We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for business or pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for business or pleasure!”
Reviewed January 29, 2008

This hotel is nicely located and looks to be only a few years old. I told all my coworkers that I was staying at a Best Western and they all looked at me like I was nuts. I wonder if Best Western knows that have a bad rep. In any case this one rivaled Hiltons and the like. There was a nice entrance and it was connected to a nice steak restaurant. There was a free continental breakfast and the staff was friendly. The only drawback was my view to a wall. The room itself was very clean and it had all the ammenties that I needed - Microwave, nice TV, fridge and coffee maker. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The fireplace wasn't going in the lobby!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PcolaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    170
    35
    10
    13
See reviews for
274
174
34
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

Nice hotel on the main road in Helena. This is a newer property, and after living in Helena before it was built, probably the best bet for both a nice place to stay, with a fair price for what you get. Comfortable rooms and huge bathroom with nicer amenities. We will stay there again when in Helena.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wseattlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at the Geat Northern for two nights while on vacation in Montana. We had a corner deluxe room which was very spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The included breakfast was the typical continental breakfast available anywhere. They were having a problem with their toaster which unfortunately resulted in the smell of burning toast permeating the lobby area on both mornings we were there.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 122969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Mt
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Great hotel. My girlfriend, dog, and myself love the mountain biking around downtown Helena and this hotel has a great location to the biking. Very clean rooms, nice decor, and very nice beds. The pool isn't anything special, but the breakfast buffet is nice. I enjoyed the waffles and coffee before biking. Best hotel in downtown Helena without a doubt and I have tried them all. I found the steakhouse next door to be well below par for its price. You can do better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Absaroka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I booked this hotel for a one night stay in Helena after checking the reviews here first and was very pleased. The hotel has good character, rooms were nicely decorated and perfectly clean. We even had a fairly decent view of the courthouse and mountains from our room. Check in was quick and friendly. Bath & body works toiletries were a nice added touch.

It was a little bit difficult to find and parking is in a public lot a little way from the building, or behind the building if you can find a spot , so that is a little inconvenient, but not a huge deal and we were even travelling with a toddler. The rooms seemed fairly sound proof except for a rowdy and likely drunk couple we heard at about 3 am, but I suspect they were being significantly louder than most people would be.

I didn't go down for the continental breakfast as I ended up getting severe food poisoning from the local Mexican restaurant Emiliano's (avoid at all costs!). My husband said the breakfast wasn't great.

Overall though, this hotel was pretty decent in my opinion and we would stay there again if in Helena.

  • Liked — quality of rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — inconvenient parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Mumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

OK, so I tend to write superlative reviews. But the BW Great Northern Hotel at Helena deserves one.
We came down from a visit to our kids in Calgary and Edmonton, a long, hot full day's drive. Wildfires were eating into the hills to our East as we came into Helena along I-15. The air was filled with smoke. We were in no mood for a bad experience. We didn't get one.
First, it was easy to find the hotel. Second, we didn't have to fight street traffic to park in front and register. Third, they put us on the end of the 1st floor corridor, so we didn't have to shlep our things up stairs, etc. Fourth, we got a huge room with an exquisite king-size bed, a walk-in-shower, Internet that didn't require a call to Bangalore to connect, and a view towards the back parking lot to keep an eye on our car. (It matters.) Van's supermarket was only a short walk away for necessaries, and we only had to walk next door to the hotel for a superb innovative dinner at the Silver Star Restaurant.
If we get to having family reunions during the next few years, splicing together our clan from its Alberta, Colorado, and Texas haunts, this hotel and Helena are amongst our top choices.

  • Liked — Overall sense of ease. No hassles!
  • Disliked — Leaving after only 1 night.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I was in Helena one night and based on TA reviews, thought I should stay at Wingate. However, my local contact recomended Great Northern due to the location in town with access to shopping and restaurants. My room had good and bad features-good: size, granite BR counters, Bath and Body Works toiletries, clean, free reliable wireless internet access. Not good-an accent wall in the room was painted brick red which seemed to soak up all the light in the room. I had every light on but with their low energy bulbs, it was dim; the rainy weather did not help. The bed was just OK-the mattress pad was fluffy but the bedding was ordinary-one acrylic blanket , average pillows. The front desk staff were very nice and friendly and upon check in we were greeted with smiles and chocolate chip cookies. The continental breakfast in the morning was not impressive. I looked at it, grabbed an OJ and decided to pay to eat elsewhere. Had a great dinner at the Silver Star restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel. .

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarenOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#7 of 21 in Helena
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing