We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delicious choices”

Big Dipper Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 10 Quick Bites in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed November 6, 2018

There is always something new and delicious at The Big Dipper. Fun atmosphere and friendly staff. The employees clearly enjoy their job.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 203 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

It's worth dying for - which I may as I'm a diabetic. Damn! Great ice cream, wonderful service. I may travel the 2.000 miles from Florida just to visit the Big Dipper.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Joe_Zeigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Big Dipper Ice Cream has three locations in Montana--Helena, Billings and Missoula. It ought to have a location in Chicago. Located at 58 North Last Chance Gulch, the Helena location was established in 1995 and is open daily from 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. Trust me, you can't get enough of this stuff...cones, sundaes, floats, shakes, pints, quarts, toppings. We stopped for a refreshing break while touring Last Chance Gulch, Helena's premier shopping, dining and entertainment area. Big Dipper Ice Cream has 18 flavors, some fancily named, including vanilla, chocolate, strawberry, coconut, huckleberry, mocha chip, white mint Oreo, black licorice, El Salvador coffee, green tea, Mexican chocolate, maple walnut, bubblegum and salted caramel. And there are 12 toppings, including butterscotch, strawberries, marshmallow, hot fudge, Oreo's chocolate chips, Heath, Reese's, M&M's, chocolate syrup, mixed nuts and rainbow/chocolate sprinkles. Don't forget the sorbet, lemon or tangerine. We enjoyed mocha dip and coconut cones, then took a pint of strawberry back to the hotel. You never can get enough of a good thing.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

The Big Dipper is THE place to go for ice cream in Helena. Like atez on the historic walking mall on Last Chance Gulch, they have a variety of flavors and specialities. The cocoa nuts is my favorite - coconut ice cream in a waffle cone dipped in chocolate then rolled in chopped nuts.

Friends called me when they were passing through town and asked where a good place to get ice cream was, so I met them here. Nobody is disappointed when they try the Big Dipper.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

wonderful atmosphere, delicious ice cream! My kids got different flavors and shared with each other. What a great day.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Donnel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Dipper Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Big Dipper Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing