We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2009

When we decided to drive to Montana from British Columbia to show our son the wonders of Yellowstone, I knew I wanted to find a place to stay that was close to, rather than inside the park. We tend to prefer smaller, quieter places like inns and B&Bs, especially if we can find one with local charm. We found exactly what we were looking for in Yellowstone Basin Inn.
From the moment we arrived and noticed the stunning view from the inn overlooking Yellowstone river to the mountains beyond, we knew we were in for a treat! Greg, the owner/host was there immediately to say hello and check us in. He offered us some cold soft drinks and asked us questions about what we wanted to see and do. He was very knowledgeable, not only about the park and the nearby town of Gardiner, but a large part of the surrounding area as well. He and his wife Sabina were available every day to help with itineraries, as well as making arrangements for other available activities such as horseback riding, fishing and whitewater rafting. Since most of our time was taken up with sightseeing in the park, we didn't do much else, but Sabina arranged a horseback ride with a stable way up in the mountains that was just breathtaking!

Our room was lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean with several amenities including a television with many channels available, and wireless internet. It had a tasteful western decor right down to the lampshades! The beds were incredibly comfy with excellent linens, and the towels were the fluffiest I think I have ever had in an inn! At the far end of the inn, there is a large hot tub, and fresh towels were brought to our room for its use everyday. One of the most thoughtful things was the assortment of chairs, rockers and cafe tables placed outside each door on the front porch. It was so nice to sit and read, have a cool drink or talk to your 'neighbours'. Very relaxing.
Breakfast, which was available from quite an early hour each day, was a delicious assortment of baked goods, with options for heating/toasting, and several kinds of cereal. Along with juice, milk, tea, and Greg's super coffee, set us up nicely for the day's activities.
We spent five glorious days here, and can't imagine staying anywhere else, should we return to the area! Absolutely wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MezzoMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Yellowstone Basin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 709 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

We spent three nights at the Yellowstone Basin Inn and very much enjoyed it. After a long drive we were greeted by Greg and offered drinks. He then gave us suggestions for restraurants in town and helped us plan our first day in the park. It was service that you don't find often anymore. We stayed in one of the suites, and it was clean and comfortable. Would recommend the Yellowstone Basin Inn to everyone.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank juliewSeabrook_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Staying here was more like staying with family than at a hotel. The inn owners treated us like they had known us for years. They were most helpful in finding local restaurants, as well as planning each day's sightseeing through Yellowstone Nat. Park. The entire staff was kind, courteous, and helpful at all times. The rooms were very clean. Overall, the room was quiet and the bed was very comfy. Access to the inn was easy, and we parked right out front. Three nights at the inn were exactly the retreat we were looking for. I will recommend this inn to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Gardiner, MT. is a small community approximately 5 miles north of Yellowstone National Park it is dependent upon tourists drawn to the world famous park. It's resturants are few and rather expensive, there are many "Mom and Pop" hotels as well as a few national chains all with expensive room rates.

We attempted to make a reservation t one of the lodges in the park to no avail. We were told "you have to make reservations 6 - 12 months in advance to stay on the park." We were now at the mercy of the toss of the dice. Fortunately we were extremely lucky.

The Yellowstone Basin Inn is approximately 5 years old, contains approximately 11 rooms/suites and situated approximately 5 miles from the entrance to the park, it was what we would have envisioned as a Bed and Breakfast rather than a hotel. The owners Greg and Sabina Strauss treated us like part of the family. When we arrived on June 11th we were invited to a cookout in honor of their 5 years in business.

Greg is extremely knowledgeable on the park and after a question and answer period of what we wanted to see in the time we planned to stay he proceeded to develop a plan to insure that we saw as much as we wanted in that time frame.

The room with kitchenette was very cozy, clean, and comfortable, the view of the mountains from our window was out of this world. Continental breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit, coffee/tea and the largest and most delicious muffins and bagels ever.
Every morning at breakfast Greg would querry us on what we had seen the day before and what the plan was for that day.

I cannot say enough for our hosts and their facility. If I had to say anything negative about it I would have to say the lack of signage as you approach it. When traveling at 75 miles an hour, approaching a curve in the road it is and was very easy to miss his driveway.

I recommend the Yellowstone Basin Inn very highly. Checkout their website.

The service was great everyone was very attentive to our needs and requests.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDLEG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed one night at the Yellowstone Basin Inn and it was a great one. We were a little late getting in but Greg, the B&B owner, still accommodated us and greeted us warmly. We actually got there after sunset to a yard full of deer! We stayed in the Rainbow Trout room. It was extra clean and roomy. The outdoor hot tub under the stars and to the sound of the nearby river. It was a great way to end our day of driving. The wi-fi was nice too. The next morning we had a nice breakfast on the porch to a lovely view. Greg provided us with the inside scoop for our first visit to Yellowstone. We would only be there for one day so he gave us the highlights. His input was excellent and 100% perfect for us. The B&B is located just a short drive north of Gardiner/North Gate. It is in a great location. Greg and the B&B was excellent. We couldn't have stayed at a better place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hap-hazzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Yellowstone Basin Inn in early June and had a fabulous time. Greg's knowledge of Yellowstone alone was worth the price of our lodging. He has a passion for the National Park like no other and spent a large amount of his personal time sharing and helping us have a great vacation. I can't thank him enough for tips and insight!

The rooms at the inn were far better than those in the park and were also cheaper! Our room was extremely clean, well appointed and much larger than any others during our trip. It's not a luxury resort, but we were not expecting that nor did we need that. The continental breakfast was more than adequate to start our days.

I highly recommend spending time with Greg at the Yellowstone Basin Inn if you plan to spend a large amount of time in the Northern part of Yellowstone. It would be quite a daily drive if you were planning to visit Grand Teton from this location, but is a perfect location for central and north touring of Yellowstone.

Thanks Greg for a great time! We look forward to staying with you again the next time we arein Big Sky country!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpgnmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We spent three nights at the Yellowstone Basin Inn after three nights at the Old Faithful Inn. Next trip we will spend ALL of our trip based at the Yellowstone Basin Inn! It was beautifully run and well situated for the best of the park. We really enjoyed the small town of Gardiner as well. Greg and Sabina are superb hosts and were extremely helpful - ice packs for our cooler, tips for special places in the park, superb restaurant suggestions. The relaxed breakfast sets you up for the day and gives you a chance to get ideas from Greg as well as the other guests. No detail has been forgotten in this lovely small inn and the situation was excellent. We HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surreywharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
761 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,032 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range: $161 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing