We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get any closer to the North Entrance of Yellowstone than this!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowstone River Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can't get any closer to the North Entrance of Yellowstone than this!”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Room was exactly what I needed. Very close to Yellowstone, clean, helpful staff. Mini fridge, microwave, A/C., and tv. Plus a back door that opened on a patio area that's directly on the Yellowstone River. Beautiful view. Yellowstone National Park is right across the parking lot. I stayed in Sept. at the end of the busy season, and the rate was unbeatable. Gardiner has quite a few shops for tourists, as well as restaurants and bars. September was a great time to visit if you're looking to avoid some of the big summer crowds. I've already recommended the Yellowstone River Motel to others and would definitely stay again, especially when I'm visiting the northern half of the park.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjbOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
74
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

i had a room overlooking the river and it was very pleasant. the room was spotlessly clean and large, with a convenient microwave and refrigerator. tv only had 12 channels and no local channels- the nightly news and weather was from los angeles, which was useless since i was interested in the weather forecast for yellowstone. the room and furniture were very comfortable. i thought the rate was a bit high, but it was the lowest in gardiner so i guess i can't complain. the owner really sees to it that the rooms and grounds are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed for two nights in non smoking room. Room was ready when I arrived and was nice and clean. Motel is the standard 1950s Wyoming motel, no shampoo, no hair dryer, towels kind of scratchy but if you want a clean place to stay on the edge of the park it works well. My room would have been tight if traveling with family solo or couple OK. They also have a nice "patio" area on back of motel that overlooks the river, nice place to catch up on email at end of day. They also have BBQ grills available another nice touch.

Only downside; slowest wifi known to mankind and parking has few spaces and is gravel. Gravel and my motorcycle don't park well but helpful staff found a board for under kickstand.

Keep expectations in line this is a 1950s budget clean motel, a Holiday Inn Express is like the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will_c_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a nice simple motel at the north entrance to Yellowstone park and also close to everything else in Gardiner. The price is reasonable for the location and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khim911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We have stayed at this little motel every year we have come to Yellowstone for the past five years. We love the view of the river from our room. The motel is right outside the gates of Yellowstone. The motel has two sections. One part is like little cabins that are small and quaint and some of them overlook the river. The other section has larger rooms. They take good care of the grounds and they have beautiful flowers everywhere. The Town Cafe is a very short walk away and really has good food. They even remember us from year to year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpns4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at this Motel and it was fantastic. Our room was spacious and clean. They were very helpful and the location was perfect if you want to see Yellowstone Nat'l Park.
We had our 2 dogs and they were so sweet and made us feel welcome. We were right on the river and had deer visit each morning and evening. A bison here and there too.
Most of all owners and their dog were so kind and helpful. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I found this motel to be comfortable and clean during a 6 day stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The coffee pots, hot chocolate and tea available in the lobby are welcoming. The back patio has a great view of the river. For the money, this is a great value. There is no morning breakfast, but restaurants are only one block away in a small, quiet town. Refrigerator and microwave in the room make it possible to make your own meals. A great place if you are visiting Yellowstone. I highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4me53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone River Motel

Property: Yellowstone River Motel
Address: 14 Park Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Yellowstone River Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing