We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little property near city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a high end Best Western with great amenities and location. It was within walking distance of my meetings, which I loved. Parking is a block away and uncovered, which could be a problem during cold winters. But in the summer it was just fine. It's near city center, so you can walk just about anywhere you need to. There's a little shopping center right next door as well.

This hotel has a convention/meetings component to it, which makes it ideal for groups. I checked out the meeting facilities and they are up to date with all the bells and whistles you need to conduct a large meeting. (I'm a speaker/trainer, so we always look at these things...)

My room was very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was perfect. WiFi worked well. Nice big desk to work on. Great little meeting hotel.

I have to agree with Gabrelle96 - it took me a while to find the place. I kept driving around and around looking for it. It isn't "really" on the street shown on the address. Well, the side of the hotel is, but the entrance is just a wee bit over there to your left around a little corner. It would be wonderful if the hotel could put better signage somewhere to get us to the front door.

Once you get there, though, the staff is very pleasant and helpful. People are just friendly in Helena, and that spills over to the Hotel as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you so much BT88 for taking the time to give your review. We are pleased to hear that your meeting went well and that you enjoyed our facility. I hope you have an opportunity to return to Helena to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

New build hotel 10 minutes walk from city centre. Very smart large room well equipped & decent bathroom. Shame about the view (from 305) of the roof of the ballroom. Can see in small things how Premier is above Plus standard - coffee mugs not paper cups, larger towels & more of them. Individual toiletries not dispensers. Bigger & better in most respects, including bigger price but still good value. Decent complimentary breakfast but limited choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for acknowledging our property! I hope you enjoy your time in Montana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stay at this hotel about 6 times a year. The staff is helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean, the location excellent, and the stay almost always peaceful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Helena!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy sunlight in your room, avoid the first floor rooms off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapmanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

The guest is the MOST important person of our day! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 for two nights. There is a serious lack of directional signs to this hotel but having found it we could not fault it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room we were assigned was on the ground floor. It was very spacious with sliding doors that opened out on to the pool. This was a great treat as I love a swim before breakfast. The breakfast was the usual american fare.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Although we found the hotel a little difficult to find, once we arrived we were very pleased. It's in a clean, revitalized part of town, bustling with outdoor restaurants. We did not hear the noise from our very nicely appointed room. Loved the very comfortable room, bed, pillows. Superb front desk staff. Clean laundry facilities. Breakfast was delicious and we were offered many healthy options. A+ top to bottom.

Room Tip: Parking is just across a small "circle" driveway by the hotel. 1st floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVMtMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Helena has so much to offer tucked in the down town area - we are pleased to learn of your great experience here at the Great Norther! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We loved our stay so much, we are planning a return trip. The train theme was a treat for my 11 year old and our room walked right out to the pool. The staff was friendly and helpful and the neighborhood the hotel is just perfect for the traveller. The room was very clean and the bed provided for a wonderful night's sleep. Breakfast was so good the next morning we skipped lunch! We also had dinner at the restaurant next door. The staff was equally attentive and they have a great menu for both adults and kids. Visting Helena - stay here!

Room Tip: Have kids that like to swim? Ask for the 1st floor rooms that overlook the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Just the experience we want each guest to have! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked in for one night, but immediately booked a second night upon arrival. The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the room and amenities perfect. We always look for cleanliness when we first enter our room, and this room completely met our requirements - the bed, the bathroom, and the floor along the baseboards. The full cooked hot breakfast was exactly that, served in a comfortable, good sized breakfast room. The location of the hotel is so nice, Quiet but with several restaurants in close proximity. Definitely first class!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sennhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor - we hope you will come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
1.9 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 21 in Helena
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Price Range: $132 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing