We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellowstone River Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My family stayed at the Yellowstone River Motel for just one night. The room was nice and priced comparatively to other hotels in Gardiner. They have actual cribs, not just a pack-n-play to use if you need one which is nice. We asked for a later check-out due to us needing to drive to Livingston early in the morning the day after checking in to meet with the local priest, and were given one, but it really seemed like the request was a big deal and a big inconvenience. The free wifi is really nice and very easy to connect to, unlike some larger chain hotels. They even have a nice little patio with a view over the Yellowstone River out back. This hotel does not serve a continental breakfast whereas there are other hotels in Gardiner priced nearly the same that do. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    90
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
77
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have used a lot of motels for groups and yes the beds are comfy and the place is clean. However the owner took the time to explain where to go that was good on our cycle to Livingston the next day. There was free coffee and all done with a smile. the place was full when we were there which says something too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great place for less expense! Has a great view of the Yellowstone River at the back! We stayed there 2 years ago and it was a nice experience. Though we stayed for just one night but it was a good experience. The beds are comfy. Not 3,4,5 star comfy but good for after a tiring day! Has great restaurants along the Roosevelt arch which is just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Even if you are a couple try and get 2 queen beds. We did that during our Yellowstone trip and glad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It took us longer to go thru Yellow Stone Park than we thought and ended up pulling into Gardiner, MT very late. We thought we would be able to find a more reasonable place to stay in this quaint little town rather than staying in the park. We got to the front desk at 10:30pm and were plesantly greated by one of the owners and her adorable/playful dog. She made us feel very welcome and gave us a great rate on the room. We were in the newer wing with a very comfortable, spacious, spotless room. We were surprised to have a fridge, microwave, toiletries and free Wi-Fi for what we paid for the night, probably the best deal of our entire trip thru Montana! The view of the Yellow Stone River at the back of the hotel is beautiful, be sure to check it out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiesuegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Xanterra, the private, for profit company that has the contract to operate and maintain all of the visitor facilities (food, lodging, shops) in Yellowstone National Park, does a very poor job and is very pricey.

The Yellowstone River Motel, in Gardiner MT just outside the northern entrance, is a great alternative to staying at a Xanterra-run facility. We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, on the second floor, had 2 queen beds in a very spacious, clean room. Hotel staff were very friendly, room was clean, had a fridge and microwave. It did have a small TV -- but really folks, do you need a TV at YNP? This hotel has a small patio area with seats and tables that overlook the Yellowstone River. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The newer building has large rooms. Some of the older rooms are right near the Yellowstone River an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglelady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Since our stay was last minute and we added 2 nights to our original 2 night reservation, we had to switch rooms twice. We were just happy they had room for us. Actually, we didn't move our luggage, they did. That made it really easy! The first night was in the new part. The second in the really old part, and the third and fourth nights in the middle. The room the second night was the smallest but it was cool that you could hear the sounds of the Yellowstone River through the window. No matter which room, they were always very clean and the beds were very comfy. I can't say enough about the staff; they were totally awesome, from the owner to the folks that cleaned the rooms! The location is perfect. Within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants on Park Street (which is the street that leads to the North Gate of Yellowstone). I would recommend this to anyone heading to Gardiner!

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section are larger and have a fridge and coffee maker but the older section is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We planned to be in Yellowstone National Park for 3-4 days. We utilized Trip Advisor to find a clean, nice place to stay. We found the Yellowstone River Motel at the North entrance of Yellowstone in Gardiner, Montana. We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with our accommodations. The room carried the Western features of the town and was very clean and comfortable. After a long day of sight seeing we relaxed on the grassy patio overlooking the Yellowstone River. There are cafe's in town to obtain a meal. Our favorite is an Expresso shop that serves coffee grown in the Yellowstone area and scones. The Yellowstone River Motel provides grills, and utensils if you prefer to cook. The staff is very friendly to include Bonnie (resident dog). We would stay at the Yellowstone River Motel again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone River Motel

Property: Yellowstone River Motel
Address: 14 Park Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Yellowstone River Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing