We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Great for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hungry Horse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding! Great for family”
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Outstanding place to stay! Both Jenie and Doug met us at the door when we arrived (so did Toby their wonderful dog). We stayed in both their unit cabins (kinda like a motel, but all hand crafted log furniture, wood walls, great decor) and their newest cabins. Both were great. New beds everywhere. Unlike most places we stayed at they spent time with us going over the Glacier Park map so we fully understood how we could see the "best places" during our visit. They should be guides! The lodge is amazing. I think it is 100 years old. It is very impressive. They updated everything inside to include a huge flatscreen TV in the main area with the pool table. Planning to stay again!

  • Liked — Everything is new!
  • Disliked — Not enough time to spend in the area
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mtdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    81
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
81
134
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

If you like to open your windows at night...you will find you have Highway noise ALL night long. They certainly don't let you know that the main highway is 100 feet from the front door. This is very deceptive. If you like to pay almost 400 bucks to listen to CONSTRUCTION noise at 7AM this place is for you! Saws hammers...you name it...you will hear it every morning...about 30 feet from your open windows. Also with no air conditioning, in the summer it will be around 90 degrees in the cabin.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank flybywireUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2007
We personally informed EVERY guest and posted on our website that 6 new cabins were being constructed. We have many, many guests who have stayed with us who do not have such an adverse reaction to our facility. In short, the construction is over and only affected 6 of our 17 cabins. The rate they quoted is incorrect, the number of feet from the highway to the cabin is incorrect and the cabins being 90 degrees is untrue. We thank you for your understanding. Their statements are untrue and misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Our extended family group-14 in all just returned from a trip tp Glacier park. We stayed for two nights near the Western Entrance to the Park in the Historic Tamarack Inn. Doug and Jennie did everything to make our stay pleasant. This included opening their own Lodge to us; their lovely yard with a trampoline and a bon fire in the evening; a guided tour to a small lake in their woods; a lovely continental breakfast and continuous help in planning our trip. The two bungalows with their adjoining doors were great for our family and the new bungalows that are opening this summer will even upgrade the accomadations. The weather in the Park was terrible, unfortuntately but we did enjoy the visit to the Hungry Horse Dam and Visitor's Center there. Perhaps we can get back some day and see the park.

  • Liked — the family atmoshere and dedication
  • Disliked — our bungalows were a litlle old
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

BEWARE

My wife made a 2 day reservation for Tamarack Lodge in advance of our Glacier National Park visit. When we arrived at the lodge we noticed that it was not what it seems to be on their web site:
-the cabins are located 50 feet from Hwy 2 (noisy street)
-the lodge is about ½ hour drive from the GNP, West entrance (very un-convenient)
-the cabins look run down (in the shower, the faucets are located at ankle level), you have to take a cover off to be able to adjust the heat, etc…
-the hosts/owners were very un-friendly (the lady of the house would not say good morning while walking in the dining area in the morning)
-BEWARE of reservation cancellation Policy: -upon arrival and seeing the true Tamarack Lodge, I asked the owner to cancel the reservations; he told me that he cannot do that that I should have checked the web site for the advance 7 days cancellation policy. I think that business owners should stay (believe) in their product, people who do not enjoy it should be able to get a full refund.
RESERVE AT YOUR OWN RISK….

Helpful?
10 Thank gustaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackLodge, owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2007
Whereas we cannot make everyone happy 100% of the time, we try very hard. Our goal is to exceed all guest's expectations. We believe we accomplish this goal. Unfortunately, it appears as though one guest was unhappy.

Our website has descriptions and pictures of all accommodations. We are very proud of our facility. Our historic lodge is 100 years old and that is part of the charm. We are continually upgrading our facility since we took ownership 2 years ago. We upgraded all of our cabins and built (6) new cabins.
Some corrections to the guest's miss-statements - we are exactly 8 miles or 10 minutes from the west entrance of Glacier National Park and not 1/2 hour. Our motel/unit cabins are well over 150 feet from the edge of the road and all of our private cabins are well away from the road (many over a 1/8 to 1/4 of a mile). Our showers all have great water pressure and at the least standard required heights. Our cancellation policy is made known at every taken reservation. There are no surprises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Jenie & Doug bent over backwards to accommodate our last minute request to stay somewhere near Glacier National Park during high season. We got much more than we expected in personal attention, advice, and comaraderie. The lodge is classic and comes with an entertaining history. We stayed 4 nights and experienced three types of rooms. The well appointed bed & breakfast rooms in the main lodge are comfortable and fairly sound insulated from activity on the first floor. The charming motel cabin rooms are in a separate building and less sound insulated but met our needs with a country atmosphere. We did not hear our neighbors. The free-standing cabin with kitchen was like a home away from home. The owners plan to expand the number of free-standing cabins. The continental breakfast was well organized and satisfying. We met other guests easily and in a friendly atmosphere. Wonderful location. Back again? You bet.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank redsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Super duper clean rooms. They had TV but be ware the walls are thin and you'll hear your neighbor's shows. Food was great and the owners were nice. A bonus is that they had a family game room (no video games) in hte main lodge where your eat your breakfast. Rooms come with refridgerator and microwave. I would stay again since it is so close to Glaicer.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cavedwellerwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Great location only 8 miles from the entrance to Glacier National Park. Our room was spacious with a very nice layout, clean, shower has good water pressure. Limited amenities: No air conditioner, no phone, no kleenix. Rooms have very difficult to adjust heaters which we needed in spite of the fact we were there the end of July. We had a minor problem manuveuring our luggage between the benches and the porch railings. Friendly, accomodating owners. Breakfast: Muffins, bagels, raisin bread, beverages. Would stay again.

Helpful?
11 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
7.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
305 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
6.8 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 8 in Columbia Falls
39 reviews
3.0 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tamarack Lodge

Property: Historic Tamarack Lodge
Address: 9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hungry Horse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a scenic mountain valley in the midst of the Montana Rockies, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins embodies a classic ambiance with modern amenities for a year-round getaway in the Crown of the Continent. Originally constructed in 1907, the lodge maintains its rustic charm with a log cabin design, placing its long history alongside modern updates that make for a stay in comfort and relaxation. Enjoy the history and ambience of the historic lodge when you stay upstairs in our classic lodge rooms. Historic Motel Units, originally built to house workers on the nearby Hungry Horse Dam project, laid out in fourplexes provide budget accommodation adjacent to the lodge whilst 26 contemporary cabins located throughout the six acre property offer the perfect opportunity for a group or couple friendly retreat in the forest. All guests are free to relax in our Lodge Great Room and enjoy the character of the lodge throughout their stay. Sip on a tasty beverage from our Saloon and coffee bar, or nibble from our selection of onsite dining options while you relax by the fire on a snowy winter day or unwind from a day exploring the great Montana outdoors. With Montana's Flathead National Forest in your backyard and Glacier National Park your next door neighbor, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins offers the perfect setting for your next family vacation, corporate retreat, special event, or weekend getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tamarack Hotel Hungry Horse
Historic Tamarack Lodge Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing