We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber Wolf Resort”
Review of Timber Wolf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungry Horse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Wolf Resort
Grand Prairie TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Timber Wolf Resort”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are three for three! Came here last spring, last fall and now this summer. When we are trying to escape Texas heat, we think "Montana". When we think "Montana" we automatically think Timber Wolf Resort in Hungry Horse! It's a beautiful B&B, along with cabins, and then our favorite - the rv park. Tall trees, cool shade, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Bill & Nevin, as always, it was a great pleasure having you stay with us again this summer. We loved learning about the history of the park and some of the fine people that helped make it the hikers paradise it is today. We hope you will make it back up our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My name is Kathy and I'm from Calgary. My bf and I looked at this whole area for reasonable priced lodging. Lots of places were over priced due to season. We found lots of old run down places Andover priced. We googled this place and thought it would be out of our budget but we were surprised.We stayed in the bed and breakfast. It was very clean and I don't have one complaint. Wireless was awesome.we even checked out one of the cabins and it was just as clean and beautiful as the bed and breakfast. Cabins are under a hundred dollars and were well worth it. They were clean and beautiful aswell. Staff were very friendly and hardworking. The location is great and I would come back forsure if I'm in this area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Kathy, we really enjoyed having you as our guests this summer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at TWR. We love being a positive part of your vacation memories, after all, that's how we ended up owning a resort in Montana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

So glad we found this place. We rented a cabin that included linens, pillows, blankets, small fridge and a small fan. The beds are not too hard and not too soft. Area was quaint and has a family friendly atmosphere. You just have to bring your own food and drinks. The cabin comes with a fire pit and a bench to eat on. Noticed that other reviews thought it was noisy - yes there is a train that passes and a highway near by but we found it quiet....besides after while you get used to the noises. This resort also offered B&B accommodations, RV and tent camping sites. The office has a small store inside and this is where you can check in and out. Noticed that if you have an RV, the sites were tight and would be challenging to drive in. Glad I don't have to but it seems other RV owners have no problem. Only suggestion would be a screen door would have come in really handy during a hot day. But we understand that they have started installing the doors and should be finished should we return again. Additional bear type garbage bin would be nice to have near the cabins besides the one near the office. Around the corner from this resort, you have access to a small grocery store, gas station and the Hungry Horse dam. You should check the dam when you have time. Based on our experience and ignoring the other reviews, we highly recommend this place for camping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marites8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Marites, Thank you for writing a review. We are happy that you found the accommodations to your liking. We understand that having only the one dumpster is not the most convenient but the dump truck will not go to the back of the property, and besides he is loud. We also have just the one to help us keep an eye on proper disposal of trash for the safety of our guests – bear country remember. As you said in your review, we have purchased screen doors for all of the cabins and are in the process of installing those to help make our guests stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's a pretty spot for sure but the hillside location along a highway makes it too noisy for my liking. This is NOT a place for a big rig, either! I barely got my 40ft 5w turned around at the top and then tip-toed back down into a very tight parking space.

This was one of the most expensive places we camped during 2+ wks in Oregon, WA and MT. $48/day for power only! This looked like it might be the last RV campground heading east from Kalispell and that's why we pulled in. Wrong. Turns out there were a few more just a short ways down the road. I agree that the owners were very nice but I would not stay here again.

ps: Watch out for a misleading sign indicating you should take the next right. The next right leads to Hungry Horse Dam. Thankfully, there's lots of room to turn around just across the dam. Yes, I saw the small letters saying "1/4 mi." under the arrow and beside someone else's name. I didn't think it belonged with the arrow indicating a right hand turn when I first saw it and I didn't think so when I went back to look at it. It's just one of those random highway signs that are written and placed by an idiot but keep an eye out for it if you're travelling east.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Rocky, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of our park. We pride ourselves on being a natural and wooded setting. But with shade comes trees that need to be taken into consideration when maneuvering RVs through our park. We have dozens of units every session, much larger than yours, that are able to manage the turns in our RV park without issue. As for the cost of the space, you had extra guests which increased your price from the 2013 base price of $35 for double occupancy. We do value your feedback and try to make improvements whenever possible for our guests. Every fall and spring we cut back trees and overgrowth and we will remove any trees that are becoming an obstacle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have found an eleventh hour spot here, after our reservations within Glacier National Park didn't work out. Thanks for finding a way to accommodate us! The RV sites are very neat and clean, with abundant shade. There is highway noise that can be heard, but there isn't another campground near Glacier that doesn't have this same issue due to the way roads are laid out in the area. The facilities are well maintained, bathrooms/showers clean and tidy, and the owners and staff are helpful. I'd give it 5 stars if they had laundry available! And regarding the camper who mentioned paying for showers - they are 50 cents for 10 minutes of hot water, and pay showers aren't uncommon in campgrounds. You can pay 4x more for cold showers in other locations!

Room Tip: Run your a/c or fans to provide white noise while you sleep if you are sensitive to road traffic. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiemae81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Maddie, Thank you for the review. We are happy we could provide lodging for you on short notice. I’m happy you found our RV sites well shaded and accommodating. We have kicked around adding a laundry facility but with facility just 1 mile down the road in Hungry Horse it is hard to justify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently came across this property while riding our motorbikes headed to Yellowstone Park. It was late and we rode in hoping that there was a chance for a vacancy. We lucked out that another guest had just cancelled, their loss our gain. We literally got the last bed in the B&B house. The rooms were super clean and laid out in a very cozy way. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. The showers you had to pay for at a rate of .50 cents and we could not believe how long of a hot, great pressure, super clean, shower you got for that .50 cents. Awesome!! I cannot believe people complain about having to pay for a shower? Are you kidding me - seriously?? The host brought hot coffee, juice, warm muffins and fruit right to your door in the morning. Perfect!. The only complaint we had was the mattress covers they have on the bed are the cheaper ones that make MAJOR plastic noises every time we tried to turn or move in the bed. Which made for a restless sleep. My husband and I kept waking each other up in the night. The bed was comfortable despite the plastic crunching noise. It was a great experience and would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Diane, Thank you for the review of your stay at TWR. We appreciate the feedback and I’m happy we were able to get you off the road that night. Based on your comments, we have upgraded the mattress covers in the lodge rooms. A quality night’s sleep for your guests is a very high priority and we want to do everything in our ability to make that possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of 4 adults pitched our tent here for 2 days. Due to some mobility issues I had asked to be close to the restrooms and they were just a short walk away. The tent sites are shady and although we met our neighbors at the restrooms we never felt too crowded. The ladies in the office were very friendly. Glacier National Park is only about 10 minutes away. We would like to come back and try one of the cabins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Shelley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at TWR. We are so pleased that you had a good stay and that you found the tent camping shady and close to the restrooms. We hope we added to your great Glacier vacation experience and memories of beautiful Montana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
8.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
8.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#1 of 4 in Hungry Horse
110 reviews
3.9 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Wolf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Wolf Resort

Property: Timber Wolf Resort
Address: 9105 Highway 2 East, P.O. Box 190250, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Location: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hungry Horse
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Wolf Resort is a family owned and operated authentic facility on 17.6 wooded acres just nine miles from the West entrance of North America’s crown jewel, Glacier National Park. Timber Wolf Resort proudly presents several year-round lodging and recreational options for visitors to the Flathead Valley and Glacier National Park. We have lodging for most every taste from Bed & Breakfast rooms with breakfast delivered to your room each morning to cabins and tent camping. We also have RV spaces with either full hookups or electric only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Wolf Hotel Hungry Horse
Timber Wolf Resort Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing