We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Beautiful Setting”
Review of Amber Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amber Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Heron B&B and Inns
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Amber Bear provided us a large clean comfortable room close to the school we were visiting in the area. Definitely off the beaten path; a quiet and relaxing setting. Plenty of country roads to walk and run on, or just sit out on the porch with your morning coffee, relax and watch the wildlife. And as much as I appreciated quiet nights in the country it was comforting to know I could connect to the outside world using the provided WiFi.

Room Tip: You may hear footsteps from the room above in the downstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbengtsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Everyone should have Grandparents as wonderful as this couple. They've stayed with us a number of times as they visited a grandchild enrolled nearby in one of the nation's top College Preparatory Charter Schools that specialize in instructing teens extremely gifted in the Arts. We loved hosting the grandparents, and their granddaughter. They were escorted on their morning nature walks by a prominent member of our staff, Chase the dog. Their beautiful granddaughter is graduating soon and is off to a world-class University. Chase, and our family, wish her well, and we hope they come back to visit us when they find themselves in the Heron area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
22
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We first discovered The Amber Bear by accident but are glad we did! Innkeepers Mike and Nancy have opened their large beautiful home as finest inn Western Montana has to offer. Set in the idyllic area of Heron, Montana the views of the Cabinet and Bitteroot Mountains is breathtaking. The lodge is surrounded by wildlife, in our visits we have seen elk, deer, bear, and more. As if the views and wildlife weren't enough reason to stay, the Inn is fantastic! This dog friendly lodge is the created to enjoy Montana the way it's meant to be enjoyed. The lodge has a country design to it with soaring ceilings, an amazing river rock fireplace, beautiful hard wood floors and windows everywhere to take in the views! In classic bed and breakfast style, the Amber Bear is definitely the home of innkeepers Mike and Nancy, but it has the feel of a larger lodge. The menu is so much beyond what you would expect to find in a bed and breakfast and Nancys cooking is fantastic! If you are expecting the Four Seasons with bellmen, valet service and a concierge, this is not for you. However, if you want to enjoy Montana hospitality in a beautiful lodge in an idyllic setting - then this is for you! We had an amazing time and will stay again! Our dog loved it as well, it should be noted the the Amber Bear is very pet friendly! We loved it and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatbassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Those of us, in the hospitality industry, really love to experience a family like this one, and are always grateful that they loved our Inn as much as we do. Their dog was a delight. We hope, when they retire in 10 more years from the teaching profession they will think about our community. They would be a great asset. They took enormous advantange of the many hiking/jogging trails around here and the many scenic wonders worthy of their vacation pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Amber Inn was recommended to us by a family member who had seen the advertisements for Amber Inn. We took the long scenic drive there only to be met by a very rude woman who wouldn't let us on the steps. When my Aunt asked about the Lodge, we were basically told to leave. My father tried to talk with this lady, trying to inquire about the restaurant and rooms only to be rudely told to leave. When we asked the best way to get back on the main road, this woman said "The way you got here". Every question we asked this woman was met with a rude answer.
If this woman is the owner or manager, she should not be meeting the public due to her rudeness and dirty appearance. If this woman is an employee, she is horrible for business. We will not stay at this place nor would we recommend anyone stay there.

Alaska & Florida & Idaho!

Room Tip: We never got up the steps so can not rate the inside of this building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank KED K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We believe our staff acted appropriately. Our small country inn is located on a wildlife sanctuary on the edge of the National Forest, up a long, very private driveway. We require reservations for both lodging and for our restaurant. The individual arrived with a carload of people requesting a facilities tour. The staff member informed her all of the rooms were occupied with guests and we were unable to show any of the rooms. She also was informed the restaurant was closed to the public that day as it also was booked for a banquet. Her male companion then demanded access to the Lodge to "just walk around" and began trying to force open the locked door. The staff member then asked them to leave. The man than verbally accosted a female guest who was with the staff member demanding she let him in, which the guest also refused to do. Was the staff member "dirty"? She and the female guest and her dogs (this is dog heaven) had been out hiking together and were cooling off on the Lodge's wrap-around deck when this carload of people arrived without making prior arrangements or reservations.

The security of our guests are very important to us. Reputable lodging establishments do not allow people to walk around a facilities testing doors to see which one is unlocked. The privacy of our guests, in their rooms, is also important to us. Reputable lodging establishments do not give "tours" of rooms which are occupied by guests and/or their belongings. Fortunately, very few people demand that we do so.

We believe a true reflection of our lodge is contained in the comments of those who have stayed with us rather than the comments of a woman who demanded a facilities tour we were unable, and under no obligation, to supply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Amber Bear Inn was the perfect retreat for my husband and me this past week/weekend. The drive from Spokane was breathtaking and Nancy gave perfect directions to their bed and breakfast. The inn is on 400 private acres reserved as a wildlife sanctuary. Our room was extremely spacious with vaulted ceilings, a spa tub, fireplace, sitting area, wet bar, and large windows on two walls for panoramic views of a waterfall, creek, meadows, pond, and Cabinet Mountains. We were fortunate to have a king bed fit for royalty. We were visiting the Heron/Noxon area for business and we felt as though we were on a honeymoon retreat! Nancy and Mike were such incredible hosts providing a yummy breakfast every morning (at whatever time we wanted), a 5 course (and 5 star) dinner every night (at whatever time we wanted), extraordinary service, and stimulating conversation. As we left, the goose honked a goodbye! When we return for business this summer, we will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountains046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We thank this reviewer for the kind words. They were in the area on business, but able to stay nearby at our family-run Inn. As they looked out their bedroom and bathroom windows only the beauty of nature stared back at them. The Inn's spectacular views are not cluttered with development on any adjoining property. Their views of both the Cabinet Mountains and the Bitterroot Mountains have no lights on them at night as this land is national forest. The "serenity" of the views are matched by the "sounds of silence". Virtually all other lodging establishments choose to locate on busy highways, which have railroad tracks right next to them with a dozen or more trains each night. Our Inn is located five miles off the highway. We are nestled up against Beaver Peak and our wildlife sanctuary borders hundreds of thousands of acres of national and State forest land.

For those looking for "absolute serenity", the five mile drive off the State highway will reward you with the sound of raven's wings flapping over head. If your sleep is disturbed at night, it is from the howling of wolves, not the clang of locomotives, noisy bars, and busy highways. We thank the reviewer and hope to see them again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

If you are ever in the vicinity of Heron, Montana or you are looking for a quiet place, summer or winter, with great views, comfortable rooms, good foods, and warm and friendly hosts, this is your place. We were there in November and it was truly a winter wonderland with just enough snow to be really scenic but not too difficult to deal with. Besides the menagerie at the inn (dogs, horses, goats, llamas, peacocks) there is an abundance of wild life in the area that often visit the premises. Mike and Nancy have established their own wildlife preserve where hunting is not allowed so the local wildlife feel free and safe there. We have seen elk both times we were there plus deer. There are bears but we haven't seen any yet. Truly a great place for the nature inclined.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPJN38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We wanted to spend time day hiking in the Cabinet Mountains and were fortunate to find the Amber Bear Inn. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable with fabulous views. The food was tasty and well prepared. The grounds were quiet and serene. Above all, the owners provided a warm and relaxed atmosphere and took every opportunity to make us feel welcome. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandC149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a beautiful property. Great people with a little slice of heaven to share. Wildlife daily! Great food and conversation. Mike and Nancy Will do everyhting they can to make you never want to leave. Simply put- visit as a stranger leave as a friend. Cannot wait till my next visit.

Room Tip: bi doneg or little. They are all spacious and beautifully
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinedad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
This individual is very typical of our many guests, he loves the country, the animals and the rural feel. Although he now lives in California for professional reasons, he was born in Montana. He has stayed with us a number of times. We thank him for his kind review and look forward to his next visit. He just stayed with us again in July. Like many of our guests, he hopes when he retires to move to our area. We would like to welcome him home and believe he would be a great asset for the community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amber Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Bear Inn

Property: Amber Bear Inn
Address: 25 Amber Bear Lane, Heron, MT 59844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Heron
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Bear Inn is a small, boutique, one-of-kind, rural Inn located on a 400 acre wildlife sanctuary in the Bitteroot Mountains. The Inn is located 4 miles off busy State Highway 200 and away from the noisy railroad tracks that run parallel to the highway. It is backed up to Kootenai National Forest, and there is direct access to the Forest for hiking, snowmobiling, and ATV access. Nature trails are groomed into the estate. A free boat launch on the Clark Fork River is 2 minutes away and is a gateway to fishing, kayaking, tubing, and sking.This is a quiet forest setting with rooms boasting magnificent views. There are 7 fireplaces in the Inn, free high-speed video-streaming wifi, satellite TV in every room, and a full-service restaurant. Breakfast is included and is ordered off the restaurant menu at the lodger's convenience. The restaurant is open to non-lodging guests by reservation only to maintain a tranquil setting. We offer an international selection of beer and wine.The owners live & work onsite and are one of Montana's oldest families, boasting 7 generations and over 100 years of State residency. We welcome you to our home & our State. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing