We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Adequate but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Great Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Great Falls
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Adequate but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had no choice but to stay at Motel 6 as everything was very expensive. The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was very small. There was a strange smoky smell all night that kept me awake. I was informed, later that it was not cigarette smell but from the fires in the forest.
The lady at the reception was friendly and helpful and gave us some tea, coffee and coffee maker as soon as we mentioned that we like to drink lots of tea because we are English.
You can use the facilities at the sister hotel next door (Best Western) but there were no changing facilities. There was a swimming pool, sauna and hot tub and also a computer that you could use at the Best Western.
The very high speed internet that was advertised was out of action.
We felt that the motel was fine for one night stay but over priced, especially as breakfast was not provided.
We were offered $2 voucher towards a breakfast at the Best Western. We had a three egg cheesy omlette with hash brown and toast, which was highly recommended and tasty (with the $2 it worked out at $5) . The breakfast kept us going all day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
19
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PNW
Level Contributor
143 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Nice motel, easy location, could have been cleaned better. It was very expensive for a Motel 6 and you can get a better room in the area for less. Like the digital easy to use ac/heat unit. Restaurant next to motel has decent food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is very nice for a Motel 6. It is only a few years old and in very good shape.

Room Tip: There are no restaurants in the motel, but there are several in the vacinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richarda855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

First of all, I am applying the rating of Excellent because the property met our expectations and the rating is deserved. I tire quickly of individuals who write negative reviews when the problem, in most instances, is derived from their uniformed expectations.

We needed:
A place to sleep after arriving late in the evening and needing to depart at 5 AM for the airport
A place to park our car

We got both. I see no need to pay for a room with an abundance of ammenities our schedule will not permit us to enjoy. Our room was at least 25% less than the cost of most other rooms in town and for that, we were able to leave our vehicle parked in their lot for 10 days and utilize their complementary (and efficient) airport shuttle service.

Our reservation was accurate, our check-in and out and parking was handled efficiently, and our room was clean. The wake-up call was prompt and the shuttle driver (both to and from) the airport was helpful and friendly. Upon our return the keys to our vehicle were returned without delay and our car was safe in the place we had left it.

The only negative we encountered was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby and hallway areas the night we stayed; however, our room was not affected by the odour. In our province, smoking in public buildings is not permitted and we are non-smokers so we may be more sensitive than others, but since I did not sleep in the lobby nor loiter in the hallway, I cannot say the smell took anything away from the quality of our stay. This is simply information provided as part of my review.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ecormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We crashed here one night after a long day of driving, and this property provided what we needed, albeit at a bit higher price than we hoped for, especially for how simple the rooms were.
As noted by another reviewer, it is less costly than most of the nearby properties.

Room was clean, but bathroom was small, especially shower. Made me glad I am not a big person!

The staff were helpful in pointing us towards a hot meal nearby, and it was a quiet location, but just off the highway, which was nice.

You have to drive through what seems like one big parking lot (which is also used by other businesses - including another hotel) so I can see why it might be a bit confusing to arrive there, but at night it is well lit, so was not a problem for us to find.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from stairwell, noise echoes a lot near here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stargirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
415 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are retired and have been traveling the US for two months staying at different motels every night. If you are looking for just a bed and bath, this motel will do. Room was clean, halls and lobby clean. Bed comfortable, A/C unit quiet and worked well. Here is what this motel does not offer: no coffee in room, no micro (fridge yes), no iron, no toiletries, no clock, and no morning breakfast in lobby. Again it was acceptable for a bed and bath, but a little over priced for what you don't get.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Falls hotels

Colfax, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This motel is owned as a franchise, not by the Motel 6 company. Because I am very allergic to cigarette smoke, I inquired before I rented the room if I could get a non-smoking room that would not have a smoke problem. I was given a room on the top (2nd floor) at the end of a wing that was as far as could be gotten from rooms where smoking is allowed. I stayed there a number of nights with good rest, but during my second to last night, I awakened at 4:00 AM and smelled smoke in my room. Getting up, I found that it was coming in under the door from the hallway. I took a towel and wedged it against that opening, and called the front desk to report it. The clerk said that nothing could be done at that time. I went back to bed and tried to sleep, but could not. I developed a sinus headache. Getting up again to check, I discovered smoke was still seeping in through between the door and the frame. In fact, when darkening the room, one could see light from the hall penetrate into the room. Getting up to do some work in the room, still exposed to the smoke, was not a good option, so I left and started what turned out to be a very weary day. I did get back after lunch and was able to take a short nap, so I could still do something in the late afternoon and evening. I did report this to the morning clerk, and requested the possibility of at least a partial refund, but to date I have not heard from them. I am beginning to think that these large motel structures, unless they are strictly and entirely non-smoking and enforced, that it will not be possible for them to guarantee no exposure to smoke, due to the shared hallway and ventilation systems (such as the bathroom). Apparently the smoke became an issue when a number of smokers stayed that particular night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retirednonsmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.0 mi away
Greystone Inn
Greystone Inn
#15 of 29 in Great Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Great Falls Inn by Riversage
Great Falls Inn by Riversage
#11 of 29 in Great Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Great Falls
1.8 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Great Falls
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Great Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Great Falls
#5 of 29 in Great Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Great Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Great Falls

Property: Motel 6 Great Falls
Address: 2 Treasure State Dr, Great Falls, MT 59404-3448
Location: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Great Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Great Falls Mt. is located near shopping and dining. Visit Childrens Museum of Montana, Rimrock Trailways, ULM Push Run Buffalo Jump and CM Russell Museum. Utilize our coin laundry facility and enjoy free WIFI available in all modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Great Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Great Falls Hotel Great Falls
Motel Six Great Falls
Great Falls Motel Six
Great Falls Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing