We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence in Bitteroot Valley”
Review of Farm Table Restaurant - CLOSED

Farm Table Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: On the web as Sleeping Child Farms and Farm Table Restaurant. We have eaten there a number of times and it has outstanding cooking using natural ingrdients from their farm farm but it is not vegetarian.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
346 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellence in Bitteroot Valley”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our dear friends made sure we dined at the Farm Table last night. It was a most pleasant surprise in the middle of a farm. The grow most everything there. The soup and salad are quite good. But the main dishes, including all of the die dishes are superb. I had the duck l'orange, done perfectly. The others had the seafood pasta, the salmon, and the roast pork, all quite well prepared and enjoyable. Add a nice wine list, and a couple of great desserts. As I said above, in Bitteroot Valley? In Hamilton, Montana? YES, excellent!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Setting Outshines the Cuisine”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed driving out to the property, well worth the drive from Hamilton. The setting is pretty idyllic, all the trappings of the Good Life on the Farm scene.
On a nice sunny day most folks opt to eat on the sunny deck overlooking the fields, a very pleasant prospect.
We were not wowed by the offerings. They were good but not exceptional. The service was pleasant but oh, so slow. We waited over an hour for our entrees. Luckily they bring a cup of soup and a salad to tie you over for this long wait. We would give them another try in the future because we realize not all dining experiences can be exceptional everytime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marialulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Who could ask for anything more”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

What can we say besides the view, presentation, staff and food are exceptional. One of the best meals we have ever experienced. Anywhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foggy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb dining in Western MT”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Over the 45 years I have been a road warrior, I have dined at and recommended to friends a lot good places to eat.

In this case, the old bromide that “less is more” is the best way to describe the Farm Table Restaurant.

Some restaurants are very good. Some outstanding. But only a tiny number are absolutely perfect…by my standards. The Farm Table Restaurant near Hamilton, MT is only one of six that I have ever described as “absolutely perfect.”

Hamilton is not on a major, heavily traveled Interstate for tourists driving through the state, but it is at the top end of travel routes for fishermen. Hamilton was a business destination for us, and Trip Advisor comments led us to Farm Table.

Short wine list, but all excellent vintages. I also ordered a single malted Scotch. They had one, and it is at the top end of Scotch brands.

Dinner entrée offerings are all on one side of an 8½ X11 sheet. There is adequate variety (seafood, poultry, etc.), but not a dozen of each. Selections are very moderately priced (for dining of this quality). On the night we were there, prices for meals was in the mid $20’s. But, that included soup (sample size), big salad, the entrée, an amazing selection of fresh vegetables and scones baked by an Irish chef who knows how to do them correctly. Nothing is dumped out of a can or thawed. We were there in late spring/early summer, but in the heart of summer, guests can see the gardens from their tables.

They are not equipped to seat 200 at one time, but small groups and couples get superb service.

They are a total of about 10 miles south of town on paved country roads. Google correctly led us until their last instruction…where they sent us on a dirt farm road. Ignore that instruction, keep driving and the place is about a mile down the road.

Like many family operated restaurants, the owner (Darla) is also a server. Her brother, Cory, worked with us. Annette is the chef whose credentials are much more than impressive. If she should choose to leave the beauty of Western Montana and go back to work in an upper tier hotel in a major city, she could have a job in less than 24 hours.

Servers often say, “I hope you saved some space for dessert.” In this case, do. Their signature carrot cake (that I read about so often on trip advisor) is worth saving a little space for at the end of the meal. If you’re not a carrot cake fan, take a look at the day’s offerings at the bottom of the page.

Excellent food, attentive service, beautiful views of the mountains. Well worth our short drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

You really must know your way around to find this place! BUT IT IS SOOOOO WORTH IT! Haute cuisine collides with small town flare. The day's menu is presented on a blackboard and is based on the freshest ingredients available to the chef that day. The wine selection was a very pleasant surprise. I ordered the Francis Ford Coppola "Votre Sante" 2010 and it was perfect with my fresh fish of the day. The appetizers, salads and all other accoutrements, were wonderfully prepared and presented. We were there on a chilly evening, however there is a nice outdoor patio area for those warmer days and nights. Everything is FARM FRESH and absolutely delicious! Please take the time to find this place, you will want to go back for more! I know I will! lol

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Table Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing