We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base camp”
Review of Timber Wolf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungry Horse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Wolf Resort
Jamestown, North Dakota, United States
1 review
“A perfect base camp”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at TWR for 16 nights at a tent site. We recommend TWR for a host of reasons. It's very economical. It's a short driving distance from Glacier National Park and only half a mile from the town of Hungry Horse where one can get groceries, eat at a restaurant, or do laundry. At TWR, there is a sitting area with a television, microwave, futon, tables, and a wood-burning stove where campers can eat, use the internet, have a warm cup of affordable coffee and a homemade muffin, or just hang out on a rainy day. There is also an opportunity to purchase snacks, cold drinks, camping utilities, and hiking supplies. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They made sure that our stay was pleasant and asked us daily if we needed anything. If you're a pet-lover, you may even get to meet Tigger and Smokey (the campground cats). The bathroom and shower facility was cleaned daily. The only improvement we would recommend would be to have each tent site marked with a clearly visible number. If you're looking for a very economical place to stay while visiting Glacier, TWR is the place to choose. To be sure, we will visit TWR again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hello our new friends from North Dakota. Thank you for the kind review. After a 16 day stay you started to feel like family. We missed your daily visit to the mercantile and Shiloh, Tigger and Smokey miss visiting you at your campsite every day. We are so happy you had a nice stay with us and hope to see you back again in the future. We will get those tent sites numbered now that things are slowing down for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
47
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just spent three days at timberwolf resort wasn't sure what to expect but was exactly as advertised rooms were very clean as well as the showers property was well maintained and location was great close to glacier as well as columbia falls if you need to grab supplies. Lots to do mins from resort. We were in cabin 4 which has a few others very close by but its nice to relax at the end of the day by the fire and chat with the neighbors. Nice place to veg out enjoy the park and unwind. Wifi doesn't work at the cabin we stayed at but even that was kinda nice ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaidensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Timber Wolf Resort. We are looking into expanding the Wifi to the entire resort. Currently the Wifi can be used at the mercantile, gazebo, the entire RV park and the cabins that are close to the lodge. We are pricing what are options are for coverage of the entire 18+ acres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place was recommended to us by a friend, and I'm really glad we decided on it. We needed an economical vacation, so we decided to stay in a Pioneer Cabin with no electricity for 3 nights (Sun-Tues). It was clean, well built, and had two double bunk beds, one twin bed, a shelf, coat hooks and a dustpan/broom in a well wooded, hilly area near the 'back woods' of the property, well away from Hwy.2. The Shower building was also clean and well kept.

The facility accommodates a wide variety of needs, such as an RV, Tenting, group cabin section, and more secluded cabins.

The new management seemed a little wary when we arrived, but they were plenty nice enough and very professional. I am guessing that they have had a bit of trouble with loud party customers. However, when we were there, it catered to families, and the odd single traveler. Their quiet time starts at 10pm.

I really recommend this location for families, or tenting couples looking for a quaint spot that is tucked in between the Glacier Park and a number of towns full of activities in the Flatlands area.

My only concern was the lack of a safety rail on the top bunk. We brought along an extra thin blanket to cover the thin plastic cover that protects the mattress.

On our way home, we all discussed the good time we had here in our basic accommodation, and started planning for our next trip.

Room Tip: In Spring/Fall, you may want to upgrade to a cabin with electricity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of Timber Wolf Resort. Everyone has been very helpful in giving suggestions on ways we can make Timber Wolf Resort even better. We have been taking all of those suggestions to heart because we want to continue to make this a place you and your family will come visit time and time again.
- We were asked us to upgrade the TVs in the B&B rooms, and we installed new flat screen TVs at the start of the 2012 season.
- Better mattresses were requested, so we are in the process of replacing all mattresses in the B&B rooms and cabins.
- Our guests asked for fans in the cabins, so we have put fans in each cabin.
- Screen doors on the cabins were recommended, so we are busy installing new screen doors on all of our cabins.
- Some folks suggested better lighting, so we are placing solar lights along some of the paths.
- Curtains were requested in the cabins, so we hung curtains in all of our cabins.
- Safety rails on all of the top bunks. We currently offer three cabins with safety rails on the top bunks and we try to place families with children in those cabins first. We are looking into adding safety rails in more of our cabins before next season.

In addition we have also converted the office into a fully stocked mercantile with an inviting coffee shop and free internet that doubles as a warming hut in the winter offering a nice cozy fire for our guests after a day of snowmobiling or cross country skiing in the Flathead National Forest that boarders our property.

While we know that it is impossible to please everyone all of the time, we try very hard to make everyone’s experience at Timber Wolf Resort fun and relaxing. We want to be part of your memorable vacation to beautiful Glacier National Park and all that the Flathead Valley has to offer year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights here while visiting Glacier National Park.Feels like you are in the woods not in a private campground. The park is well maintained. Bathrooms are immaculate, be prepared to wait if you shower in the AM,they fill up fast! We had a pioneer cabin,it was just as advertised.We didn't mind the plastic cover{ever sleep in a KOA cabin?],the mattress was luxurious.All in all we loved this little cabin and had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Margaret, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Timber Wolf Resort. Your family was a joy to have with us and we hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We happened on this wonderful gem during a seat-of-our-pants road trip. We tent camped the first night, and the site was great. The campground has beautiful scenery and the bathrooms and showers were spotlessly taken care of. Plus, it's only minutes from the entrance to Glacier.

We loved Glacier, and our stay at Timber Wolf Resort so much that we stayed a second night, this time in a cabin. The cabin is four walls, and beds with brand new mattresses. It was super affordable (even for a young couple on a limited budget), and we were grateful to be in a cabin when a HUGE thunderstorm passed through that night.

The nearby towns are awesome, with great live music, and friendly people. The hosts were kind, generous, and eager to share tips about the surrounding area. Plus, they have a great camp store with all kinds of treats and essentials.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Emily,
Thank you for the review. We really value our customers and it means a lot to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We take pride in our little piece of natural Montana and it’s nice when others appreciate it as much as we do. It has been fun meeting new people, like yourselves, and learning about other places that we may try to find time to visit someday. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Phil & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The campground is nice. The RV spots are very narrow. Tenting sites looked nice. Cabin was nice except for the plastic sheet on bed. We booked by phone in the morning for a camp spot plus a cabin for us and some friends we were travelling with. We arrived around 8pm. There is nobody in the office at that hour, they leave around 6pm according to the lady who booked our reservation. We needed firewood, and got some from the back of office, intending to pay for it in the morning. We went in to also adjust our bill that we felt was overcharged by approximately $10. The owner came out to discuss with us, but was quite defensive and not easy to talk to. We were finally handed a $10 bill and we left. It was very awkward and I felt like he thought I was ripping him off. Due to quite a bit of confusion trying to sort, we forgot about the wood. A few hours later I got a call from him. He was furious and threatening to call the sheriff on me or instead he'd just charge my c.c. for $10 more. !!! I tried to explain it was not intentional etc.. but he kept going. THEN I started in on how their office hours are so poor, with nobody being there -- how are we supposed to get wood, for a fire, since we are camping afterall -- !!! We then either lost cell service ( I was on the road) or he hung up! Too bad, I'd have gone back there until that happened.

Room Tip: tenting sites are nice and further from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippy-Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Trippy-Mama, It is unfortunate that you and your friends did not have a good experience at TWR. We work very hard to make everyone’s stay an enjoyable one. I want to address each of the points that you wrote in your review.
You wrote that our RV spots are very narrow and I’m sorry you feel that way but we have had hundreds of RV guests this summer with units up to 40’ long and we have heard nothing but positive feedback. When you asked for the refund you didn’t state anything about the space being too narrow for your truck camper, you stated you wanted the refund because your friends didn’t want to stay in the RV slip you reserved. This was actually a violation of our policy since they ended up camping in an undesignated spot on our property. As for the refund we gave you, we have published policies (both online and on your invoice/reservation) about cancellations within 7 days of arrival. When you book and arrive on the same day, you are of course responsible for the full amount of the reservation even if you didn’t want your friends camping in the RV spot they reserved. To have given even $10 back to you was generous on our part and there was not an overcharge on your bill.
You stated you did not like the plastic sheets on the bed. The plastic is there to protect you and our mattresses. In our Ranger cabins (the cabin style you booked) and Mountaineer cabins, we cover each mattress with a mattress pad to keep our guests from sleeping against the plastic, then sheets and a quilt.
You stated that you arrived around 8 pm and it is published on the map we provided you, and that is also posted outside the office, that our hours are from 8 am – 6 pm. That being said, we usually stay open much later if we can. In addition our cell phone numbers are published outside the office for our guests to be able to reach us after hours. At no time did you or anyone from your party attempt to call us.
As for the firewood, it is never appropriate to help yourself to anyone’s merchandise no matter what your intensions. Failure to pay for the wood you took was clearly theft. There are several stores near TWR that sell firewood, one is open until 11 pm and the other is open 24 hours/day. There were options available to you or you could have simply called us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We rented a cabin here for 2 nights while visiting Glacier National Park. The resort is about a 5-10 minute drive from the entrance to Glacier. The couple who now own the place are very kind and helpful. Our cabin was very clean, and (more importantly perhaps) the bathroom and shower were immaculate, not an easy feat for a campground in the middle of the mountain woods.

If you are staying in a cabin, you can rent linens from the front desk. I rented two sheets, a blanket and two pillows and it was $14. Also, they have firewood available for purchase at the front desk, so don't worry about bringing your own.

Overall, we thought we got a very good value. If I am ever in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbusBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Mr. Buckeye,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with TWR. We enjoyed having you as a guest and hope to see you back again in the future. We work very hard to keep the resort clean and inviting and we take great pride in our facility.
Phil & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
8.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
7.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.2 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Wolf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Wolf Resort

Property: Timber Wolf Resort
Address: 9105 Highway 2 East, P.O. Box 190250, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Location: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hungry Horse
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Wolf Resort is a family owned and operated authentic facility on 17.6 wooded acres just nine miles from the West entrance of North America’s crown jewel, Glacier National Park. Timber Wolf Resort proudly presents several year-round lodging and recreational options for visitors to the Flathead Valley and Glacier National Park. We have lodging for most every taste from Bed & Breakfast rooms with breakfast delivered to your room each morning to cabins and tent camping. We also have RV spaces with either full hookups or electric only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Wolf Hotel Hungry Horse
Timber Wolf Resort Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing