We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent place!”
Review of Timber Wolf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungry Horse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Wolf Resort
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really excellent place!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent two weeks using this as our base camp for an exploration of GNP. We stayed in one of the rustic cabins. The grounds were well-maintained, the owner and his family helpful, warm and inviting and the location perfect. I cannot think of one negative thing to say and we hope to return next year again staying at Timber Wolf.

I should add that we were there in June 2012 when the new owners had just taken over. I can imagine with experience under their belts, it's even better now!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS-F5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It has been a great two seasons for us at Timber Wolf Resort. We have enjoyed meeting so many wonderful people and being a small part of their memories of Glacier National Park. As many of you already know, this is how we ended up owning this little piece of beautiful Montana. I stayed at TWR 13 years ago and fell in love with the place. When we returned on vacation at the end of 2011 and found it for sale, it was obvious we were meant to be here. Timber Wolf is truly a magical place.

We are so happy it left such an impression on you too and we can’t wait for you to come back and see all of the projects we have completed to improve TWR. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at TWR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Glacier NP and want a more rustic outdoor experience. It's got a mix of RV spots, tent camping, basic & mountaineer cabins, and bed & breakfast rooms at reasonable prices. We were very happy with our basic cabin located at the very back of the property. It was equipped with 2 beds, a single & a double and 2 chairs. There was a fire pit and picnic table out front. We brought our own sheets, blankets, & pillows which was great because we knew they were clean and cozy. The mattress was surprisingly comfortable. No electricity so don't forget your flashlight if you choose this option. The restrooms were a short distance away and were quite busy in the morning. The owner was very welcoming and the muffin was a nice treat. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpaydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Timber Wolf Resort. We are happy that you had a nice vacation and that we could be part of your memories of Glacier National Park. We hope you return again soon. We do have other accommodations not as rustic as the pioneer cabins that do offer heat, electricity and cozy bed linens. We also have B&B (Bed & Breakfast) rooms in our beautiful lodge where those great homemade muffins are served every morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We highly recommend the Timber Wolf resort. We stayed 2 nights in the mountain cabin and were warm and comfortable. The owner went out of his way to accommodate our supplies and our schedule. We really appreciated the cleanliness of the whole area. Great place to stay while exploring Glacier.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Lisa, we are so pleased that you had a nice 2 day stay with us at Timber Wolf Resort. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, genuine customer service, and our ability to provide an authentic Montana experience for your visit to the Jewel of the Continent, Glacier National Park. We hope to see you again for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owner, Phil, was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained and we were pleasantly surprised by the attractive quilts on each bed of the clean, quaint Mountaineer cabin. We were excited to discover that the cabin had a small frig and fan to off set the warm temperatures during the day.
The bathroom and shower facilities were clean, though it was a good 50 yards from our cabin to those facilities.
We very much enjoyed sitting around the camp fire at night and looking at the amazing Montana sky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenniellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your stay at Timber Wolf Resort. We are happy you were pleased with your accommodations in the Mountaineer cabin. We work hard to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Please keep us in mind for your future visits to Glacier National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on holiday weekend. Cute cabins with double sized bunk beds and a single bed. Pillows, linens and comforter included and made it very homey. We were pleasantly surprised to find a small fridge and fan included. The campfire ring and small picnic table next to cabin were a great place to relax after a day in Glacier National Park. The hardworking owners do a fantastic job maintaining a clean, well run property. My only caution is there is no bathroom in the cabins and the hike to the bathroom is on a rather steep hill. A bit challenging if you have physical issues. BUT.. must say, the bathrooms are clean, and 50 cents for a GREAT HOT shower is well worth it. Reasonable rates and clean accommodations made this a delightful place to stay for our trip to Glacier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Julie, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Timber Wolf Resort. We just added the small fridge amenity in our cabins with electricity this year based on feedback from our customers. We are always happy to do what we can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We hope you will come back for another visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the cabin and it was overall very comfy. Our cabin had bunk beds and I gotta say the thought of someone falling off that top bunk and meeting face to face with the wooden shelf below is horrifying, as there is absolutely no rail. I feel this is a huge safety issue. I was scared to death to let my kids sleep up there! Even though we made it thru safely, I didn't sleep much due to worrying! Also,it would be really handy to have a small wall mounted mirror in the cabins as the bathrooms get so dang congested in the mornings you can't hardly use the mirrors!Also, it would be nice if the pathway to the bathroom was a little better lit. Tho there are solar lights, they just aren't quite enough to get you there comfortably without a flashlight in the complete darkness! All in all it was a nice stay and being able to use the gas grills and have a fire in the fire pits was a great added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymtcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and ideas for improving our cabins and grounds. We always appreciate hearing what we can do to make TWR even better for everyone. We are happy you and your family had a good stay with us and we hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

These new owners REALLY care about you being happy. They work year round to make sure the place operates smoothly and is clean and comfortable. Our family personally visited 7 RV campgrounds in the area and chose this one for it's cleanliness, campsite setting and warm/welcoming hosts, Phil and Christine Marshall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Hitchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We do work very hard to make sure every guest is happy. We want TWR to be a part of your fond memories of Glacier National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
8.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
318 reviews
8.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
0.5 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#1 of 4 in Hungry Horse
113 reviews
7.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Wolf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Wolf Resort

Property: Timber Wolf Resort
Address: 9105 Highway 2 East, P.O. Box 190250, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Location: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hungry Horse
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Wolf Resort is a family owned and operated authentic facility on 17.6 wooded acres just nine miles from the West entrance of North America’s crown jewel, Glacier National Park. Timber Wolf Resort proudly presents several year-round lodging and recreational options for visitors to the Flathead Valley and Glacier National Park. We have lodging for most every taste from Bed & Breakfast rooms with breakfast delivered to your room each morning to cabins and tent camping. We also have RV spaces with either full hookups or electric only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Wolf Hotel Hungry Horse
Timber Wolf Resort Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing