We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and difficult to get back into, somewhat disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Noisy and difficult to get back into, somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Sorry TripAdvisor, you let us down here - or maybe everything else here is worse!

This location is directly off of I-15 and US-12 - and you can hear every bit of the traffic. The street out front is one-way - the way you came in. It takes quite a bit of maneuvering to get back in.

We had reserved a king-sized, non-smoking room, with fridge and microwave, just as we had in Lewiston. Well, they gave away all the fridge and microwave rooms to long-term guests, as well as all the rooms facing away from traffic. So, we got the noisy, no fridge room. They did offer some small space in a the breakfast bar fridge, but there wasn't nearly enough room for our stuff and I was afraid of our stuff disappearing.

Front staff was nice enough.

Bed was firm, with choice of soft/firm pillows. Room was a little smaller than in Lewiston. Internet is via dataport.

One nice thing - they offered a "sack breakfast" since their breakfast bar doesn't open until 6:30 a.m., but they forgot one of the items I had ordered.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Noise, lack of fridge, hard to get back to property
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    98
    57
    16
    10
See reviews for
93
95
20
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed here three days beginning 7/3/07. There were some things we liked and some things we disliked about the hotel.

LIKED: The check-in clerk was friendly and helpful, our room was large & clean, the bed was comfortable, and the hotel appeared to be fairly new.

DISLIKED: It was arkward getting to the hotel because of the one way traffic pattern of the highway next to the hotel. You could only access the hotel from one direction. If going the other direction you had to cross over the interstate, find a place to turn around, and then return back over the interstate the opposite direction. The bathroom was very, very small. The A/C rattled loudly when the compressor kicked in. The breakfast was served from 6:30am - 9:30 am. However, there didn't appear to be anyone assigned re-stock items when they ran out. By 8:30 am there was no coffee, no cinamon buns, and nobody around to restock.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — The noise the A/C made.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elonole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

nice clean hotel. It's nice to go to a hotel chain and know that you'll get good quality. Always like the breakfast.
Shower head was really low, so be cautious if you are short.
OVer all good experience.

  • Liked — free breakfast
  • Disliked — shower head height. hotel awkward to access at times
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tripann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2006

The manager at Holiday Inn Express in Helena should be commended for her superior customer service! I had purchased a three-night gift certificate for family members coming to Helena, I requested the certificates by a certain day as I wasn't able to pick them up the day I purchased them. There was a delay in when I actually received the gift certificates but the manager met and exceeded my needs by offering not only the gift certificates but a full refund. I originally picked the Holiday Inn Express because they are a clean, friendly hotel , my husband and I have stayed there and my family that used the gift certificates also had a good stay and was impressed with the king suite that was given, they were very comfortable. I will recommend their facility to anyone I know. They represent AAA perfectly!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

Good clean hotel, reasonable prices, good breakfast. Location a little hard to get to, but otherwise OK. Good soundproofing; even though it was near a major road, the room was quiet. No pool.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank YorkResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 23, 2006

This hotel was exceptional, the customer service was the best I have received in a very long time. I travel about 75 nights per year and this hotel is the best. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast bar is excellent.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We were put on the 2nd floor but the hotel was very quiet. The continental breakfast was pretty good as were the warm cookies. It was clean and comfortable. The only problem was it was very overpriced. We paid the same for this hotel as we did for a full-service, year-old Hilton Garden Inn. I would stay again for about $20 less.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena
Address: 701 N Washington St, Helena, MT 59601-3259
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#9 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn & Suites is located in Helena, Queen City of the Rockies. This well known & charming community is nestled in the beautiful Helena Valley just below Mount Helena. The city is well known for it's historic gold mining history, mansions and is home to Carroll College. Helena is also centrally located in the state between Glacier & Yellowstone National Parks and is within 20 minutes of the Missouri River and Canyon Ferry Reservoir where you'll enjoy boating, fishing, camping & biking along with many other outdoor recreational activities. This quaint, comfortable and friendly hotel offers 74 spacious, non-smoking guest rooms and suites and is close to the State Capitol Complex, Montana Historical Society & Museum, and is within walking distance to restaurants, casinos, shopping and only minutes from the airport. Our cordial and professional staff look forward to being of service to you when in Helena on business or pleasure. Don't miss Helena's upcoming exciting events & festivals this spring & summer: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Helena
La Quinta Inn & Suites Helena Hotel Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
Helena Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing