay. Mustho speaks Japanese and has been extremely entertaining and helpful with our 2 year old son. Anything that we required during our stay in Gili has been well managed by Mustho, including the extension of our stay at the last minute. ( gili was fully occupied during our stay). We went for the dolphin excursion in the evening, and my son joined one of the kid's pizza cooking class.

Throughout our stay in gili, we went to the spa everyday. I would highly recommend Anne, for those of you whom like strong massage. This is where Gili failed, in my eyes. When we booked the stay, there was a complimentary 20 mins massage for each one of us which we forgot about, until the 4th night when we decided to extend, then I noticed there was the complimentary massages. We went to the spa everyday, and no one bother to tell us this, and only on the 4th night I noticed and mention to them ,and they said they will include in my next treatments.

Secondly, it also happen to be on the 5th day, we decided to check out the fitness centre, and again there was a promotion in there relating to the spa, which was not to be found at the spa or in the villa. And we have been going to the spa daily, both my husband and I, no one mention about the promotion that we are entitled to, since we always go for 90-120 mins massages. My last massage I just casually said to Anne( which have became our regular masseuse by then), and she added the extra time. For me, it's either you have the promo standardized everywhere ( in villa and at the spa counter), or not put any at all.
That was my disappointment of extra pampering session lost because of the mishandling of information relating to the spa promotions.

But I love meetha spa and their treatments available. Try the Ayurvedic massage by the Ayurvedic champa, they are excellent. It's done outdoor by the beach. We also did the jet lag package, which was refreshing, using the hot stone. my husband love the royal Thai massage treatments too. And if you don't feel like going to the spa, they can do in villa treatment( which we did took twice).
I definitely feel relaxed and rejuvenated after every treatment. Anne has also been very helpful with my sudden sunburn, and apply some cream from their product at the spa. I ended buying the seaweed cream as it does help. Anne also does yoga daily in the morning, which I did participate twice.

Prior to coming here, my friend has told me that the food is great as the executive chef, Mr. John Bakker was her instructor at Le Cordon Bleu. We did like the food at asian street market buffet, lots of choice and delicious desserts. breakfast buffet was extensive and we also get to taste delicious chocolate from the wine cellar. We also tried the health tonic that is available daily. Unfortunately, the in room dining was a hit and miss. As we stayed one week, we have fully utilized the in dining menu choice available to us- having a toddler didn't give us the luxury of dining out much. The last lunch that we had was a total disappointment, which I have already written in to management of gili regarding it.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, and simply breathtaking views. We wished we could stay longer.
I would also like to thank the inhouse doctor, mr Mustho and gili team for taking good care of my husband when he did fall sick on the second last day. The complementary get well soon tray helps too!


We highly recommend jetty 1 villas as the ocean was shallow and there are more corals with fishes, manta ray, reef sharks. And we can go swimming anytime of the day, with the toddler. Crusoe residence, is at the open sea, high waves, difficult to swim, infact we didn't swim much when we moved to Crusoe. My son was afraid of the waves.

Moving about was harder on Crusoe as you always have to rely on the boat to come to pick you up and send you back. If you stayed in the villa, you can easily move about with the bicycle. We were given a tricycle so that our 2 year old son can sit in it.

We will definitely visit Gili again, hoping that mr Mustho and our favourite Villa at jetty 1 will be there for us when we return.

Room Tip: jetty 1 has shallow ocean and good for snorkeling. Ideal for those traveling with kids. If you dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Good afternoon from yet another sunning day at Gili Lankanfushi.

It was great to read that you and the family thoroughly enjoyed your extended stay with us and Anne has asked me to pass on her thanks for mentioning her as part of your Meera Spa experience. John, our Executive Chef has also passed on his very best regards.

Please accept my apologies for the issue with our miscommunication on Spa promotions. We have already discussed this and have ensured there will be no repetition of this challenge.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Gili and in the meantime assure you of our very best of intentions at all times.

With the most sincere of regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have been chatting to my family since we returned from Gili yesterday afternoon, and the biggest problem is that there were too many amazing experiences for us to mention about our stay! My review would be 6pages long!

We travelled to gili with our group of eight (5 family members and partners) and from the minute we got on the transfer boart, we knew the experience was going to be magical! We were given our "no news no shoes" bags to put our shoes in, and from then on we didn't put shoes back on the entire trip!

The villa and island decor was absolutely stunning, making us feel as though we were living in a real-life Robinson Crusoe story. Beautiful timber everywhere and perfect attention to detail.

Crystal clear water, amazing white sand and the best snorkelling I have ever experienced. Even just swimming off the front of our villas we saw sharkes and giant rays!

The food and drinks were faultless. We loved the food from the overwater bar and main restaurant, but the icing on the cake was the special meals we spent at the Japanese restaurant, the degustation in the wine and cheese cellar, and a exclusive destination meal set up for us on the beach!

But the one thing we all agreed was the best aspect of our trip, was the service. Our two Mr Fridays (Fiyaz and Aboo) we're fantastic, always happy to help out with anything we needed! We formed great bonds with many of the staff, especially Shofov (?spelling) Shann and Alif. They would often have our coffees and drink orders waiting for us before when we arrived at breakfast. Something small but a lovely touch :)
It was also great to meet and get to know the senior staff members Brad, Craig and John. They were always happy to chat and suggest an activity that we hadn't thought of! We were even lucky enough to spend a few hours touring the Private reserve (heaven on earth!!) on Craig's suggestion.

The most amazing 8days we have ever experienced, and a great way for us to all bond in a rare full-family holiday. Thankyou for everything, we will be back sometime in the future I am sure!

Alisha and the Millers xx

Room Tip: Jetty one was out of the wind that sometimes kicked up on the other side of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Alisha and family

It was lovely having you and the family over at Gili Lankanfushi a short while back and it was wonderful to read on your TA Review that you all had an amazing time. it was our pleasure to look after you all, and the guys that you specifically mentioned were very pleased to read your comments. (Next time you should book the Private Reserve and you acn enjoy the experience for longer than just a couple of hours :)

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all a fantastic second half of the year!

Cheers

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was so unique - so well worth the time of sharing our experience below.
Pros:
- Small hotel – there are ca. 45 villas only, all in the water. That frees-up the island, and although small, you can enjoy a large unattended beach and deserted trails. Outcome: you can hardly see or meet any people apart from the time of breakfast or dinner;
- The hotel is very close to Male – only ca. 30 min by speedboat from the airport. This saves the inconvenience and cost (and fear) of internal Male flight (especially after you have spent 10+ hours flying to the Maldives);
- The hotel is all natural – this was amazingly the main advantage. You can hardly find anything plastic in the hotel – all is wood, glass and natural ingredients. Villas are rustic, still luxury and convenient.
- Food is delicious – all fresh and high-quality ingredients. There are only 2 restaurants on the island, but the choice of food is amazing – we could hardly taste half of the variety during our 8-day stay. They make thematic evenings – Mediterranean, Indian, Thai, Asian etc. and all those are super tasty and with plenty of choice– it was impossible to try all. The secret was simple – they have imported the proper chef! They had Indians for the Indian food, Thai for the Thai food, a German, Italian, Canadian Chef, etc.
- You are supposed to walk bear-foot (this is the concept: ‘No news, no shoes’) and it actually works! We did not put anything on our feet for 8 days and we did not regret it for a moment!
- Great marine life around the hotel – both for snorkeling and diving. My son had great time snorkeling and enjoyed a lot of corals and fishes.
- The Marine biologists Vaidas at the diving centre was amazing – a young guy, very passionate about environment, corals and fish. We learned a lot about the marine life and corals, and he was a great company to our son (he joined us for a private diving at a distant reef). We participated in a ‘coral line’ project – where we planted a few lines of corals in the ocean (in some kind of nursery) – so next year when we come, we are eager to see the progress of our corals!
- The hotel SPA is super with an amazing ‘master in residence’ who made massages out of another planet! They also have a top-notch fitness centre.
- Hotel service was absolutely amazing – they try to anticipate your needs, are careful and in the same time not intrusive to your privacy if this is what you want.

Cons:
- Nothing really – my wife was initially worried that such a natural place will be inconvenient (e.g. wooden chairs would not be comfortable, it will all be basic and rustic etc.), but found out exactly the opposite. It is all really well built and super comfy.
- The hotel is close to some obviously good diving reefs, and therefore in 500 m proximity there were constantly several big diving boats. You can hear at night the diving boats and their air compressors working (or maybe it was just me who is very sensitive to noises at night).
- At daytime, from time to time you hear airplanes taking-off or landing, but that was OK – hotel is enough away from the airport – it was more that this distant sound reminds you about the civilization.

Room Tip: We stayed at a ‘Crusoe residence’ – very big and all in the water – there is no connection to the is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nikolay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Nikolay and family

Many thanks for the amazing TA review subsequent to you recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read how much you had enjoyed your vacation.

It was also great to read that you enjoyed the cuisine that we have on offer and you will be pleased to read that we have recently taken on a Vietnamese Commis chef in order to ensure even greater authenticity. Further to that a great French guy will also be shortly joining the Culinary team.

Vaidas was very happy to read that in particular, your son had a great time snorkelling. Since your visit we have added a second Marine Biologist, Debs, and she has already settled in with great guest feedback.

We look forward to seeing you all again on our very special Island and in the meantime assure you of the best intentions at all time.

Warmest regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here in early July and the occupancy was quite high, but we felt like we were the only people on the island, such is the privacy you can enjoy. We had a private speedboat transfer from our previous resort which was very comfortable. At the jetty we were greeted by the Resort general Manager and our Mr Friday, Rasheed who was extremely helpful and attentive through the stay. The two bedroom villa we stayed in was unimaginably large with every facility possible. The kids enjoyed the open view Jacuzzis, the enclosed "sea pool", the bathtub overlooking the sea, the lovely day bed on the top storey. The villa also had spacious living and dining areas as well as a breezy outdoor deck for sunbathing and nooks for lounging and reading. We did not want to leave the villa, so most of our meals comprised of in villa dining which we felt had good menu options to choose from. The resort is like a slice of paradise, with exceptionally clean water, fantastic food with a lot of herbs and greens locally grown, an amazing spa on the water where my husband and myself got a complimentary foot massage while our room was getting ready. On the last day of our trip we had to leave the villa and move in to a day hut until our late checkout at 10pm that night, the hotel gave the accommodation to us complimentary. While it was quite basic compared to the villa, we appreciated the gesture. We had bikes for each of us and really loved cycling around the resort to the poolside, library and restaurant. We did not really venture out too deep into the water to snorkel as we had done our bit in the previous resort we stayed in (angsana ihuru which has an amazing house reef) but we enjoyed the dips into the sea right from the villa. The resort is very eco-conscious and we appreciated observing that in our stay with no plastic, a waste to wealth program, an organic garden, untreated wood used for the villa furniture and construction,etc. The service was also exceptional, with a pre-stay questionnaire determining our choice of bedding, toiletries and also checking sizes to ensure right sized snorkels and flippers were in the room before we arrived. This stay has raised the bar very high for us! We will definitely make a trip back.

Room Tip: Go for villas on Jetty 3 if you want deeper waters and a windy breeze and an awesome sunset view. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aktitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon from Gili Lankanfushi!

Many thanks indeed for a fantastic review on TA subsequent to your visit to us. It was great to see that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our work on creating a sustainable and environmentally positive environment at Gili Lankanfushi and will be moving further forward in this direction shortly. The whole team buy into these initiatives and it is producing some very good results.

It will be great to see you again on your next visit and if myself or any member of my team can help you with this, please feel free to contact us.

With the very best of regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We are blown away by the philosophy believe the resort's sustainable efforts and also the concept behind Mr Firday. Service and location are simply beautiful. Well curated amenities and island activities for families and honey mooners.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Leon.

Thanks for much for your TA review subsequent to your stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time at Gili Lankanfushi and in particular your appreciation of our continuous efforts in the area of sustainability. This is something close to the hearts of the whole team and watch this space for some new initiatives that we are about to launch.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 5 glorious days last week. Simply put, it was the trip of a lifetime - the best beach holiday we have ever had. Maldives is already stunning in its natural beauty and any trip there, at any resort, would certainly be good. The clear water and coral reefs, the white powder-sand beaches, the wonderful sea breeze - all these earn Maldives a place on anyone's bucket list of places to visit in one's lifetime.

However, Gili Lankanfushi makes a memorable trip truly outstanding. Enough has been said on Trip Advisor about how great the villas are in their rustic luxury and I can't really add anything extra. These have to be lived in to be believed as they certainly are indeed, that good.

But what makes Gili Lankanfushi is its people and the impeccable service they provide. And it is very obvious that they do indeed enjoy being of service to her guests. This in itself makes each guest feel at ease and welcome. General manager Stephen obviously sets the tone with his breezy yet warm and welcoming demeanour. Our Ms Friday, Olga must be commended for her patience and kindness. The little things which she did to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, were big things for us and I'm sure for most guests. The restaurant staff who were amazingly in attendance throughout the day, from breakfast to dinner, and who knew us well from our second visit onwards, were fabulous. Of particular note were Bonde - who impressed us with his friendliness and obvious love for his job and meeting and interacting with his guests - and Rohan the sommelier, with his knowledge and ability to remember what I had drunk the previous night.. Deb, who gave up her day off just to come snorkelling with us and look after us on a memorable private snorkelling trip and Nape ( apologies if I've got the name and spelling wrong ) who was our snorkelling guide and who kindly took our camera and repeatedly dived down to ensure we got fantastic photographs of the reef, must also be thanked and mentioned. And lastly, a big shout-out to Shahid, our housekeeper, who did a great job looking after our 2 villas - not easy when considering the mess we would leave behind each day.

Mention must be made of the superlative food we enjoyed each day. At a single resort island, one certainly has to worry that if the food were not up to standard, the entire experience may be compromised, especially since there are no dining alternatives. I am glad to say that we were not disappointed. Each meal was thoroughly enjoyed. The wine cellar with its selection of cheeses, gourmet chocolates and cured meats to complement the already impressive breakfast array each day was exquisitely unique. Some of the chocolate flavours were out of this world. Dinners were impressive - whether these were buffets or set menus - each dish was painstakingly prepared. Presentation and layout for each buffet were excellent. The desserts were to-die-for.

Congratulations to Gili Lankanfushi - a terrific team has been assembled to make the experience wonderful for its guests. It's a stand-out resort in a breath-taking country with numerous other luxury resorts. Well-deserving of its rating on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: We stayed on Jetty 1 - shallow waters with coral and wonderful marine life to be seen - including sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven-Philips, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Peter
Thanks so much for the wonderful TA review completed after you and the families stay with us at Gili Lankanfushi. It was a pleasure to read and one that the team here had great pride to absorb.

Our team of hosts here really are the main reason for our success and although our facilities are superlative, they are most certainly enhanced by the fantastic attitude and skill levels of those who provide the personalised service.

Olga, Bonde, Rohan, Debs and Shahid were so pleased to see their names posted on our Host notice board along side your review and a personal thanks from me also.

The cuisine we offer here is of particular pride to us all and it was great to read that you enjoyed the Wine/Cheese and Chocolate Cellars. Many a few kgs/lbs has been put on here and I expect a few persons have had to work this off at the gym once they return home.

Peter, we very much hope that you and the family will come back to visit us again soon and in the meantime we assure you all of our very best of intentions at all times.

Best of regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfushi
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,862 reviews
22.6 mi away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
495 reviews
9 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,903 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,849 reviews
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Lankanfushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Lankanfushi

Address: 08290
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfushi
Price Range: $1,336 - $3,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gili Lankanfushi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives is a short 20 minute boat ride from Male, the capital of the Maldives. It is a tiny coral island in a sparkling lagoon, with jetties threading across the water out to spacious villas. The forty four stilted villas plus the vast Private Reserve are crafted in a traditional style from natural materials and offer rooftop and over-water sundecks, featuring open air bathrooms, sumptuous daybeds and a personal entertainment center. For ultimate privacy, we have seven Crusoe Residences that are only accessible by personal boat. Come ashore for some great dining and equally great wines or perhaps a romantic moonlit dinner delivered right to the villa. The possibilities are endless. The interior decoration has been devised to recreate a natural habitat, using sustainable woods, natural materials and traditional fabrics, whilst still offering all the modern day amenities and creature comforts of true luxury. At Gili Lankanfushi, Maldives we are very sensitive to the environment. The utmost care has been taken in developing the island with respect to its ecological balance. The Maldives is a paradise for snorkeling and diving and the resort has its own fully equipped PADI diving school plus a variety of water sports. This place tops the list of must-do destinations for those seeking the aquatic paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gili Lankanfushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing