We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very gracious and excellent bed and breakfast inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanders - Helena's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Sanders had an unusually large room and bathroom which was handsomely furnished and gracious. The staff (Bobbie mostl;y) was truly convivial and offered help at every turn. This is a historic and massive home near the shopping area with restaurants within walking distance. Cleanliness is superior as is the breakfast. In Helena, this is the location of choice for convenience and a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davide542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Sanders - Helena's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2008

The Sanders B and B is a lovely building, in a nice neighborhood. I am not a b and b person, so there may be some elements of my stay that others would love, that I judge too harshly, But I still think, it is an honest assessment to say that these folks think they are the best thing going in Helena, so they are not trying very hard.

The rooms are very Victorian, loud wall paper, doilies, etc. But they are better than many b and b's in that they have tvs, individual bathrooms, lightfilled rooms, not too may doo-dads, and wireless internet.

The public areas are very nice, two living rooms and a big front porch, so you can socialize with others or find your own spot.

They serve an afternoon "tea" which was a little lack luster. It included lemonade and free sherry with some very average looking cookies. The breakfast was lack luster, but at least provided decent variety. It was an under-seasoned egg/cheese/bread casserole, fruit salad, not-too-sweet bran bread slice and sausage. But it was nothing memorable. We lucked out in that we got a table to our own party. But everyone else had to mix with other parties at breakfast. I hate that, as I am not too interested in meeting new people at breakfast.

The service lacked any of the "wow that's an interesting person" hosts you find at many b and bs. They all seemed like "employees." All were nice, but none provided the unique local perspective that makes B and Bs worth the other draw backs they have.

As a pretty well traveled person in Montana, I would also say Helena could be skipped with out too much of a loss unless you are a state capitol collector. In which case, the capitol building is pretty nice. There is also at least one unexpectedly good restaurant, Luccas at the Carriage house (see seperate review).

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank honestyfromMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

This was the second time I had stayed at The Sanders b and b. I am fortunate in that I travel extensively in The US getting to stay at b and bs all over the country. This has to be one of the best.

The house is lovely, comfortable with a historic feel. Location is good, close to just about everything in Helena. Your hosts wil make you feel right at home. They can advise you on anything related to Helena and district.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed.

I will be definately be back as soon as my schedule permits.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stay at Sanders every October on the way to our annual trip to Yellowstone. The large Victorian mansion is located in a lovely tree-lined Helea neighbourhood within walking distance of the main street (Last Chance Gulch) and the fabulous Catholic church, an architectural marvel.

The owners are very gracious, happy to socialize if you are so inclined or to let you do your own thing if that is your preference. They will call your choice of restaurant for dinner reservations and serve a lovely afternoon snack of fresh baked cookies and sherry. Breakfast is to die for!

The family has ties to the Ringling Brothers circus heritage and the rooms are decorated with many beautiful antiques, including one room on the main floor that shows off fascinating circus memorabilia. All the rooms have a private bathroom; only one room has a bathroom down the hall but the occupants do not share that bathroom with anyone else. It feels a little odd to sit in the parlor of this magnificent Victorian home completely decorated to suit the era, and then surf the net on a laptop with the free wireless!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Murfreesboro
15
Reviewed March 19, 2006

I stayed four days in Helena and loved the Saunders. The location was great and the owner was very nice. The rooms were clean and decorated beautifully. I would highly recommend this place. Lots of Character!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

This is a wonderful B&B if you're traveling to Helena, MT - - or worth a side trip if you're even close to the area. It is a beautiful and well-kept home that reflects both a pride of ownership and respect for history. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast fabulous, and the inn-keepers delightful. I stayed for three days and was very sorry to leave to go back to the world of hotel chains.

Everything about the Sanders is simply well done. The rooms are meticulous and the atmosphere is relaxing. Unlike some other B&B's this one affords both a chance to socilize if you choose or privacy.

I was there for business, and because of a very delayed flight didn't get in until almost 3:00 a.m. The innkeepers went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of (even at that late hour) and that my room was ready. I was very tempted just to skip breakfast but it was worth getting only a few hours of sleep to enjoy a great meal.

Whatever you do, don't miss the Grand Marnier French Toast!!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pamz-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maze111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanders - Helena's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanders - Helena's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 328 N Ewing St, Helena, MT 59601-4050
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Helena
Price Range: $80 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The turn-of-the-century style of The Sanders blends beautifully with the luxurious comforts that today's travelers expect. Sanders' staff provides great attention to individual needs in a most thoughtful manner, from helping with luggage to preparing a welcoming cup of tea, and providing information about Helena's attractions, restaurants, outdoor opportunities and cultural events. A gourmet Montana breakfast is served each morning in the lovely wainscoted dining room, accompanied by plenty of freshly ground coffee, assorted teas, fresh fruits and home baked breads and muffins. Guests often linger over coffee to read the paper, swap fishing stories, and recount adventures in Glacier or Yellowstone national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sanders - Helena's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing