We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amber Bear Inn
Nearby Hotels
Clark Fork Lodge(Clark Fork)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeside Motel & Resort(Trout Creek)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caboose Motel(Libby)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
51
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting areanancyelkidahohostsmountainshiking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 58 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

October in Northern Idaho and Montana can be some of the most beautiful, quiet days we have. After a pleasant day kayaking on the Clark Fork River we made our way to Amber Bear Inn and was greeted by Nancy and Mike and welcomed into their beautiful B&B. We were really surprised and thrilled with our room. Any request was promptly accommodated and we felt completely at home. Nancy has done an outstanding job of making the room homey and comfortable. It was so nice to pad down to the dinning room and have the coffee already made and waiting for us in the morning. Breakfast was delicious....no skimping on quality or portions! Nancy and Mike are very knowledgeable people on many subject which made for great conversations. What a thrill it was to look out the window and see a black bear searching around for the last of the apples. Don't forget to check out the cute gift shop. Oh, yeah, we will definitely come back and soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review. We have worked hard to make the Amber Bear Inn a quiet, peaceful place for our guests and the local wildlife. We never tire of looking out a window and spotting deer, elk, or bears wandering around, feeling safe on the grounds. We are now providing a Work/Study program for a local boarding School and the beautiful young women from the School assist us with our guests and facilities. Young people are truly one of America's most endangered species. We thank you for staying with us. Your patronage has a ripple effect far beyond the local economy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Labor Day dinner was excellent. The wild life, a few feet from the window worth the trip. We had dinner and didn't stay this time. We viewed the rooms. Large and beautiful. The air is clean and the mountains spectacular. We love Heron, Mt.

Room Tip: I didn't stay this time but would love to.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. Hopefully, when you travel through this area again you'll be able to spend more time. We have fantastic hiking, fishing, and a boat launch onto the Clark Fork River 2 minutes away. As you mentioned, you stumble over wildlife as we are a place with more animals than people. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were there for only one night but sure wish we could have stayed longer. The place is wonderful. It is about 5 miles off of the main road and we were a bit skeptical as to what we would be finding once we got to it, but were pleasantly surprised. The building is very open and lots of light colored wood and big fireplaces. The view is wonderful and we could see deer from our room in the morning, by the pond. There were also peacocks, goats, and a llama, on the property. As we were eating dinner, Mike, the owner, invited us to come look out the back window to see a black bear that had been making an appearance every night. He came right up to the building and stood up on his hind legs so I could get a great picture of him. Fortunately the window was too high for him to reach us. I guess he came to eat apples from their trees. The breakfast is included and it was delicious. We also ate dinner there and that, too was very good. The owners are very friendly and easy to talk to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, we appreciate it. We are a wild life sanctuary and are located at the base of Beaver Peak, adjoining the National Forest. Driving five miles off the State highway, in a very rural area, seems an odd place to locate a Lodge. However, it puts our guests at a great advantage of seeing wildlife from one of the many windows in the Lodge. It also provides a quiet rest, away from highway and railroad noise. Thanks again, for your kind words and five star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I shared a room with a large fireplace and bathroom. We slept with the windows open and the rain pitter pattering on the roof tiles below. It was perfect. We only stayed one night and got there late, but it was well worth it. Breakfast was delicious!!

Susan and Mila

Room Tip: Loved the room with the fireplace...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukiLosAngeles_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. Its hot and dry here now and your review mentions rain. Wish we had some! Instead, we have large sprinklers in our meadow to keep the native grasses growing for our wildlife and free-range critters. The water comes from an artesian spring on the grounds which guests hike up to and enjoy an ice-cold soak. Underneath large cedar trees, the artesian spring gushes down the mountain year-round and is a cool retreat 20 to 30 degrees cooler than the surrounding mountainside on a hot summer day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in town for a family reunion and stayed at the Amber Bear Inn June 14th and 15th. We had a wonderful time and wish we could have just relaxed there all weekend! Communication with them was easy, I had emailed them a few nights before we were going to be there and there was an email in my inbox and a phone call in the morning by the time I got off work. The building is very comfortable, our room was just what we needed and the area is beautiful. The food was great and we would have liked to eat there more but the reunion fed us as well. We went on a lovely hike up the hills behind the building and had even more beautiful mountain views. It was fun visiting with Mike and Nancy and they were very hospitable. They even offered for our relatives to park their RV's up there so they wouldn't have to hear the train all night and my in-laws even stayed the next night at the Inn to get away from that same train, and they slept very well. We will definitely be return guests and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable weekend in the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. The Inn is located 4 miles off State Highway 200. We are one of the few who are not located along a busy, noisy highway. The State of Montana has an enormous number of freight trains, up to 9 a night, transporting coal to China, logs to builders, and other products moving along parallel to the noisy highway. If you want QUIET, you will find it at Amber Bear Inn. You will not find quiet at lodging perched along the railroad tracks and busy highways. If QUIET is important to you, we are well worth the extra 5 minute drive to get away from noise. We thank this reviewer for pointing it out, and we thank her, once again, for her kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews