We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A Favorite For Tourists

We love to come to their Christmas Open House. It is an opportunity to view what life must have... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Judyhwright
,
Missoula, Montana
Knowledgeable Tour Guides

This a worthwhile tour to experience if you're ever visiting the Bitterroot Valley. Our tour guide... read more

Reviewed September 26, 2018
Fred S
,
Kelowna, Canada
Read all 103 reviews
  
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
66
26
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
26
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bitterroot valley great tour tour guide grounds are beautiful turn of the century local history marble fireplaces hamilton area local group gift shop step back in time great stories period furniture daly home life marcus
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We love to come to their Christmas Open House. It is an opportunity to view what life must have been like in that era. Glad we have the many benefits we have now.

Very well maintained and staffed. You will find knowledgeable tour guides and fun articles to buy in the gift shop.

Enjoy a part of Montana's history.

Judy Helm Wright--Author/Blogger/Intuitive Wise Woman

Thank Judyhwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

This a worthwhile tour to experience if you're ever visiting the Bitterroot Valley. Our tour guide claimed to have 17 years experience at the Daly Mansion and it was clear he knew a lot about the history of not only house and its furnishings but the Daly family, as well. The stories we heard about the mansion and the family are fascinating.

Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

If you are in Hamilton, you have to visit Daly Mansion. Not only has it been lovingly preserved by the community, but the tour guides are exceptional. Our guide---Donald---seemed to know every minute detail about the family and the period pieces within the mansion. He brought the family alive for us and we cannot say enough positive things about our experience. Even the foundation supporting the mansion has gone to the painstaking efforts of restoring the home with wallpapers and carpets which replicate the originals. This was a highlight to our trip of southern Montana.

Thank Hungrycat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Gave a glimpse into how life was for the rich, back in the day. Everything is preserved as it was back at the turn of the century. If you like history, it's for you.

Thank willie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

The mansion and grounds are beautiful. The tour guide, an older gentleman, made the tour great. He was full of stories and interesting tidbits about the family and furniture. This tour kept my 10 year old sons interest. I recommend a tour to anyone near Hamilton.

Thank momto2boys07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Knowledgable staff in period outfit with wonderful stories about the local history. The introductory video although very educational, is dated and really could use some updates along with the TV.

Thank Webeetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Built in 1896 by Copper Magnate Marcus Daly, it was remodeled by his widow Margaret in 1910 to look like it does today. It was boarded up in 1941 after Margaret died and was final reopened to the public in 1987. The admission fees are minimal and the guided tour is well worth it. It is beautifully maintained thru out. definitely a sight to see in Hamilton. A lot of the furniture is original. There is a lot of parking available and the Mansion is frequently used for weddings, receptions and the like.

Thank Levon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Looks like Tara in the Montana grasslands but BETTER. Outstanding restoration job done out of love by local group. The place holds a wealth of beautiful things and fascinting history and our guide was a perfect companion in its exploration. Great stories of the people, fascinating history of the place and the times it came from. Small entrance fee. Leave an extra donation to support the needed opwrating funds. We did.

Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

I showed up shortly after 2 and knew I had missed the start of the tour. As I entered the gift shop I was warmly greeted by Phil and Darlene. To my surprise Darlene was quick to say yes and give me a tour. What a tour with Darlene’s knowledge, sense of humor and warm persona this tour was best ever! The instant kinder-ship with Darlene and Phil was a huge bonus. Then when I read Executive Director on her name tag I understood why she had that title. She is truly a hands on leader by example. All for a mere $10 Bucks. (Some cheesecake FA pics for Phil)

Thank 58debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The Mansion is wonderful so much history.. Beautiful a lot of orginal pieces, completely restored and they are ADA accessible.

Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews