We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best in the Maldives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfushi
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the Maldives”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in about 20 resorts whilst working in the Maldives and this for me was number one! We stayed for a weekend when it was Soneva Gili and were made welcome from the moment we arrived and took off our shoes to walk on the beautiful soft sand. We stayed in a Water Villa which you would not want to leave. Go thru the main door and down to the sunbeds at the water edge. Bedroom to the left, Hugh bathroom with a walkway to the shower area or down the stairs to a secluded bathing area in seawater or up to the roof for a day bed, Just wonderful. There are bicycles by the front door so you can cycle everywhere.
Chef cooked us a wonderful spanish dinner at our request which we ate under candelight on the beach. It just does not get better than this! Others have described it as Paradise. It is!

Room Tip: Go for a water villa and you will not want to leave it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear john m,

Thank you for posting such a nice review. To get a review saying one of the best in Maldives from the person who has experienced more than 20 resorts in Maldives is really great. I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that even though the resort name has changed, our service and concept still remains the same. Please feel free to contact me at iain.mccormack@gili-lankanfushi.com if I can ever be of any assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise soon.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    62
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
356
1,129
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Amazing location, rooms, service. The food is really really good but can be large portions at time so order accordingly. For complete privacy you should definetly stay in crusoe residences (prefer #2). On your to do list the spa should be a top priority as it is a very different experience compared to others spas. I love the fact that we get to see the underwater life rather than toes when having the treatment. Each member of the staff knew us by name and that added a personal touch. I would like to praise our Mr. Friday Shifaz and also Keser who served excellet exotic fresh fruits to us during our breakfast. Exceptional people.. Exceptional service and Exceptional experience all togeather.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigar Sagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Jigar Sagar,

Thank you for posting such an amazing review on Gili Lankanfushi. I am happy to read that you had an exceptional stay with us and you liked our villa, spa, location and overall service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of heaven soon.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Words cannot describe how wonderful this resort is, a true Paradise!! This was my second visit to Gili Lankanfushi and it was just as amazing as our first visit. Me and my wife had a wonderful Crusoe Villa which is in the middle of the ocean and had to go by Jet Ski to reach your villa, even the room service was delivered by small boats.

The experience was truly magnificent and a very enjoyable getaway from the city buzzes. The staff and service was excellent and everyone was very helpful! Would definitely recommend this resort and plan on going back the first chance we get!! Haroon Siddiqui

Room Tip: Crusoe Water Villa's are simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Haroon,

Thank you for posting wonderful review on Gili Lankanfushi from your recent visit. It was our pleasure to have you and your family back again to our little piece of paradise. I am sad that I was not on the island to personally welcome you but delighted to know that our team took good care of you and you had a wonderful time with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed staying in our stand alone Crusoe Villa. With our focus on environment and sustainability, we do not offer jet skis on the island and so I assume you were referring to pontoon to reach your Crusoe on your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon for the third time.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here (when it was Soneva Gili) for the last couple of nights of our Honeymoon as it was closer to the airport than our main resort and it was a perfect end to our holiday.

When we arrived, we were greeted at the end of the Jetty by a very pleasant member of staff that escorted us to check in, and then took us to our Water Villa. When we entered the villa there was a fruit basket and half bottle of Champagne which was a lovely touch.

The Water Villas were very spacious and luxurious. We loved the bathroom as it was enormous... with a small bridge over to the shower at the end of the villa, that stretched over a section of the lagoon that was walled off for privacy. Not only was there a sun deck to the rear of the villa that overlooked the lagoon, but there was another area on the top of the villa also. This was great and allowed for variation in view and privacy. The Lagoon itself seemed to stretch out for miles, and was gorgeous to swim around in.

We spent most of the time in the Villa as we were soaking up the last of our time in the sun, and enjoying our privacy before returning home for the post-wedding mayhem, however we did go to the bar over the water on our last night so that we could enjoy a cocktail whilst watching the sunset, which was absolutely stunning. Both the service and the food at Breakfast were excellent... with plenty of choice available.

Unfortunately we did not see as much of the resort as we may have liked, due to only staying for a couple of nights, however what we did experience was fabulous.. .and I would defintely recommend this resort to couples looking to enjoy a romantic getaway. It is definitely a resort for relaxing more than socialising, and I wouldn't think that it is an ideal resort for families, however I did see a couple of children whilst we were there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear RaeMcH,

Thank you for posting wonderful review on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you had a perfect holiday with us!
I want to take this opportunity to assure you that even though the name has changed since the time you stayed with us, service and facilities remain the same. Please feel free to contact me directly at iain.mccormack@gili-lankanfushi.com if you have any concerns. I look forward to welcoming you back to Gili Lankanfushi soon for much longer holiday than this time!.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I have been to four other Maldives resorts and the Gili L. is probably the best of all four; however, in fairness to Four Seasons Landaa Giravaaru it's a very tight call.

The staff are amazing. Everyone is very friendly and helpful but not intrusive, special mention for Duncan the sommelier who hosted a great wine-tasting dinner.

We stayed in one of the Cruiso villas which I can't recommend enough. The villas are enormous and could easily accommodate a young family. The wifi and iPod preloaded with 100s of movies were a nice touch with we got a lot of use out of.


The food at all outlets can't be faulted. The main restaurant changes their theme every night so never get bored. The Japanese fusion place although pricey is top notch!

The Spa is fantastic and rates as good as any massage I've had.

Room Tip: Very small point but the view from the deck of our villa Cruiso 4 had a busy island in the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear ParisSaint,

Thank you for posting a great review about Gili Lankanfushi. I am pleased to read that you found the experience with us as the best so far. I want to assure you that the service will always be like this and I look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise soon.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very nice place to relax. Good services and very delicious food at overwater bar. The villa was great and beautiful. The location is only 15 minutes from the airport that was great. Everythings were very good for us for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paholpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Paholpak,

Thank you for posting short but great review on Gili Lankanfushi. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our honeymoon at the Gili Lankanfushi was... even better than we expected. So what sets this apart from the luxury resorts everywhere in the Maldives? My wife called it understated luxury. They have truly surrounded you with every comfort, yet nothing is obtrusive or annoying. We like resorts that pay attention to environmentally friendly practices, and they have this in drones. Reusable dispensers for the toiletries, bags for taking home plastic waste, bikes to get around, sustainable building materials in the villas, and reusable bottles for water. There are only 30-something units for the property, so you feel like you have the place to yourself all the time. There's never a rush to the pool, we played tennis whenever we wanted, and the staff treats you as if you're the only one there. Our Mr. Friday (Fathuhy) was superb. Professional, attentive to details, and responsive. Few other things we especially loved- the 2nd floor of our villa suite which they set up as a bedroom to sleep under the stars, the constant parade of delectable delights at the pool (thanks Aunu), the palpable excitement of the staff to help and teach (thanks Nicholas), and our couples massage was easily the most impressive overall spa experience we've ever had. We also liked that Lankanfushi is only 15 minutes away from Male by boat. Some people want the seaplane experience, but coming from the US, another flight was just not what we wanted. And a note about the food- there are 3 separate restaurants, and the diversity of food was impressive. We are self-anointed foodies, and even the though the food is pricey, it's darn good. Honestly, there are a plethora of wonderful resorts in the Maldives, but this truly stands apart in environmentally sound practices, quiet understated luxury, and the nicest, happiest staff you could meet. Thanks for a perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 23, which we loved because our sun deck had sun all day long. If you'd like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emperor175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainMccormack, General Manager at Gili Lankanfushi Maldives, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Emperor175,

Thank you very much for this outstanding review. We always strive to exceed guests expectation and I am happy to read that we have been successful in doing so. I have shared your great review with all our hosts and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary (If not earlier!).

Kind regards, Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfushi
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,639 reviews
9.0 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,083 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,255 reviews
13.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,234 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Lankanfushi Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Lankanfushi Maldives

Property: Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Address: 08290
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gili Lankanfushi Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives is a short 20 minute boat ride from Male, the capital of the Maldives. It is a tiny coral island in a sparkling lagoon, with jetties threading across the water out to spacious villas. The forty four stilted villas plus the vast Private Reserve are crafted in a traditional style from natural materials and offer rooftop and over-water sundecks, featuring open air bathrooms, sumptuous daybeds and a personal entertainment center. For ultimate privacy, we have seven Crusoe Residences that are only accessible by personal boat. Come ashore for some great dining and equally great wines or perhaps a romantic moonlit dinner delivered right to the villa. The possibilities are endless. The interior decoration has been devised to recreate a natural habitat, using sustainable woods, natural materials and traditional fabrics, whilst still offering all the modern day amenities and creature comforts of true luxury. At Gili Lankanfushi, Maldives we are very sensitive to the environment. The utmost care has been taken in developing the island with respect to its ecological balance. The Maldives is a paradise for snorkeling and diving and the resort has its own fully equipped PADI diving school plus a variety of water sports. This place tops the list of must-do destinations for those seeking the aquatic paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gili Lankanfushi Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing