We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Custer should have stayed here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garryowen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
7th Ranch RV Camp & Historical Tours
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The day we arrived it was 104 degrees with a 30 plus wind blowing and we had booked a tepee. Fortunately they had 1 cabin available and we snapped it up. The cabins are very new with the log wall look. A bench on the front porch for sitting. Picnic table and bbq just outside the door with a water faucet for each unit. The cabins had a regular door and a screen door and 2 screened windows which we opened as the temperature dropped. The cabin had a built in air conditioner and a wall mounted shelf with 2 stools where we put our computer and used the wifi. The bathroom were conveniently located and extremely clean. The sky was filled with a million stars and in the distant the faint whistle of trains passing by. The grounds are rather sparse but they have planted trees which one day will be big and provide abundant shade but for now you need to use your imagination. If you are not already sold on staying here the absolute best part was when we checked in they offered us free ice cream. We selected the huckleberry ice cream sandwiches...to die for. But maybe that was the 104 degree heat talking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAGardenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at 7th Ranch RV Park and had a wonderful visit. Chip and Sandy were very knowledgeable regarding the history surrounding this area, including the Battlefield and Hardin County. I wish we would have had time to stay longer and schedule a horseback history tour with Chip. I also want to come back with our grandson and stay in the teepee! The bathrooms were remarkably clean as was the entire campground. I would definitely recommend 7th Ranch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamcra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

What a treat! We got to see a fantastic fireworks show and our kids even got to light fireworks off with the owners family!

The facility is what we expected for rural Montana. Gravel roads are normal out here. The owners do not charge extra for people wanting to wash their rigs! That is unusual and nice considering the gravel. There are shade trees, lawns, picnic tables & grills at each site. The shower house is the cleanest and nicest one we have been in during our 3 years camping around Montana. Amazing!!! The washers were $2.00 per load and same for the dryers. A bargain compared to our towns laundromat! The cabins are nice, not the typical shed type cabin and the lawns outside them are really nice! Plus they have ac and heat in them! Might have to try one the next time we go instead of hauling our camper.

It was nice to not have a separate charge for our two kids and dog like we've had to pay elsewhere. It was also really nice that we each got a free ice cream bar when we got there. The wi-fi worked fine and considering they don't charge for it at all what a bargain. Too many places are coming up with crazy usage agreements and pricing for xx number of hours. No cable here, but that is also normal for rural Montana and not a problem for us. We were able to pick up local digital channels with our antenna and saw plenty of satellites out.

The kids loved the play ground with the huge tractor tires in it and the tether ball. Our dog loved the huge open area to play fetch in. We loved the relaxed atmosphere. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTOutDoorsman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here in one of their "cowboy cabins" for a night on the way to the Black Hills and stopped to visit Little Bighorn Battlefield (battlefield is amazing).

This was basically a shed surrounded by red mud and gravel, but was fine for a night. The cabin was clean, with bunk beds and a very hard plastic mattress double bed. Air conditioning worked a little.

My issue with the place isn't with the quality of the accommodations though.

The owner escorted us to the cabin in her golf cart and was pleasant enough. She told us the door was open and the key was inside and then she left. The door was open, but there was no key inside. We didn't care because it was already about 8 p.m. and we weren't going anywhere so didn't need a key.

We got up next morning and left.

A couple hours later the owner phoned me on my cell phone and asked me to return the key. I told her we never got a key. She immediately became very confrontational with me, raising her voice saying, "Oh yes, you did or you couldn't have opened the door." I told her the door was open and that there never was a key.

At this point she began yelling at me calling me a liar and saying we would be charged for the key. I calmly tried to continue telling her there was no key, but at this point she was screaming over me and then hung up on me.

Very unpleasant. We love Little Bighorn and the Black Hills, but we won't be staying at this place again. Sometimes people in this industry seem to forget it's called the "hospitality" industry. Even if she had given us a key, would it have been worth losing a customer and a bad review because of a $4 key replacement?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zogduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. It is located near the Interstate and is your typical pull in for a night or two campground. Restrooms and laundry were very clean. Staff friendly and provided directions and suggestions for activities. Much nicer than other campgrounds in the area.
I don't know if it was the time were there or if it is typical, but the area was very windy, we were not able to put our awning out because of winds. Campground is up on a hill and very open, very few trees which is typical of this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelgirlFortAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Love this place. It is awesome. The 7th Ranch RV Camp is a little piece of Montana's paradise. It's location is spectacular. If you are interested in western history you can't find a better location to explore The Battle of the Little Big Horn. Chip and Sandy are amazing hosts, gracious, friendly, interesting, and kind. Can't say enough good things about this place except that my husband and I miss it. It's a beautiful establishment. Make sure you get a chance to stay there. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvtutravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

7th Ranch is a beautiful setting for camping and exploring the Little
Bighorn Battlefield area. The hosts and their staff are the best. This is gem! Absolutely the best RV park and campground in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camper1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 7th Ranch RV Camp & Historical Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7th Ranch RV Camp & Historical Tours

Address: Reno Creek Road, 90 Exit 514 then 3 mi. on Hwy 451, Garryowen, MT 59031
Location: United States > Montana > Garryowen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Garryowen
Price Range: $22 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence winner 2014 & 2016! Good Sam rated 8, 10*, 10 Family owned RV park in southeastern Montana. All pull-thru sites-48 full hook-up, 18 sites with water & electric hook-ups, all with 20, 30 & 50 Amp service-lighted pedestals, 20 tent sites, 4 cabins. Good fast, reliable fiber optic Broadband internet. Super clean wash house with laundry facilities. We accept pets. Check in after 11 a.m. Check out by 11 a.m. Office/check in closes at 9 p.m. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing