We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average diner with a 1950's feel”

Tracy's Family Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 184 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Average diner with a 1950's feel”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Title says it all really -rather liked the look of the place, and the service was characterful, but the food was pretty average including as it did a simply huge mound of hash-browns with no identifiable flavour at all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They don't serve tourists”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What really frosts me is when a service establishment makes no attempt at service. This is a downtown diner, older place, jukeboxes at the booths. Can't tell you if the food is any good because we never had a chance to order. Perhaps the waitress was only interested in serving her regulars (we obviously looked like tourists), because she talked to the people at the counter, refilled catsup bottles and did everything else except take our order. It was a Sunday morning, and the place was not the least bit busy. In 20 minutes, all we were able to get was coffee, which we paid for and left.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Saw the reviews and tried it out for supper. reasonable prices and good comfort food. a reminder of diners o the past. Plesant staff and prompt service. Restroom was clean too!! would recomend for an inexpensive wholesome meal. Would go again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unckebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Oldie but a Goodie”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Located in the historic downtaown district this place is out fo the 50's. Some of the tables have juke box to play songs from all era's. Try the potato skins as a side with some tater sauce.

The food was pure comfort food and was very good. Our waitress was great considering she was the only one working and had to handle the whole restaurant. Worth a trip when downtown. Great prices too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gibber1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A cool place - worth a visit!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We decided to try something a little different for a first lunch in Great Falls. This little place is downtown and there didn't seem to be any designated parking for guests but there was lots of on street metered parking. The decor really is from the 50s and it's really neat. There are old style juke boxes on all the tables that you can hear a couple of songs on for a 25 cents! Yes, they actually worked! At least the one at our table did. We seemed to wait awhile before we were approached by the waitress which was slightly annoying. It would have been a couple more minutes and we probably would have left. I had a root beer float which had tonns of ice cream and my friend had a chocolate milkshake which she said was one of the best she had ever had. And both were CHEAP!!! We both had burgers which you could tell were homemade and delicious. My friend didn't care for her fries much as they were just shoestring out of a bag, however, my onion rings were really great! So, choose the onion rings!!!! All in all, a good and CHEAP place to eat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrips2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tracy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tracy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing