We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”

Montana Blue Jewel Mine
Ranked #11 of 47 things to do in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This place is seasonally closed. We will be open May 2017. Check our website for updates!
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Looking for something interesting to do while we were in Helena, and we found it. This was our first time doing mining, but it is simple, fun and can be rewarding. Bruce was a big help and we probable needed more help than most beginners. We weren't expecting to find anything huge but we did find about a dozen sapphires and some other beautiful rocks. Do yourself a favor and read ALL of the reviews for ALL of the mining companies offering "fee" based mining. We did and I know we made the right choice. It was awesome. Thanks Bruce

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We had such a fun time mining for sapphires and other semi precious stones. Bruce, the owner, and Panama, his right hand man,showed us the ropes and gave us all kinds of interesting facts about sapphires. It was a great time and well worth the money! I highly recommend this for a fun filled day!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip and alot of fun.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We decided to end our trip by visiting the Blue Jewel Mine Saturday May 24th 2014 and had the best time ever. Bruce the owner was super nice he showed us every step we needed to know to start our first ever jewel hunt. My husband and I got hooked the granddaughter just enjoyed playing in the rocks, but most of all we had a lot of fun and brought home the jewels we found.
I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a new experience just be careful because it can be addicting. That is why I want to plan a trip for next year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank VWilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visited the real mine”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited the mine with family along on July 4th weekend. The owner, Bruce, is a great guy and very knowledgeable. It was a very hot day. The mine is mostly level ground near the Missouri river that has giant rows of gravel (over 30 feet tall extending for 100 yards) where the next row starts. The "roadway" is just areas between the gravel rows, but was drivable by a normal car. We did not find much, but had a good time anyway. It was neat to see his mining equipment. I would warn people that it is a mine and more of a work place rather than a tourist spot. It is a place without facilities, refreshments, food, lockers, other recreation, etc. Just a few picnic tables to sort the stones on. I suggest eating in the community of York at the bar/restaurant there (good burgers).

I have continued to get sapphire gravel from here and go through it at the house with great success.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's fun to find gem stones from a real mine”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The owner is very nice to teach us how to mine sapphire in real. we went this place not only for digging sapphire, but also for learning something and experience. it's a very hot day. we did all steps as instructed, each of us has a beautiful small stone when we left. really love this place and will be in good vacation memory.

Be sure to make an appointment before you go. the owner is working on his own when without visitors. It's not hard to find the place, just make a left turn to the up hill when you get to the GPS coordinates location. the address is a bit off with the GPS coordinates. there is no "Blue Jewel Mine" sign off the main road.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank WaterWaterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montana Blue Jewel Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing