We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Pizza.....but 1 star off”

MacKenzie River Pizza Co
Ranked #12 of 163 Restaurants in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Transporting you to the very heart of the Northern Rockies, the casual, rustic atmosphere with unique Montana Lodgepole furniture, stunning panoramic canvas and historic photographs sets the tone for distinctive, creatively prepared food served by vibrant employees renowned for passing their upbeat attitudes on to our customers. The MacKenzie River menu features an incredible array of delectable dishes, always flavorful and fresh, and served up in heaping portions. The acclaimed gourmet pizzas are offered on a variety of crusts – sourdough, natural grain, thick and thin – with toppings from classic pepperoni to pesto, ricotta, and sun-dried tomato. With nearly two dozen pizzas on the menu, you are bound to find at least one you’ll love. MacKenzie River also offer hearty sandwiches served warm on fresh-baked bread, full and half-sized salads, pastas that will wow your taste buds. You will find everything from Pulled Pork Nachos and Buffalo Chicken Mack n’ Cheese to a fresh Cobb Salad, housemade soups and Wings. Be sure to save room for the Mack Lovin dessert, gooey chocolate chip cookies topped with ice cream and chocolate sauce; it’s great for sharing. To complement the menu choices, select from a variety of microbrews and fine wines.
yyc
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pizza.....but 1 star off”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I ordered delivery as I was staying in a local hotel in Helena. I ordered the Thai Pie Pizza and it was just delectable. The orange segments made it truly unique. The crust was also very good. I would recommend it. I also ordered a small salad in my delivery order. The salad was good but they did not deliver any utensils or napkins. I am sure it was just a service slip-up, but when Mackenzie River Pizza offers delivery to hotels and the order-taker on the phone was aware that the order was being delivered to a hotel, then some extra attention should be used to make sure that the out of town guest has all of the condiments and utensils to enjoy. So, one star off. :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yyclhryyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grgfood, Public Relations Manager at MacKenzie River Pizza Co, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for the kind words on your food, we are glad you enjoyed the Thai Pizza. Also, we appreciate you letting us know about the missing side items and utensils. We are very sorry for the inconvenience and will be sure to address this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
324 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband & I went to Mackenzie River Pizza Company, because we were hungry for pizza. Our server was friendly. The restaurant is nice. The food was just O.K. Not horrible, not great. The bill was around $15.00.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grgfood, Public Relations Manager at MacKenzie River Pizza Co, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on your dining experience. It is with customer feedback that we can continue to improve. Please do visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
209 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good pizza and beer, prefer the pub seating.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We prefer to eat and drink in the pub, seems more relaxing. Great pizza and beer everytime.

Helpful?
Thank MTflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grgfood, Public Relations Manager at MacKenzie River Pizza Co, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive review on our restaurant. We look forward to having you in the pub again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Salads and Beer”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Both were very good. Beer selection was excellent, and the waitress new about the different selections. Salad was very good overall.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fish406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I ate there last night, and had great food, great service, and good price.

We had the Cowboy Nachos, which were nearly a meal in themselves. We had the basic pizza also (one of the traditional kinds) but three are also many many other kinds to try.

I had an equivalent of a Guiness that was good.

The waitress was very friendly and prompt.

We'll be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigedslobotomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacKenzie River Pizza Co also viewed

 

Been to MacKenzie River Pizza Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing