We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Tamarack Lodge and close to GNP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hungry Horse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Tamarack Lodge and close to GNP”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We needed a place to stay on the west side of Glacier National Park and booked the Tamarack Lodge for 2 nights. We chose this place because it's only 8 miles from the park entrance and the reviews were positive on tripadvisor. We never formally met the owner as he took the dog (Toby) camping for the weekend. However, the manager provided top notch service. She was always there if we needed a questioned answered.

Our room was a one queen unit cabin. We noticed the two queen rooms were much larger. Although the room was not large, it was clean, rustic and had lots of amenities. The room featured satellite TV service, refrigerator, microwave and free wireless. However, the wifi was very slow during our stay. I will say we never had any problems sleeping. I read the complaints about being close to the road and creaky floors. Neither bothered us once during the 2 nights and every room was filled.

The main Lodge provided a great setting for the continental breakfast. It's a neat building inside. They also had lots of park maps and info about the area. The grounds were very nice. The resident dog Toby showed us around to the back of the property where we saw the llamas. Everyone staying here was friendly. It added to the quality of our visit.

Overall, we will definitely return when coming back to West Glacier. For around $100 a night for a unit cabin, this is a very good value for the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    81
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
83
134
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Tamarack Lodge for one night while visiting Glacier Natl Park.

At check-in the owner was very friendly and helpful. His dog Toby was great at greeting us. There is a beaver pond up the hill at the back of the property and Toby was happy to accompany us on our walk there. They also have a beautiful horse, and two llamas that our kids enjoyed visiting. We roasted marshmellos over the fire in the evening which was a fun experience. The location is good for visiting Glacier.

Our room was one of the motel style units located at the front of the property. Noise from the road did not bother us at all. The ceiling fans were nice as it was hot outside. The room had a rustic cabin feel which we liked. It had a microwave, fridge and a coffee maker with good coffee. The continental breakfast was basic. The only complaint is that the towels were a bit thin. Overall for the price of hotels in Whitefish and the surrounding area I think what we paid was a good value. I would recommend the motel style units, and would stay here again when visiting Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchula Fl
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I suppose if I were just going to hike Glacier it would have been okay at best... Continental Breakfast bad... not internet service for Macs and rooms are not traveler friendly at all. Bath rooms are small and beds are two queens and you are charged if you use both... big guys don't even think about the place.... I would drive further to stay in a better place... Whitefish might have been a better place to base the Park

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank floridaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
I find this gentleman providing trip advisor with an amazingly misleading statements. I am aware of this guest as I was the one to personally work with him during his stay at our facility.

Our wireless internet works with both mac and pc users. We have hundreds upon hundreds of users of both pc and mac computers staying with us and using our free service. I personally showed this guest how to connect his mac to a wireless system and it worked very well once he saw we had a security code for access.

Second, the unit cabin rooms as well as our family sized cabins as well as our lodge rooms all have queen beds. We show this on our website as well as communicate this to all potential guests.

Third, we have unit cabins with one queen bed as well as two queen beds. We have two rates for these different types of cabins as does all lodging facilities. I am very surprised to see his statement we charge for the use of an additional bed. This is a completely false statement. All unit cabins have showers and not bathtub showers. Again, this is shown on our website. Our larger cabins and lodge rooms all have tub/shower combination and full sized bathrooms.

Our continental breakfast is just that...a continental breakfast. We offer bagels, english muffins, bread, fruit, 5 different dry cereals, coffee, teas, orange and apple juices.

In closing, there was nothing I could do to make this gentleman happy. Myself as well as my entire staff did our best to cater to this guests needs and desires. The comments made are completely misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We traveled with another couple to Glacier and rented a 2 bedroom cabin for our stay. This establishment is only 8 miles from the entrance to Glacier. If I could have stayed in the park I would have as it is always the best option for National Park touring. The checkin was friendly and efficient. The staff knowledgeable. The cabin was up on the hill away from the highway though you can hear highway noise when sitting on the deck. The cabin was new and clean. The living room and kitchen were spacious and the kitchen well equipped. The bathroom and bedrooms were a bit cramped and the beds were not particularly comfortable, though clean. They do have maid service once a day. We enjoyed the BBQ pit and deck. The breakfast was minimal. Like everything near Glacier it is overpriced but probably in keeping with local rates. I would recommend this establishment but if you are going try to get a better price than we got - $300/night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fenderrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked from the internet and were very pleased. Good location just outside park. We were in a "unit cabin" which are the ones closest to road but weren't disturbed by traffic at all even though we were aware of it. We stayed there the night of the first day Going to the Sun Road opened so there were plenty of people headed by. Loved unit cabin #8 which had the bathroom in the middle of the cabin between the two queen beds which provided a bit of privacy for me and my parents. The unit cabins are "rustic" with all wood paneling :& flooring: my idea of the perfect cabin. Great innkeeper - outgoing, engaged, interested. Always nice to have breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galonroadlesstraveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy, TX
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I checked about 50 area locations on the internet before deciding to stay at Historic Tamarack Lodge. The positive earlier ratings say it all. You are about as close to West Glacier as you can be without staying in the park. (We visited two of the three park lodges during our stay, and the ir typical guests were the older crowd who were spending more money than we did for a view.) Doug and his family/crew were great hosts. Toby even wanted to help us move in. The cabin was cleaner than clean. Everything worked (I guess the TV did, as we never turned it on). For a rustic place it was very comfortable. When we are able to return to Glacier, we will stay there again, hopefully for longer than the three nights we had this time. Be sure to see the Hungry Horse dam while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaylorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

My wife and I happened to stumble upon this great place while visiting Glacier National Park. We were going to stay one night, and we ended up staying three! Doug and his staff made us feel at home, from the free breakfast, to the free wifi, to the great suggestions on where to hike and see the wildlife (even saw a grizzly mom and her three cubs), he was spot on for everything we needed. When I head back to Glacier National this fall, this will be the only place I consider....can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roblaredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
7.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
544 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
2.7 mi away
Glacier General Store and Cabins
2.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#10 of 13 in West Glacier
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tamarack Lodge

Property: Historic Tamarack Lodge
Address: 9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hungry Horse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a scenic mountain valley in the midst of the Montana Rockies, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins embodies a classic ambiance with modern amenities for a year-round getaway in the Crown of the Continent. Originally constructed in 1907, the lodge maintains its rustic charm with a log cabin design, placing its long history alongside modern updates that make for a stay in comfort and relaxation. Enjoy the history and ambience of the historic lodge when you stay upstairs in our classic lodge rooms. Historic Motel Units, originally built to house workers on the nearby Hungry Horse Dam project, laid out in fourplexes provide budget accommodation adjacent to the lodge whilst 26 contemporary cabins located throughout the six acre property offer the perfect opportunity for a group or couple friendly retreat in the forest. All guests are free to relax in our Lodge Great Room and enjoy the character of the lodge throughout their stay. Sip on a tasty beverage from our Saloon and coffee bar, or nibble from our selection of onsite dining options while you relax by the fire on a snowy winter day or unwind from a day exploring the great Montana outdoors. With Montana's Flathead National Forest in your backyard and Glacier National Park your next door neighbor, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins offers the perfect setting for your next family vacation, corporate retreat, special event, or weekend getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tamarack Hotel Hungry Horse
Historic Tamarack Lodge Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing