We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Holiday Inn Helena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helena
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ended our vacation in Helena and stayed at this hotel. Great location- part of walking mall in downtown area. The hotel is your typical Holiday Inn- clean and basic. Room lighting is very poor! The front desk staff are very nice and accommodating. Having free airport shuttle service is a plus!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRTRIPSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 877KathyR,
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you were able to take in some of the nearby sites. We do strive to have the best customer service we can have and we are happy to hear you were taken care of so well. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you from the Staff and Management Holiday Inn Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
46
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Helena down town for business in April, 2014. I travel to Helena MT anywhere from 4 times a year to 8 times a year. I have already provided my review on the Hotel website - quick review - staff very nice and helpful. Poor sleep, very noisy room as if situated over a power source or something. Had to change rooms very late into the night. Faucet leaked from the base onto cosmetic bag and what ever else was on the bathroom counter. I will be returning to the Barrister Bed and Breakfast when I need to travel to Helena. Also located walking distance to down town, charming place and the owners are great! Make you feel like old friends.

Room Tip: I am unable to assist with this request as I had to change rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfleming71, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tana50,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Downtown Helena. We appreciate all reviews both positive and negative. We are pleased that you had a positive experience with our staff, we strive to deliver impeccable customer service. We are sad to hear that the room accommodations were less than acceptable. The issues you have stated in your review have been brought to the attention of the Maintenance department and are being addressed. Should your future travels bring you to the Helena area we hope that at some point you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves and give you a great stay in our establishment.
Thank you again for your input and we hope to hear from you soon.

Holiday Inn Downtown Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location is one of the few good things I have to say about this place. The room was ok and the bed was comfortable. My biggest issue is that when we checked in on speck I asked about breakfast and was told it was from 6.30am in the restaurant. I felt totally duped as hadn't been told that you had to pay extra for breakfast. It was only on getting to the room and going through the room book that we realised this. Husband double checked this and was fuming considering what we'd paid for the room. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Phillipa P,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to know that our location worked for your needs and that you found our room and bed comfortable. However, I am very sorry for the dissatisfaction with the lack of information about the breakfast rates. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

On entering the hotel around 3.30pm we saw an unfinished plate of food near the reception desk (late lunch for the staff?) however the same plate was still there almost 3 hours later!
Reception staff avoided eye contact wherever possible and this was indicative of the overall service level from staff who really seemed disinterested.

I stayed here with a small group of 27 Australian Cattle Farmers and, because we were a group, we were served our dinner and breakfast in a windowless basement room because "that is our groups policy". Had they bothered to provide a bar service in the basement over dinner they could have made a lot of money from us Australians. Obviously the Manager or Franchisee wasn't on duty that day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfleming71, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mel H,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you had an extremely negative experience at the Holiday Inn Downtown Helena. The actions of the reception staff has been brought to the attention of the Front Desk Manager and have been addressed. It is also very unfortunate that you did not appreciate the accommodations your group received in our meeting rooms. It is not that it is group policy to serve groups in the lower level meeting rooms although it is customary to follow the contract set up between two companies. As with all contracts, we are more than happy to change things on request after arrival. We do apologize for any and all inconveniences and misunderstandings that occurred during you time with us.
Thank you again for your input and we hope you have a wonderful day.

Holiday Inn Downtown Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Helena, so it is quite convenient to the walking mall. Service at the front desk was good and the lounge was a nice place to grab a drink or quick meal. The exercise room is a little small with older equipment, though. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfleming71, Front Desk Staff at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Debbie A.,
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also ecstatic that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful downtown area! We thank you for your appreciation of the Front Desk and The Quarry Bar and Grill. It's unfortunate that you found our Fitness Center inadequate. We are always open for suggestions on how we can renovate our establishment to better enhance a comfortable and inviting stay.

Thank you again for your input into the Holiday Inn Downtown and hope that if your future travels should bring you to Helena again, you choose us for you accommodation needs.

We hope to see you in the near future and have a wonderful day!

Holiday Inn Downtown Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Finished a wonderful long weekend stay at the Holiday Inn Helena. The hotel's location was in walking distance to almost everything that I wanted to do. Charming stores and restaurants were located in the walking mall or further up the street. I admit I did drive my car up to the start of my hike up nearby Mount Helena. The hot tub was relaxing even though I never could get the jets to work after turning on the timer. Parking was free which I appreciated for my occasional jaunts further afield such as the state capitol building and the movies. I especially appreciated that you could still open up your balcony door and get a fresh breeze in the room. In addition, I enjoyed the mini-fridge in the room for snacks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriousworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Seriousworldwanderer, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy you had the chance to enjoy the beautiful Downtown area along with your hike on Mt. Helena!! We are happy you were able to visit the capital and maybe next time you are in the are you will have time to visit some of the museums and maybe even the old governors mansion. We are pleased that you also enjoyed the quality and comfort of your sleeping accommodations. In the future, if you are in Helena, we would love for you to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your review.
Holiday Inn Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Holiday Inns tend to be pretty similar from place to place. This one is no different other than the location. This one is right at the heart of downtown Helena and walking distance to most places one would want to eat. As always, the room was clean and the beds and bedding were high quality.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th and 7th floors. Not sure it matters as the rooms were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfleming71, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Checkbook,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy you had the chance to enjoy the beautiful Downtown Helena!! We are pleased that you also enjoyed the quality and comfort of your sleeping accomodations. If your travels ever bring you to Helena again, we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your review.
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
436 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helena

Property: Holiday Inn Helena
Address: 22 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601-4122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown is located on the Historic Walking Mall. Lots of shopping, dinning and all around fun with our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helena Hotel Helena
Park Plaza Helena
Park Plaza Hotel Helena
Helena Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing