We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish burrito!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taco Del Sol

Taco Del Sol
Ranked #32 of 161 Restaurants in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Find us on the Walking Mall in downtown Helena. We are on the ground floor of the historic Placer Hotel, across the Walking Mall from Holiday Inn Downtown. We are handicap accessible and kid friendly.
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fish burrito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hidden treasure is in the walking mall in downtown Helena. We ordered their fish burritos and loved them. They even serve Kool-Aid! People wait in line even if it's busy. Fun place that offers great food and drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CRAIG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Excellent fish tacos and a fun atmosphere in downtown Helena. Enjoyed this spot for lunch and very fast service. Also liked the free wi-fi.

Helpful?
Thank travelclan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fresh, good, and fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

You can find this little place on the walking mall that the Helena Tour Train wends through. Flash your ticket from that tour and you get a free soda.

There was a crowd when we arrived at 1 PM on a Monday. But the line went quickly (except for one family who didn't make up their minds while in line but waited until they were at the counter to start asking the kids what they wanted, sigh). By the time you move down the counter and pay for your order, your food is ready. We are from AZ so we know good Mexican food. The fish, beef, and chicken tacos were fresh and tasty. The hard corn tortillas are pre-made, sadly, but tasted OK. Friendly staff behind the counter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R3luctanttrav3l3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Helena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Located on the walking mall. Huge burritos and healthy, fresh ingredients. Friendly counter people. Take the kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank smdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Favorite Local Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family and I love their fish burritos!! Funky atmosphere, friendly staff, and great views of the happenings in "old town" Helena!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mid_AmericaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taco Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing