We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it.”

Custer Battlefield Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Garryowen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Custer Battlefield Museum houses hundreds of Indian War Period artifacts and manuscripts related to Custer, Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull and the 7th Cavalry as well as the acclaimed photograph collection of D.F. Barry. Located in the historic town of Garryowen in southeast Montana, where the Battle of the Little Bighorn began at Sitting Bull's Camp. Located near the museum is the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, containing one of the first 7th Cavalry Casualties.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a small museum located on the grounds where the battle began. I just didn't see much at all that enhanced my experience at the Little Bighorn. The small National Park Service museum at the battlefield is much better, and you'll have the obvious advantage of knowledgeable park rangers just steps away to answer any questions. My advice would be to skip this place, saving the $7 or so admission, and buy a book or video from the NPS.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SonoraDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    11
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go here first.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like US history/old west, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Museum. The museum is on the sight where the first engagements took place. I would suggest going here before you go to the Battle Field memorial up the road 4mi. It will give you the insight to imagine the drama that took place, and you can see for yourself if Major Reno could have aided Custer. There was also an excellent collection of Vintage photographs relevant to the Battle of Little Big Horn there. Also bring a set of Binoculars for when you go to the memorial.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddW326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Custer's Last Stand at Little Big Horn”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If your a history buff, even if you aren't, you will come away from here dreaming of the Old West and imagining yourself being there on that historic day. The museum isn't large but has some good information and artifacts. When you visit the Battlefield, not far from the museum, you will see a large monument and several markers. It is a good time to stand and reflect on what happened here so many years ago. It is a good time for a history lesson for you parents wanting to share some history with your kids.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MeOkieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Good Preparation for the Battlefield”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recommend stopping here on your way to the Little Bighorn Battlefield, which is just to the north about 5 miles. It can be done in 2 hours or less. We were fortunate to be able to speak for awhile with an employee, who was a member of the Crow Nation. We then saw a film (about 20 minutes), and spent about an hour in the museum, which is chock full of Little Bighorn Battle artifacts, memorabilia, and information. A good experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeBe_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Not sure, but maybe you have to know more to understand?”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited as we had heard of 'Custers Last Stand' we had a walk around took some photo's but it did not float my boat, but I am aware that it means a lot more to others .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Custer Battlefield Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing