We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardiner Guest House B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treated like family”
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Gardiner Guest House is a special place because of the hospitality of the innkeepers, Richard and Nancy Parks. Great conversation, a delicious breakfast and comfortable beds at a fair price just north of the Roosevelt Arch entrance to Yellowstone National Park -- what more could a traveler ask for!

Pleasant memories of our visit are still with us, even though five months have passed since our family of four stayed there. When we contacted Gardiner Guest House about two months before our vacation, only one vacancy remained for the entire summer. Lucky for us, the date was when we planned to be in the area, and the room was the big family-friendly bedroom that boasted a queen bed with a most comfortable mattress, a twin bed that was fine for our teenage daughter, and "the cave" that was perfect for our 10-year-old son. The cave is a former walk-in closet off the main bedroom which has been converted to a small bedroom for a small person.

Our son rated his night in the cave five stars -- up there with fly fishing at Trout Lake and a small river south of Mammoth Hot Springs (thanks to Richard for fishing tips and selling the proper flies), geyser watching (thanks to Nancy for telling us about her favorite geysers which became ours, too), wildlife watching in Lamar Valley, hiking to Storm Point on Yellowstone Lake with a ranger, viewing the Yellowstone's Grand Canyon, riding the wagon to the Old West cookout, floating down the Snake River, hiking Cascade Canyon Trail where we made snowballs high above Jenny Lake in the Tetons, and taking the breakfast cruise to Elk Island on Jackson Lake. Who would have thought sleeping at a bed and breakfast would compete with the grandeur of the parks?

When it was time to go, we didn't want to leave. And we couldn't go because we discovered a flat tire on our car. It was a Saturday morning, so garages were closed. Nancy called the owner of the tire store across the street . Soon a mechanic opened the shop to repair the tire, putting us back on the road by noon. The delay turned out to be a blessing in disguise - an opportunity to chat with Nancy on the porch and visit with Richard and the gang at the fly shop. They treated us like family even though we had never met before. And so we highly recommend Gardiner Guest House.

  • Liked — friendliness, attention to needs of guests
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytrekkers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
216
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We woke up our first morning to the bright morning sun glaring of the near-by Yellowstone mountains. It was gorgeous. This B&B is perfectly located in north Yellowstone's Gardiner, Montana, literally two minutes from the park entrance. Deer eat all around the neighboring houses, and Big Horn sheep perch themselves along the road five minutes from the front door.

Nancy and her husband pampered us with a nice victorian room, home-made breakfasts in the morning, and home-made cookies at night. The facility was perfectly decorated to early 1900s, with modern emenities like hot showers, and large book cases filled with the latest mystery novels or fantasy sets. My three young children loved it!

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay on your visit to Yellowstone, give Nancy a call. It is a step back in time!

  • Liked — Location, setting
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UtahBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Spent 4 nights at Gardiner Guest house in Mid November and had a great time! We spent 4 days waking up very early in the morning going into Yellowstone Park to watch wildlife, but every morning we got up we had a hot breakfast waiting for us! Nancy makes sure that you feel like family and that everything is taken care of for you. We had a great time, thanks for everything Nancy!

  • Liked — Room & Breakfast
  • Disliked — Internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank charlianmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed in the "Cabin" of the Gardiner Guest House during our round trip through USA-Northwest and Canada Southwest in August/September 2008 and found a perfect home. The hosts Nancy and Richard are really nice and start with a tour through the house so that you feel home from the beginning.
We had the Cabin in the backyard of the House with private parking and private terrace and garden just in front of it.
A lovely fully cooked breakfast is served in the morning at the main house, which is allways open for the Cabin people and tea, coffee and biskuits are there for the guests. We had a nice talk with Nancy in the morning and she told us that she tries to copy all the good things she found in B&Bs while she is traveling and to avoid the things she dislike. Nancy you really found the way, how to operate a B&B perfectly.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LairdofGlencairn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Great place to stay while visiting Yellowstone. The cosiest place we encountered in a month of visiting the western states of the USA... by far!
Nancy and Richard are such nice people, we wished we could have stayed longer (now only one day). Maybe if we visit Canada in a few years... we can give another visit to Yellowstone, and Nancy and Richard.
Regards, and keep up practicing French Nancy!
Pieter en Liesje

  • Liked — Romantic environment, nice and warm reception
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

First trip to Yellowstone for fly fishing and we decided to set up base camp at the park's north entrance. Gardiner Guest House is owned by Richard and Nancy Parks. They also own Park's Fly Shop next door.
Upstairs, three good-sized rooms, none share a wall. Very quiet. Beds are comfortable. Rooms very clean. There is also a small, detached stone cottage w/kitchen. Perfect for a couple alone or a couple with a small kid or two. For two fishermen, one has to sleep on the trundle bed on the first floor and this gets a little cramped.
Breakfasts are incredible, period. Great mix of people at the breakfast table-- locals from Montana and Wyoming, plus couples from Europe. (We were surprised to find we were the only fly fishers staying there.) At breakfast Richard talks fishing and area history and Nancy tells stories and basically you wish these guys were related to you so you could spend holidays with them. If you fly fish, then breakfast leads to a stroll to the fly shop where you plan strategy for the day and buy flies and off you go. Incidentally, Richard wrote the book on where and when to fish Yellowstone Park, literally. He autographed my copy. We also floated the Yellowstone with one of Park's guides and had a spectacular day.
Gardiner is a small town. The Yellowstone runs through it and we caught lots of nice-sized trout from the bank, right in town. There are a few good restaurants, some shops and plenty of saloons.
I don't think you can go wrong here. Terrific place.
As to the fishing ... try and catch the Firehole on an overcast day in the fall and bring lots of (non-beadhead) gold-ribbed hare's ears - drift casts across and down. Park at Biscuit Basin and go downstream. Don't skip the fallen trees in the water along the far bank below the parking lot. Keep this a secret.

  • Liked — Value, location, the owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorbinMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Our first time at a B&B and what a wonderful treat! We could not ask for anything more. The room was comfy and just adorable. Nance and Richard were friendly and very informative. Nance could not do enough for us. She was just super and very accommodating. We just loved our stay and would highly recommend as a place to stay. I just wish we had more time to stay longer, maybe our next visit. .

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABBYNY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardiner Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardiner Guest House B&B

Property: Gardiner Guest House B&B
Address: 112 Main Street East, PO BOX 173, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1903 Folk Victorian located in uptown Gardiner has three well appointed rooms and one cabin. Breakfast offered:cold buffet as well as a daily hot entree. Amenities include TV/Movies in parlor,books and games,hot beverage sideboard, and WIFI. Moments away from Yellowstone National Park. Restaurants and shops with in walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing