We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barrister Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just stayed one night, nevertheless we enjoyed it a lot. The Barrister is a historic mansion, which makes you feel like stepping into history. But don't be afraid, you get all today's comfort and amenities. Besides the beautifully decorated rooms guests can use all of the groundfloor, which includes a big living room, dining room and TV room. The hosts, a brother and his sister, are very friendly and helpful. You are even asked when you would like to have your breakfast. This definitely is a place to highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reiseneugierig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Historic Victorian in lovely area of town. Not as welcoming as one would hope of a B&
B but room is comfortable..no AC and if you leave the windows open there is road noise. Bed is comfotable but very high...short people will have to take a run and leap into it. Bathroms are obviously squezed into closet spaces and are tiny where they are ensuite. Breakfast is so so.
Stairs are steep and awkward, especially for luggage.

Room Tip: try for off road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Mixed review. Owners met us from the airport and 'nothing was too much trouble applies here' the difficulty is you feel that you are staying at Great Aunt Ednas. They redecorated the place with flowery chintz everywhere and the place is stuffed with antiques - and I do mean stuffed. You cant see any of them as there are too many to count. The bathrooms are not en-suite.
The room we were in did not have air con and after our first sleepless night in the heat, the owners refunded us the money for the remaining nights and we left - I cannot say fairer than that at all!. Also - not ideal to stay here if you dont have a car as it is a good 25-30min march to the Great Western Hotel downtown.

Room Tip: ask for a room with air con if it is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amymajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Barrister was the perfect meeting spot for our family from Canada to North Carolina. The geneology hounds were set up on the sun room and Lianne was the perfect hostess with coffee treats, and ice water. The front porch and side porch were marvelous for schmoozing over wine and an afternoon ice cream. The breakfasts by Nick were delicious AND best of all, our two dogs were welcomed too. We felt this was the best location in Helena. Oh yes, the 60th class reunion from Helena High was fun too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I can't add much to what others have said. An all around great place to stay.
Nick, Lianne and Jason went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. The decor and food at B & Bs are important, but it's the friendliness of the host that makes or breaks the experience, and these hosts are the best!

Room Tip: A previous review complained about lights from the Cathedral. Our room faced it, and the lights didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here while in town for a fiftieth high school reunion. It was perfect, and we wish we had booked the entire place. We used the fabulous porch as a home away from home to visit with old friends, and the owners couldn't have been more gracious in letting us take over the place.

Room Tip: We liked #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phaniefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Barrister is an authentic old Victorian home in the heart of downtown Helena, the landlord was born and raised in Helena, so a fountain of information about Helena. The rooms are well appointed, cozy, not big, upstairs. The bottom floor contains the common area, and dining, the wrap around porch is wonderful. It is situated right next to the fabulous Helena Cathedral. The breakfast is ok. Helena is beautiful and in the summer a great place to vacation.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank wendell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
#13 of 21 in Helena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrister Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrister Bed & Breakfast

Address: 416 N Ewing St, Helena, MT 59601-4038
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Helena
Price Range: $130 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barrister Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Montana's history while surrounding yourself with comfort and luxury in an 1874 Victorian mansion, where our specialty is warm Western hospitality. The 5 guest bedrooms are spacious, and carefully decorated to provide and intimate atmosphere, as well as warmth and comfort. All rooms have a queen bed, private baths, color T.V., DSL high speed internet connection and are appointed with antiques. The entire first floor of the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Barrister Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing