We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are as spectacular as the Inn itself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa Bay, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Views are as spectacular as the Inn itself!”
Reviewed September 20, 2009

The innkeepers, Greg and Sabina Strauss, went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. The Yellowstone Basin Inn is located in a postcard setting--surrounded by mountains and across from the Yellowstone River. The suite we stayed in was immaculate and beautifully appointed. One of the biggest draws of this Inn is the proximity to the North entrance of Yellowstone National Park . It is located just outside of Gardiner, Montana--not in the town itself--which was lovely for us. Very peaceful and food for the soul!

Mary Robillard

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    94
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
219
347
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is a lovely Inn with a beautiful mountain view - and CLOSE to the Park. We were greeted by Greg who couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful - Need an icepack for your sore knee? Need a cooler for the day's excursions? Or how about a cold drink when you arrive? They've got it. Not to mention the really nice continental breakfast. Aside from all that, Greg will tell you IN DETAIL the really cool places to visit and those to skip. Are you getting the picture? Oh, and my friend and I stayed in room 1 with the kitchenette - it's really roomy (and spotlessly clean) and stocked with everything you need to prepare meals (frig, stove, microwave, utensils, etc.) There's a really nice porch with table and chairs and some rocking chairs to sit and relax, eat meals, plan your day or talk to other travelers. This is a REALLY a great place (and no, I'm not related to Greg!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowstonehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our 4 night stay at the Yellowstone Basin Inn was perfect. The Rainbow Trout room was large, clean, and quiet. The setting of the inn is very peaceful and the view from the porch of Electric Peak is spectacular. Beyond a convenient and comfortable place to stay Greg made our visit special with his engaging personality, great tips/advice on anything you might want to see or do, and last but not least a lesson in bull roping! My 13-year old was so into it that we got our own lasso so that he can practice at home. Thanks Greg for making our visit to Yellowstone a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljgriff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Yellowstone Basin Inn is a hybrid hotel / B&B at the northern gateway to Yellowstone National Park. It's nestled on a scenic hillside that looks across US 89 to the Yellowstone River and to mountains beyond. The inn offers 11 widely varying room selections, from which we chose the Yellowstone Suite: roomy, spotlessly clean, comfortable, pet-free, smoke-free and the perfect bivouac for our day trips into the park. Our hosts, Greg and Sabina Strauss, were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

To balance our review, the deadbolt locks in our room worked with some difficulty.

Conclusion: Go there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardinalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Our nights here were among the highlights of our trip. Gregg is an excellent host, offering dining recommendations and travel information as well as housing us in a very clean and spacious suite. This inn, five miles outside of town, is well worth the drive and the cost. The atmosphere here calms the weary traveler and one departs feeling refreshed and ready to see more of this diverse area. This is a special place.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

A peaceful, beautiful inn away from the madness of the tourist-filled park. This place has the most stunning view of Devil's Slide! Our room was very spacious and clean, the hot tub under the stars was lovely, and the hospitality was truly exceptional. Gregg is so friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants not just in the vicinity but in other towns we were planning to visit. He also made great suggestions for things to see in Yellowstone, and set us up with an awesome horseback trail ride with Northfork Creek Outfitters. He taught our kids how to rope a calf, exhibiting remarkable patience and teaching our daughter a life lesson on perseverance when she couldn't quite get the hang of it at first. We absolutely loved our stay there and seriously considered altering our plans so we could stay another night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed in the Yellowstone Basin Inn on August 18th and 19th, 2009 and were very pleased with everything. Greg (one of the owners) is a great host, and greeted us with a cold beer upon check-in (8pm). While we were there, he was teaching guests (adults and kids alike) steer roping. He has phenomenal patience and seems to love what he does. He spends tons of time ensuring his guests have good plans for their days and a great place to sleep at night.

I highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnecharl0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
355 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Property: Yellowstone Basin Inn
Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing