We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Helena
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The staff were very accomodating and kind. They seemed to go out of their way to make people feel comfortable and were very helpful. We lucked out and had the entire pool area to ourselves, which was really a fun experience for our kids. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was a nice surprise, it included muffins, bagels, and pastries, waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy and fresh fruit. It was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

I am glad your family had such a great experience, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 420 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've stayed in many Helena motels and hotels over the years, but the NEW Comfort Suites on Custer Avenue in Helena (half a mile or so east of Montana Ave and close to SHOPKO and CVS) has a well-deserved five-star reputation among its guests. It is probably the BEST hotel experience I have had in the USA, which is quite a claim, to be sure.

Although I was concerned about staying some distance from downtown, in an area near the airport lacking in ambience, we were more than rewarded for our small inconvenience. The rooms are large, with attractive seating area (with nice firm cushions, not the usual cheap furniture), large digital TVs on the wall, and a huge working desk (with a pull-out smaller desk, suitable to a short person or someone needing placement for a keyboard), which was fit for a CEO, complete with ergonomic chair.

The opaque curtains in the room closed fully to produce the desired black-out conditions and the bed (a high-end Simmons) is extremely comfortable, managing to be both very firm but also soft on the top layer. The bedding was extremely clean and new in appearance; there were no fewer than five good feather pillows on the bed, together with a blanket and quilt that made it warm enough for a cold-sleeper. The room also had numerous LAMPS, unusual in these times. There was a large headboard over the bed, making it easy to sit up and read.

The bathroom was immaculate, with many extra towels and all necessary amenities. There was not a speck a dust anywhere in the unit, which looked as though it had never been used before. The carpet too was clean, the room quiet, being well-built with little sound transfer from other units either adjacent or above.

The breakfast in the dining room was the best I've seen in an American motel with free breakfast. Several kinds of muffins, a variety of rolls, bagels, and pastries, fixings for waffles, eggs and omelets, as well as biscuits with gravy, fresh fruit, and low fat yoghurts aplenty.

The owner appeared personally during breakfast to see how the guests were finding things (most unusual); there appears to be an excellent company culture in this hotel, with solicitous and genuinely niice customer service. I received a phone call at home on the evening of the day I left Helena offering to send to me through the post office a hair brush I had left behind. This shows the level of old-fashioned service which may be typical of this hotel but is certainly no longer typical of most American motels and even hotels across the country.

Please note that the room rate, with a nice AAA discount and a KING bed/suite, was about 25-40% less than comparable properties in Helena.

We missed the cookies and swimming in the pool, but I have heard that these amenities are also very nice.

If you want great Internet, this hotel has the best I've seen in my recent business travel. It didn't disconnect once or require my signing on a second time over three days of use. Nor did it prevent me from sending emails from my MAC email program (unusual). There was even an ethernet cable installed on the desk, for those without wireless access. Connecting required no password.

Enjoy this great hotel, which deserves to prosper. We were highly impressed.

Room Tip: I would avoid staying in a room facing the field out back to the North, as it is an area where the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destinationvaried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for such a great review, we will keep our reputation intact for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

No prior reservations were made, but we did get a room with 2 queen beds and a pull-out couch for a GREAT price! The pool is open till 7 am-11 pm!!! Breakfast included bacon, eggs and lots more and was delicious. It is located on the east side of I-15 , very close to the airport. The staff is very attentive and sent linen within minutes of calling the receptionist. The beds are very comfortable! All in all we had a wonderful experience thanks to the Comfort Suites!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmelkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Our goal is to provide you with the best at home experience you can have. It certainly sounds like we are accomplishing our goal. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 3 night jacuzzi suite for our anniversary stay Great service. Great staff great food will Definatley be back

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerandomdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

your kind words make us feel like we are doing the right thing. We will keep it up.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great rate, but more importantly it's just a great find. It's only 9 months old. The staff is so pleasant and very accomodating. They have cookies at 5pm and breakfast in the morning. Clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. They have suites with a lot of space. I was there for one week for work and it was just a really nice experience. The manager comes by at breakfast everyday to check on the service and how your stay is going. It's quality and an excellent find. I am happy i happened to drive by and it looked new!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnDPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Please come back and let me pour your coffee in the morning. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Like new rooms, very clean rooms with comfortable king size bed. While waiting for my wife to get up I ate way to much at the hot breakfast. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Great rate $112.00 Saturday night. Great Service from all the staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had driven from Calgary and after 6 hours, decided to stop in Helena for dinner just off the highway.. After having a nice meal at the Macaroni Grill and a bottle of wine, decided to stay the night. The hotel was in the same complex and we were surprised that the rooms were so ornately decorated and large. Additional seating was available, rather than the beds. The mattress was firm and the pillows were plump there was a .42" flat screen HDTV and high-speed Internet access. Also provided in the suite was a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. The shower had good water pressure.They also had a fully equipped fitness room and an iIndoor heated pool and whirlpool Breakfast in the morning had a large variety to chose from.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yelowdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, General Manager at Comfort Suites Helena, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thanks and tell all your friends in Calgary about us when they are travelling south for the winter, what a great place to rest for the long ride.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 22 in Helena
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
2.1 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Helena

Address: 3180 N Washington St, Helena, MT 59602-1231
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than two miles from the Helena Regional Airport, the Comfort Suites hotel of Helena, MT is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and retail stores. Helena’s newest hotel, Comfort Suites is also 3.5 miles from downtown Helena and the Montana Historical Society Museum. Other attractions close to this Montana hotel include: •Gates of the Mountains •Great Northern Carousel •Grandstreet Theatre •Holter Museum •Original Governor’s Mansion •Spokane Bar Sapphire Mine. You’ll enjoy the indoor heated pool, hot tub and exercise room at this Helena hotel. Other amenities include: •Free hot breakfast •Free high-speed wireless Internet •Free Airport shuttle service •Free local calls All rooms are nicely appointed with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 42-inch flat screen TVs, iron, ironing board, sofa sleeper, and pillow-top mattresses. Business travelers will appreciate the business center with access to copy and fax services as well as 900 square feet of meeting space. This is a non-smoking hotel. Free ample truck and bus parking is available. Designed for business and leisure travelers, the Comfort Suites hotel of Helena will exceed your expectation when visiting this area of Montana. Make a reservation today and enjoy all we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing