We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the time if you are in Helena”

Montana Historical Society Museum
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We really enjoyed our time at the Montana Historical Society Museum. It is a very well done museum. We found the WWI history section very interesting. and also enjoyed the gallery of art work by Charles Russell. There was ample free parking right across the street, which was a nice surprise. The museum isn't huge and we were able to get through it easily in couple hours. I think the $5.00 entrance fee was reasonable, The capitol building was right next door also worth the time to go through - it is beautiful inside.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank PickyNebraskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"charlie russell"
in 29 reviews
"white buffalo"
in 17 reviews
"native americans"
in 14 reviews
"gift shop"
in 18 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 5 reviews
"across the street"
in 15 reviews
"indian tribes"
in 4 reviews
"military display"
in 4 reviews
"great depression"
in 3 reviews
"great collection"
in 4 reviews
"second floor"
in 7 reviews
"historical society"
in 8 reviews
"cm russell"
in 6 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 4 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 3 reviews
"state capitol"
in 11 reviews
"great falls"
in 7 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018

Don't miss this museum of history and art. We were immersed in WWI, Montana's mining "wars," the travels of Lewis and Clark, and Native American ways. Pull open the drawers in the Charlie Russell room to reveal his illustrated letters. Then go upstairs to meet the white buffalo.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ElfinWoodsWarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

This is a nice museum. However, Helena is not Rome or even New England. There's not a lot of history to display.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Joe_Zeigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

The excellent museum focuses on these topics, each with its own gallery:
Charles M Russell
Montana at the time of Lewis and Clark (neither empty or unknown)
Montana Homeland (from prehistoric through the Great Depression)
Montana during WW1
You also get to know about Big Medicine

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank njanoffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018

I told the secruity guard/ cashier that I only had 30 minutes. What was his suggestion to see? He suggested the Mackay Gallery of Russell Art and I wasn't disappointed. Russell's talent was wonderful and his story just as interesting.
And don't forget to visit Big Medicine on the 2nd floor!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank E1521JHpatriciab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Historical Society Museum also viewed

 

Been to Montana Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing