We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to visit”

Montana Historical Society Museum
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You can learn lots about Montana here. There are several different exhibits, some permanent and some changing. There is a wonderful gallery with many Charlie Russell paintings. There is a very good book and art shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montana013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    52
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
199 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A nice overview of MT State history.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Historical Society museum. The displays were well done, being both educational and entertaining. The person on duty in the research library was not helpful, and since part of our trip involved looking into family history we were disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charlie Russell Gallery”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Particularly liked the pictures painted by Charlie Russell and explanations.There were drawings, and letters with drawings, as well as larger oil paintings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Complete history of Montana, from Native American life, early pioneers, to more modern times. We spent an hour and a half, but could easily have stayed two and a half. 90% of the exhibits are on the first floor, but be sure to see the stuffed white bison on the second floor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris161803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's All GOOD!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

There's nothing but a lot to like about this place! 5 bucks to get in when we were there (July 2013), however their website now says free admission on Thurs, 5-8pm...the gift shop has oodles of great frameable prints which is exactly what I wanted...after seeing all that great art...shucks!...you just wanna buy it! You know you cant afford any of the true expensive art, but at least to be able to purchase a nice frameable print from the gift shop there, art imitating what you 've seen at the museum---allows you to bring home a lil bit of Montana 's big sky country history. (You can get a nice rustic barnyard wood frame for it elsewhere). Historical sections are all good. It's all good! Make sure you go to the 2nd floor and see the white buffalo statue of one which had been born on the Flathead Indian reservation....he even had blue eyes! They say that from the ground to his hump was 6 feet. He was treated like a king as I understand it. Make sure you also pick up a free book (a buck donation) regarding Charles Russell art and relationship with the MacKays..guy in museum store said Mrs. McKay donated all the Russell art there after her husband had passed. He was the art enthusiast. It's not a huge museum but big enough. You get more than your 5 bucks worth! Lil snack truck is right outside door parked streetside with dollar water or soda and lil cookies and a few t-shirts. Some exhibits re: Indians of the area, Lewis & Clarks expedition thru the area, the buffalo, Montana history, and original paintings of local artists plus a whole section devoted to C.M. Russell and a section in the back about wedding dresses down thru the years...you put a lil' glass rock in the jar in front of the wedding dress that you like the most. Like I said...it's all good! You can do it in an hour but if you wanna go slow & read and absorb it, and do gift shop at leisure, 2 hours would be best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana Historical Society Museum also viewed

 

Been to Montana Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing