We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
806
196
37
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
196
37
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver star movie theater carroll college best westerns within walking distance hotel breakfast i highly recommend this hotel cookies hotel is located last chance gulch downtown area fresh fruit excellent stay breakfast was excellent fitness center room was spacious front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Recently at a wedding here. Drink prices were outrageous at cash bar. I recommend walking over to the bar next door (silver star) for drinks. Payed less for a mixed drink downtown Manhatten last weekend.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank DonnyDigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear DonnyDigs - Thank you for taking the time to comment. Our catering is also done by Silver Star, so we are unsure what you might have ordered that was different. We do appreciate your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

This place is great! Our room opened right onto the pool which was awesome for our kids. The location in Helena couldn’t be better- close to restaurants and attractions. Room is very clean and comfortable- would definitely stay here again !

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Autumn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you Autumn. We have many guests who enjoy those pool side rooms! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I haven’t had the opportunity to stay in many Best Westerns of late, and really didn’t know what to expect when I booked this hotel. You can’t go wrong staying at this hotel.

It isn’t the fanciest hotel, but the rooms are modern, large, very clean with everything you need. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They had good suggestions on local restaurants and sites. They also helped with a couple of special requests during our stay.

The hotel has a nice pool and work out room. Also a very nice feature was the full sized washer and dryer, which came in handy after exploring the local area.

I give it five stars not because it is a luxury resort, but because it exceeds expectations for a very comfortable stay.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank MDFreqTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We know today's travels rely on word of mouth from other guests. You described our Great Northern Hotel just as we have it pictured in our mind. We believe in the community we live in and the town center we are located in - we hope to see you again here in Helena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

The hotel is located in a quiet part of town and is within walking distance of food options, the college, etc. It was great to open my window while I worked in the evening and just hear the breeze blow - nothing else. The restaurant attached to the hotel that provides room service is probably the best in town - very good. The room, and entire hotel, was very clean. Service was great.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you Mike S - we could not be more pleased with your review! We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

This has become our go to hotel in Helena. We have to travel here once a month, and it is in a good location, the rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. There is also room service available from the restaurant, next door.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Excellent! We appreciate you choosing the Great Northern Hotel as your choice for lodging in Helena. We take great pride in our staff and our property. We will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews