We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellowstone River Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Glendive
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This inn is very noisy, from outside and adjacent rooms. Rooms are clean, but a lot of overall maintenance is needed. The beds are comfortable but the furniture is shabby and needs some upgrading. The staff was decent, the price reasonable. All in all an average, not outstanding place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
25
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roundup, Montana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed one night. Older facility that is showing age. We knew this so was not surprised. Only needed a clean room and a bed. YRI met both of these. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We planned to stop a Glendive on our trip across Montana as we headed home to Wash. DC from Yellowstone. Never having been to Montana or North Dakota, (I now have been to 49 states) I assumed that in these sparsely populated areas with near empty highways that hotel availability would not be a concern. I was completely wrong. The Days Inn and Comfort Inn were sold out the day before our arrival and I just managed to reserve a room at the Yellowstone Inn the morning before our evening arrival. Another reviewer mentioned inflated prices because of th oil boom so I assume that accounts for the full houses as well.

As for the hotel, it is right off the interstate and from the outside doesn't look inviting as it is made of the cheapest materials. The room was much better looking and we have no complaints about cost, cleanliness, space, or sleep quality. However realize that this hotel, at least on our one day stop in September, is patronized mostly by workmen. These people need to be up and out at 6:00 am so quiet time is from 10 to 6. With a gravel parking lot and big trucks coming and going first thing in the morning, don't expect a quiet morning.

The hotel has an attached restaurant (as well as one across the road), a bar/lounge and a 'casino' meaning a room with a dozen or so slot machines. The food was decent and fairly priced and best of all, even in such a remote location, they had craft brewed local draft beers including a very good stout. Thankfully the days of bud light dominence outside of a few big cities are long gone. Everywhere on our 5,000 mile trip, even in the smallest towns, good brew could be had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

After driving 14+ hours (the last 2 hours which were in a horrible summer thunderstorm), my husband and I couldn't wait to collapse onto our hotel bed. We had made reservations to stay at the YRI a few weeks in advance. When we finally rolled into Glendive around 11PM on that Friday night, the entire town was out of power due to the storms. We managed to find the hotel in the dark and raced through the rain into the lobby. All of the employees of the restaurant and the hotel were congregated in the dark lobby and it was pretty chaotic. I explained that we had a room reserved and the young lady wasn't quite sure how to check us in with the computer being down. She handed us a key and said we would square up in the morning. We asked the lady at the check-in desk to at least point us in the right direction to our room. She seemed like she was going to help us then got distracted by her soft drink and fellow employees. We stood there awhile waiting for her to remember us then decided to set out on our own. Luckily, we had just spent 2 weeks camping so we donned our headlamps and slowly made our way down the dark hallway to find our room.

By the light of our headlamps, we could see the room was outfitted with new flat screen TVs, a microwave and a mini fridge - all which were useless to us because of the power outage. Obviously, not this was not the hotels fault. The bed was so hard that it felt like sleeping on a piece of plywood. Honestly, my camping mattress is softer than the bed. We both woke up the next morning with back and neck aches.

The walls of the hotel room were so thin that we could hear ever word spoken by people out in the hall AND out in the parking lot. We put in earplugs and still couldn't fall asleep due to all of the noise.

The next morning the power was back on. When we went to check out at 5:30AM, I explained that we had a room last night but didn't officially check in due to the power outage. The guy at the front desk had NO IDEA what to do. I'm not sure if he was the restaurant cook, but he didn't know how to use the computer or how to charge us for the room. He asked if we could wait a 1/2 hour for the regular girl to get in but since we had at least another 14 hours to drive, we weren't willing to wait. Instead, I left our reservation confirmation printout that came via email that had all of my contact info on it. I wasn't sure if we would get charged for the room or not, or if we did get charged, if we would get a discount because the power was out. A few days later, I checked my online credit card statement and we were charged for the full amount of the room.

We will NEVER stay at the YRI again and the power outage has absolutely nothing to do with that decision.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We chose this motel because we wanted to patronize a local business instead of a chain. I had also asked the local Chamber of Commerce about it, and they endorsed the motel, so we made reservations to stay. The biggest problem is that although we had a non-smoking room on the first floor, which was supposed to be all non-smoking, cigarette smoke seeped in under the door from the hallway and set off our room smoke alarm twice. When the alarm first sounded, I opened the door and shut it quickly because the hallway was filled with smoke. I called the front desk to tell them. We then left via the outside door and went to their restaurant to eat. On the way there, I stopped at the front desk to tell them the hallway was full of smoke, and the clerk there knew nothing about it, referred me to another. While she had been polite on the phone, she was unhappy to see me in person and it seemed clear that she had done nothing about the complaint. She said she didn't know the source of the smoke, and did I want her to knock on every door? I was rather shocked by her attitude, and suggested she ought to do something, and she asked what could she do? I told her she could at least open the exit door at the end of the hallway and get a fan to blow the smoke out. I found they did that each morning. In the meantime, we had to put a towel down at the bottom of our hallway door to keep the smoke out. At night, smoke seemed to seep in from the bathroom ventilator, so we had to turn that fan on and then shut that door. All other aspects of the room were fine, but the cigarrette smoke encroachment was a real bummer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retirednonsmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

For the price, you can't beat it. Rooms need updating, but are clean. Ours had a refrigerator. Worked perfect for our family as a stopping point on a long road trip. Considering the overinflated prices people in this region are charging due to the oil boom, we were very satisfied.

There is an attached restaurant and lounge. We had breakfast at the restaurant and received the best "small town" service we've ever had at a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dakota_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

The rooms are older, but pretty clean. The staff was friendly. Motel was full, but fairly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendive hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel and Suites
Astoria Hotel and Suites
#3 of 11 in Glendive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glendive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Glendive
Days Inn Glendive
#4 of 11 in Glendive
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 11 in Glendive
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Glendive
Oak Tree Inn Glendive
#8 of 11 in Glendive
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone River Inn

Property: Yellowstone River Inn
Address: 1903 N Merrill Ave, Glendive, MT 59330-2061
Location: United States > Montana > Glendive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Glendive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing