We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable with a nice hot tub!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
“Friendly and Comfortable with a nice hot tub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came really late during a busy part of the year, and they gave us their last room at a great price. Everywhere else in town was pretty much booked, and I think we lucked into the best hotel in town (I have stayed in a few others). It is a little outside of the town which makes it more private.

Highlights: it was small, had a nice hot tub (outdoor, beautiful stars...), and an organic, home-cooked breakfast (included with room).

The owners could not be more nice, and it is for this reason that I am writing my first review ever!

Well worth the price

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    88
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
197
323
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The inn is about 10 minutes from entrance by car to the park. But the inn is not in the town, so there is very quite.The owners are Greg and Sabina. Sabina is from czech :). I thing I never met somebody like Greg, he was friendly, willing and he did everything for ours comfort. The mornig breakfast was the best we had on our trip. The room was big, clean and very quite. I sure recommended this lovely basin inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vojvodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Yellowstone Basin Inn was an ideal setting for our family vacation! Our family of five loved the setting- great views and quiet location. We met Sabina and Greg who offered great suggestions for dining nearby and they also were very helpful in assisting us with our park plans.
We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the spacious, clean and welcoming accommodations. Highly recommend this place as a must for families!

Room Tip: Our family of five adults had a wonderful stay in the Cottage Suite- plenty of room to spread out, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for the great review. The Cottage Suite is a very popular unit with families and we are happy that yours enjoyed it. I am glad that you can appreciate the views and quiet setting that we offer just 4 miles North of Gardiner. We are happy to offer our guest a complimentory concierge service that helps their experience in the Park.

We hope to see you again soon,

Greg & Sabina - Yellowstone Basin Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This inn is far enough outside of Gardiner to feel like you've gotten away from civilization and a busy life, yet only a few minutes from the North Entrance of Yellowstone.The breakfast is great, and the option of lunch and/or dinner made the logistics of our stay a little easier when we were busy in the park most of the day. The innkeepers are nice folks to talk to, and Greg is very helpful. He knows most of the secrets of Yellowstone, and will help you plan your days in the park. The rooms were very clean and neat, and my husband enjoyed the hot tub after a few long days in the park.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are quite small (we stayed in Northern Lights). A single person would have no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

So many things to share. First, the location is ideal, away from the bustle of Gardiner and the Park with spectacular views and in such a peaceful setting. Five miles out of town is perfect. Then the food: delicious and a cozy eating area with delightful views. Next is Greg: a perfect concierge with a wealth of tips for visiting the Park - when to go, where to go, where to find wildlife and how to avoid the crush of visitors. And if this is not enough, the rooms are just the right size and easily accessed. We were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed at Yellowstone Basin Inn in June. The Inn is in a lovely location, 5 miles outside the main town of Gardiner and in a valley facing a mountains view. We stayed in the Yellowstone Suite which has views to mountains at the front (from the lounge area) and the back (from the bedroom). Lots of space, a kitchen area so you can self-cater if you want to and the most comfortable bed of our entire holiday; and a bathroom with bath/shower and 2 sinks. They do provide breakfast (cereals, bagels, a hot dish) and will cook you a meal in the evening although it is a set menu. You might want to check the menu first to see if it suits you. We would have preferred more choices. Note there is no complimentary coffee in the rooms, although you can buy this at reception.

Room Tip: The Yellowstone Suite is large , with lots of space, can sleep 4 and is on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan612500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Susan,

thank you for your lovely review of the Yellowstone Suite, one of our favorites, which we call the honeymoon suite.

Also, thank you for having dinner with us and being patient as we get better at providing dinner service for our guests. We are excited that starting mid-July we will be expanding our dinner menu and we will be able to offer more choices to our guests for dinners.

Thank you!
Greg & Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32 Carriage Rd., Wilton,CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This inn was ideally located and the owners, Greg and Sabina, make you feel completely at home. The views are stupendous and we enjoyed seeing rafters float by as we looked at the sunset. There is a hot tub and delicious, organic breakfast. Greg obviously loves what he does and where he lives and communicates this joy to his guests. He is also so knowledgable about the park and not only answered all our questions but provided great info on areas to hike. My 11-year-old twins loved the calf roping classes he offers daily for guests' enjoyment. In fact we are buying a rodeo rope online this week to keep up the fun and spirit of Yellowstone at our home in CT. You will be so glad you stayed here...it was the best lodging of our trip by far!

Room Tip: The suites are a very nice size for a family of four or five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amc0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Property: Yellowstone Basin Inn
Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing