We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Best Western seems to have been recently updated. The rooms amenities are nice and the hotel was reasonably quiet. It is great having a decent place to grab a drink or a meal in the hotel when you are traveling and get in late. The food and service was Great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Jeff - thank you for your kind words. The Great Northern Hotel will be 10 years old in June and we are always updating our property - currently we are replacing guest room carpet - keep the hotel fresh and every changing is our full time mission! We hope we are your first choice when visiting Helena!

Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 957 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

A bit off the I-15, but located in a re-developed commercial area with a new movie theatre, good looking restaurants and shops. The free parking for this busy, nicely decorated hotel is a block away and the parking slots are on the small side. It would make more sense if hotel guests could park in the rear of the hotel where convention attendees can park. A bit understaffed at check-in/check-out times. The hotel is pet friendly and we were given a room with the closest access to a walking area. Quiet, clean, cozy large room, friendly staff, basic free breakfast.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank windgrrl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Wonderful comments and they are very appreciated. Spring arrives soon - please come see us again!

Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Had a pet with me, and the hotel arranged for me to have a room with a sliding glass door which led outside and made it quite easy to walk my dog. I wish more hotels catered to pet owners!
The accomodations were top notch. The exercise area, and breakfast were great. The hallways are quiet. The beds are excellent. The location is terrific for my needs as well. Had no problems at all, will definitely return for another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank drejal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

So pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us! Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated! We hope to see you on a future visit!

Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel extensively and usually frequent the Hilton, Marriott, Starwood and Hyatt families of hotels. Occasionally, I don't have that option in cities I visit such as my recent three night stay in Helena, MT. I believe there are two full-service hotels in Helena and the Great Northern Hotel is one of them. It was the best Best Western Property I've ever visited or stayed at anywhere. It's a nice newer building, nice lobby, connected to a nice lounge/restaurant. I'd recommend it strongly if visiting Helena.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PositiveEnerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments! We do aim for the stars and feel we are certainly offer great amenities and service to our guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building good location. I was put on the garden level(basement). They were doing construction , the lights were not enough to light the room, the pilliows were hard and the mattress felt like it was filled with straw and housekeeping left a dirty washcloth otherwise it was great.

All in all not my best experience will Likely not return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not have a good experience. We are currently replacing the carpet in our guest rooms and are doing our best to minimize the impact on our guests. We will also address the housekeeping issues, this is not our normal level of service. We hope you will give us another try next time you travel to Helena.
Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Best Weatern Premium, and I would agree with the premium label. Everything was a little better than it needed to be. They went above and beyond in most cases. The location is great, walking distance to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you Doug - we are very proud to be a Premier hotel in the Best Western family!
Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Friendly staff at all levels. When the maintenance guy asks if you're enjoying your stay, you know you've made the right choice to stay here. Everyone cares, so all the guests are important. Great location in the UpTown area of Helena. Looking forward to a summer stay so we can take in more of the Helena atmosphere while walking through the history area of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for describing a perfect visit at the Great Northern Hotel! We take great pride in our staff and our hotel - we truly look forward to your next visit! Every season offers something to the visitors of Helena!

Marti Bara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
1.9 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 21 in Helena
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Price Range: $133 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing