We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Helena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Helena
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am a consultant and travel all over the US and stay in many hotels. By far the Residence Inn in Helena has the best customer service oriented staff that I have come across in all of my travels. From Cindee the GM, to Suzanne th FO Mgr and Rachel, Samanatha and Marcel at the front desk they take care of everything. Plus a free shuttle to take you just about anywhere within Helena you want to go and an excellent and courteous cooking and cleaning staff, what more could you want in a hotel. I highly recommend Resindence Inn by Mariott anytime you are in Helena MT. I have stayed here at this hotel since the end of March almost every week and they really have made it feel like a home away from home

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent however the 3rd floor offers the best view of the mountains.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly with only taking towels and such when not hung up.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney J, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Gary, thank you for your thoughtful and genuine review. We appreciate your opinion and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us! We enjoyed getting to know you! Our mission is to be the "cleanest and friendliest hotel in Helena" and we are happy to hear that we lived up to that during your extended stay. Thank you for personally naming the staff members that made your stay so memorable. We are glad that you enjoyed the upscale feel and the free shuttle service! We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future! Safe travels, Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    35
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
47
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

First stay here for my wife n I. Monday July 14/14.
what really impresses you is the first impression as you walk up from the parking lot.
A great our door sitting area to relax with a decent sized fire place. Plenty of chairs.
Check in was a breeze everything ready when we arrived.
Room was a king bed. Excellently appointed with a well serviced full mini kitchen.
Room was comfortable and a decent size for a couple.
Another feature, is hotel is just east of the Costco.
Would recommend for any traveller, especially for an extended stay.
Oh almost forgot. Breakfast bar certainly above average. RECOMMEND the potato pancakes yumm

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney J, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Jim R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our large guest rooms. We are also happy that you were able to take advantage of our outdoor patio area with a lovely fireplace. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast (the potato pancakes are my favorite!). We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Let's face it, traveling is exhausting …. the getting there and the getting back I should say. The Marriott In Helena was so comfortable …. the coffee was excellent and it was nice and quiet! I slept like a Baby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney J, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Tess M.,
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that we could provide you with a great night's rest during your travels! We are also happy that you enjoyed our freshly brewed coffee. It's great in the morning and when you need that little jolt during the day!

Thanks for your business. We hope to see you the next time you find yourself in Helena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Left the Wingate in Helena because of internet issues and came here.
Good call on my part!
Very nice accommodations! In addition the breakfast was very good for the free offerings at chain motel/hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney J, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Internet allowed you to do your work. We are also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and the other great offerings at our hotel. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
749 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had taken a room with kitchen, a fully equipped kitchen. The whole atmosphere in the hotel did not seem to be a hotel at all. It was like home and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. After a long days driving and sight seeing on the way, it was great to stay in this place and cook and enjoy the home food.
The bed room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The toilets were clean and neat.
There was not enough pots and pans and ladles and scissors.
The staff gave us the extra towels, blankets and pillows. Very friendly and cordial staff.
Breakfast was great and we enjoyed our breakfast.
It was worth our stay. Would visit again sometime.

Room Tip: The suites are extremely comfortable and enjoyable.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the way the hotel is working towards environmentally friendly practices. Regarding the reuse of towels and keeping the rooms clean is a real good practice.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loki_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney J, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review of our property! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as the extra space and the luxury of our all suite hotel! We are also glad that you were able to take a break from eating out and enjoy the fully equipped kitchens in each of our suites. We enjoyed having you and we are happy that we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We hope to see you during your next visit to Helena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

While the facility seems newly renovated, the front desk agent clearly has not heard of "service recovery". During our stay, the shower and sink water was either extremely hot or icy cold. I complained to the front desk agent at checkout, and she didn't apologize, instead she simply said "I'll have the maintenance to take a look later". Seriously?! What good does it do to me, as I had already checked out. I paid almost $200, and I couldn't even enjoy a comfortable shower? I understand that it was not her fault that the hot water wasn't consistent, but a sincere apology would have made my experience much better. Plus, they don't serve any alcohol for the social hour. I have stayed at numerous residence inns, and they always have complementary beer and wine.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlielsyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenasabatini, Owner at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
As a frequent traveler myself, I can understand your expectation of a comfortable shower. I am sorry you were unable to find the right dial setting. I've been at 3 hotels this week and each worked a little differently which can be confusing! I also wish we were able to provide alcoholic beverages at our evening social, but as is the case at other Residence Inn's where local laws prohibit it, we have to comply with those restrictions. In reviewing this incident with my staff, I understand you were also frustrated at check in with us not being able to change your reservation to an employee friends and family discount. As you are probably aware, this benefit is limited to times the hotel is not at a high occupancy. If future travels bring you back to Helena, please call us in advance and we will hope we can accommodate you for that stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for my daughter's tenth birthday, at her request. The pool area is great for kids. There is a large pool that goes to five feet, plus a shallow kiddie pool with a fountain in the middle for little ones. There's also a hot tub. A big hit with the kids.

The rooms are very clean and spacious, and it's so nice to have a kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher for food storage and preparation. The bedroom has either a king bed or two queens, plus an additional foldout couch in the living area for extra guests. These suites have all the comforts of home.

The staff is friendly and accommodating and the breakfast is very good. There's a wide choice of food, including waffles, french toast, scrambled eggs, potatoes, muffins, cereal, juices and coffee.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the second or third floor facing north, there's a mountain view. If you wan...
See more room tips
Green Features: I noticed when I saw the housekeeping cart that they recycle plastic water bottles instead of throwing them away.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney J, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn Helena, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property! We are happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed her 10th birthday here! We are happy that the pool area provided entertainment for the birthday group and that the large rooms with kitchens were accommodating! We are glad that you and the group enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, as well! We hope that we will see you again soon and that we may have the pleasure of hosting her 11th birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
2.0 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Helena

Property: Residence Inn Helena
Address: 2500 E Custer Ave, Helena, MT 59602-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#3 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of the Helena Regional Airport, the Residence Inn by Marriott is the place in Helena where out of town guests will feel at home. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Our lobby is "comfortably upscale" and is the place to sit around the fireplace, play games with the family, or watch an event on the big screen television. This is where we also serve our complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily and the evening mix Monday-Wednesday nights. An evening social gathering where we offer a light snack. Guests can stretch out and unwind in the 4,300 sq. ft. Indoor Aquatic Center, at the Fitness Facility, or the Outdoor Deck which has a BBQ grill for guest use. Spacious suites with stunning mountain views offer a fully equipped kitchen, living room, master bedroom, and bath. We'll make sure you thrive during your stay at the Helena Residence Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Helena Hotel Helena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing