We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Day trip with grandchildren.

The museum is very interesting and educational for young children Have been here several times... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
djordan3
One of the oldest museums in the western United States

The Montana Historical Society Museum, also known as Montana's Museum, was founded in 1865 and is... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
Taylor B
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 248 reviews
  
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
181
64
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
64
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charlie russell white buffalo native americans gift shop entrance fee across the street military display indian artifacts great depression great collection second floor historical society cm russell interesting exhibits hands on activities state capitol great falls
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 248 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Over the years, I've visited this place many times. Every time I go, I am impressed with the collection in this small museum. For now, on every other Saturday a local credit union sponsors free admission. Parking on Saturdays is excellent and it is a very personal, genuine effort beautifully curated.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

CM Russell gallery which has quite a few of his sculptures, paintings, etc . Indian artifacts from arrowheads, tepees, beaded dresses And papooses, WW 1 gallery with an thorough display of posters, weapons, news articles and photos, and a special display of a white buffalo (not so great..kinda weird ) on the second floor. WW 2, Korean, Spanish American ward and Iraq war artifacts with several Purple Hearts on display. I thought this museum was excellent. Your ticket entitles you to a two day visit I which is a bonus. Nice gift shop too! Worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 786kathleenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We really enjoyed our time at the Montana Historical Society Museum. It is a very well done museum. We found the WWI history section very interesting. and also enjoyed the gallery of art work by Charles Russell. There was ample free parking right across the street, which was a nice surprise. The museum isn't huge and we were able to get through it easily in couple hours. I think the $5.00 entrance fee was reasonable, The capitol building was right next door also worth the time to go through - it is beautiful inside.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank PickyNebraskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Don't miss this museum of history and art. We were immersed in WWI, Montana's mining "wars," the travels of Lewis and Clark, and Native American ways. Pull open the drawers in the Charlie Russell room to reveal his illustrated letters. Then go upstairs to meet the white buffalo.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ElfinWoodsWarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

This is a nice museum. However, Helena is not Rome or even New England. There's not a lot of history to display.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Joe_Zeigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews