We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Garden

Jade Garden
Ranked #58 of 161 Restaurants in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Why?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Why is this place still open? I don't understand why this place is busy. The food is bland, poorly prepared, and just gross. The only time to go there is at noon during the week when you can get the lunch deal. If you're looking for a good meal, don't go here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineAH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    13
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bland and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Not good, There are better Chinese places in Helena, I don't know why this place is so popular. Maybe people in Helena have just never had good american Chinese food?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanaBanana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Forgot How Good It Was!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We decided that Chinese food sounded good and ordered takeout from Jade Garden since it was also a birthday meal. I haven't eaten here in over 5 years so I had forgotten how good the food was. After ordering take out and bringing it home we decided it was some of the best Chinese food we have ever eaten. We both decided to order combo plates since it came with the almond chicken which was fried just right. The kung pao was just the right amount of spicy and was very tasty. The Vegetable Shrimp was also very good. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for a great meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Montana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Outstanding - great value, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'm narrow minded, I always order one thing - King Pao Chicken. It's awesome. Great veggies, tasty chicken, great tasty hot sauce, generous postions with fried rice, too. Clean quiet restaurant, good service, reasonable prices. You won't be sorry for eating here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The sever my friend and I had was extremely nice and friendly.

The food was such a let down. First of all, the portions you get for dinner did not match the large portions I received for take out a while back. The take out was amazing! When we went in a couple of weeks ago my friend and I ordered the combo meal. I ordered orange chicken and some vegtible mix with chicken. The orange chicken was fried hard, I cannot belive the cook would serve that. It was obviously well over done. It ruined the meal. The chicken breading should be a little soft. The next chicken dish had maybe seven peices of small thinly cut chicken and it was very soupy. I think if the House of Wong's opened back up the owners of the Jade Garden would start caring again. Lets get it together and start serving quality meals consistently.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jade Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing