We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Decor, Countless Amenities, Great Rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Helena
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy Decor, Countless Amenities, Great Rate!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Though our stray was brief, I cannot say enough about this gorgeous hotel. Thoughtful touches abound, from locally-sourced artwork in the hallways and guest rooms, to one of the most welcoming lobbies I've seen in Montana. The hotel was clearly designed for the long-term-stay business traveler, but was equally appreciated by our party, staying just 1 night. The room is cozy, warm, tastefully designed, and feels much more like an apartment than a hotel room. The Paul Mitchell hair care products were a nice touch in the bath. Our only disappointment - noisy neighbors (not the hotels' fault!) and no ear plugs available from the front desk (we forgot ours!).
This is my new favorite Helena hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone! Great value at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSmith228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    35
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
48
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is a cookie cutter residence Inn, but it is clean, new and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The two downsides are 1) location. there is nothing within walking distance so you will either need to use the shuttle or have a car to do/eat anything. On the bright side it is very close to the airport! 2) It can be noisy. there appear to be a number of 'early morning' contractors staying at this property so as early as 3/4 AM the water is running and doors are opening/closing.
The staff is great. they make you feel at home. coffee is available 24/7 and there are light snacks/dinner as well as breakfast each day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 10 days at this Residence Inn. It was the first time we had visited the area and also the first time we had reserved a family suite. It was great! Friendly staff and beautiful location. Only nice things to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: This type of hotel attracts families with small children. To avoid the pitter patter of little feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent the night at the Helena Residence Inn just before Christmas this year. We brought our 23 month old and 7 week old daughters. The room was wonderful! The television swung around to face tv or bed and having a full small kitchen was very helpful (we had milk with us etc). Very comfortable for all of us. Pool is excellent, the toddler area was perfect for our daughter to splash around and play. Lobby has a nice assortment of building blocks/crayons/games so that kids can be entertained. Breakfast was excellent as well - good variety of food and they brought crayons and paper out for our daughter - which meant we got to drink our coffee in peace. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: It is a fairly new hotel - all the rooms are probably nice. We had a king suite -- perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
525 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel and the stay was flawless. From the first evening of check in with Ashley at the front desk. To the nightly wake up call requests, christie, during my entire trip, night shift. The staff executed flawlessly and I wanted to recognize the few names I came across. This hotel staff is the best I have seen all year. I travel over 40% a year, so I have some experience here. Stephanie, the day manager?, settled an issue for two of our team employees. The issue was availability and room rate for a return trip in February. Stephanie was able to make changes and keep our team together for our return trip. Other great employees of this hotel were the housekeeping and breakfast staff, didn't get their names. Lastly, THe owner of the establishment walked the dining area one evening during the Social and explained her mission to us was simple in our conversation. "Clean and friendliest Hotel" in Helena. After hearing that, and my recent stay, I will say "Mission Accomplished". The hotel and grounds are newer, hotel built around 2 years ago, and everything worked well. It was quiet and I got great sleep. Can't say enough good things, and wouldn't even try to stay somewhere else. NO Contest. Thanks for reading and a video on the YouTube channel.


Pros:

- Staff, Staff, Staff

- Location, Location, Location
- Everything!



Cons:

- I couldn't find any!


RetiredArmyRANGER

Marriott Platinum Rewards Member

Room Tip: Stay near the stairs and top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHDSM-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The property and room were nice. We booked our stay online thru hotels.com and paid at that time. Upon arrival at the hotel we informed the girl at the front desk that we had reservations and she asked for the card I used online to purchase the room. A couple of days later while checking my bank account online, i realized that they charged us a second time for the stay when we checked in. It took over a week for them to refund the overcharge. Not to mention the feeling created by the mgmt like we were trying to scam them. We wont be staying here anymore because of mgmt style alone. The property was nice but overpriced. We will continue to stay at Comfort Suites down the street when in need of lodging in Helena.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolderdash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Residence Inn Helena and we were pleased with the accommodations! But if you are driving in, especially in the winter.. be advised that the entrance to the hotel is not very well lit.The room was clean, we enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast in the morning was exactly what we needed before we took off out on the road again! The issue we had related to customer service. We definitely have mixed reviews! The air conditioner alarm started going off in our room at 5am. We called front desk, the woman came up to the room and did not offer any other assistance than that the maintenance would be able to take a look at it in an hour and a half or so. We grew frustrated (our toddler and his dad were having trouble getting back to sleep) with the constant loud chirping and I called the front desk again to see if we could change rooms. She gave us another room, wasn't very apologetic, and oddly enough when we went downstairs for breakfast at 9am I actually heard the maintenance knocking on our old room door. So we were kind of bothered that would would have waited until 9am if we hadn't of called back and asked if we could get another room. My visit was totally redeemed by a woman who was working the breakfast area. I never got her name but she had a long braid in her hair, she was AMAZING. Went and got our son crayons and a sheet to draw on as well as a toy. She was just extremely friendly and genuine, totally turned around how we felt about the hotel and our stay in Helena.

Room Tip: Avoid even numbered rooms around 210, there are issues with conditioner alarms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
2.0 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Helena

Property: Residence Inn Helena
Address: 2500 E Custer Ave, Helena, MT 59602-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#3 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of the Helena Regional Airport, the Residence Inn by Marriott is the place in Helena where out of town guests will feel at home. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Our lobby is "comfortably upscale" and is the place to sit around the fireplace, play games with the family, or watch an event on the big screen television. This is where we also serve our complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily and the evening mix Monday-Wednesday nights. An evening social gathering where we offer a light snack. Guests can stretch out and unwind in the 4,300 sq. ft. Indoor Aquatic Center, at the Fitness Facility, or the Outdoor Deck which has a BBQ grill for guest use. Spacious suites with stunning mountain views offer a fully equipped kitchen, living room, master bedroom, and bath. We'll make sure you thrive during your stay at the Helena Residence Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Helena Hotel Helena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing