We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number 1 choice in Helena.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Number 1 choice in Helena.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here many times while visiting family in Helena. We have tried other hotels in Helena when the Great Northern has had no vacancies, but nothing can compare to the Great Northern.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    157
    30
    10
    10
See reviews for
245
159
32
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Super clean, spotless!. Traveling on a family vacation with children 12 and 10. Lots to do in the vicinity. Walk to restaurants, movie theatre and children's museum. Nice, safe location for children. Pool and fitness center were great! Breakfast was awesome. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best hotel I have stayed in for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almetzrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at the BW Helena Great Northern Hotel for a business conference in July. Besides having a hard time finding the hotel, it was a very delightful stay. Rooms were roomy and very well appointed. Hotel staff very helpful. The hotel is located in a new "town center" off of old town and didn't show up on my GPS, but after asking locals was able to find it. Nice area to walk with landscaping and historical plaques of the area and Lewis and Clark exploration.

Room Tip: Great Northern is the name of the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColorfulColorado_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thanks so much! We have been trying to get the GPS changed for a long time - it seems to take the guests north (to the movie theater) instead of south!

Hope you have an opportunity to come see us again when travelling to Helena! Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Marti Bara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nicest room I have ever stayed in. The Hotel is beautiful as are all the surroundings. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent amenities. I would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janalee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here for a conference. My wife joined me to make a vacation of it. We were delighted at the quality of this hotel. Our room was so quiet and comfortable that we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakejayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reveiw!

Marti Bara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is my second visit to this location and though I rarely stay at Best Western hotels, this is certainly a great experience. On arrival, they asked my room location preference, which I thought was great and they were able to accomodate my preference. I was up at 4:30 and strolled out to get some cream for my in room coffee and found breakfast already there! for us early risers this is a great service! My room is clean, large, nice amenities including microwave and fridge, large tub/shower with bath and body works amenities. The windows crank open for fresh air on the first floor, I assume the others do too. It is convenient to restaurants and has nice meeting facilities. If you are looking for a nice spot for an event or if you need a room before flying out, this is good spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JdiamondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Your review is greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Marti Bara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our room was very spacious and so welcoming. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for families. The carousel is a one minute walk and their is a kids museum there to. Also, a movie theater is 2 min. walking distance. We looked forward to getting back to the hotel to use the work-out room(it is very nice with lots of equipment), and to swim and use the jacuzzi(pool area is very nice as well). Oh, the breakfast is delicious to. We have stayed there 2 times and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: We loved our room overlooking the front entrance.There was lots to see;we watched a group of 1930...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBara, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Appreciate you taking the time to leave a response! Thank you!
Marti Bara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
1.9 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing