We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cottage Grove, Oregon
1 review
“Cozy and quiet”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Yellowstone Basin Inn is close to town and close to Yellowstone with a beautiful view across the valley. The Paradise Cabin room had a rustic look but was modern and very clean. The little gas fireplace added a warm and cozy touch after some chilly April days in Yellowstone. We appreciated the kitchenette that was well supplied with dishes, utensils, paper towels and all that we needed. Greg was very hospitable and welcoming and offered fine dining suggestions and great ideas of where to go. We would happily stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeannedotL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are glad that you visited us in our off season so you can enjoy the Park at a different time of year. We appreciate your detailed review of our property and yes, the Paradise Cabin room offers a rustic feeling with modern amenities in a beautiful and clean inn. It is a very popular unit for couples. We strive to make every guests experience great by offering a concierge service so that they will get the most out of this area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    94
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
220
347
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Yellowstone Basin Inn last Summer. The room was clean and quiet. The inn has beautiful views. That alone would give it a high rating but the service is above and beyond any 5 star hotel we've stayed at. I must be on a gluten free diet and I mentioned this when booking our stay. I was told to remind them when we checked in. It was so nice to have a hot breakfast that wasn't grits! They had the most amazing gluten free muffins and made a delicious casserole that I could enjoy. Not only that, our Innkeeper has extensive knowledge of the area he is more than happy to share with the guests. He even recommended a restaurant that was fantastic and we ate there twice (Gluten Free Menu). We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Yellowstone Basin Inn. We are happy that you had a good time as we strive to make our guests experiences wonderful. We are glad we where able to accommodate you for breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Only 5 minutes from town, located on the outskirts is a definite plus - you get quiet seclusion with a beautiful view instead. The innkeepers love what they do and are very helpful and knowledgeable. One is a professional in the hospitality industry. We got great, much appreciated tips on how to view the park and where and where not to eat. We even got a special fireworks show for New Year's Eve!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank food30cost10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review for the Yellowstone Basin Inn. We also enjoy being out of town for the quietness and fantastic views. My wife & I truly enjoy what we do and love sharing it with our guests. We had a great New Years Eve! Thank you, Greg & Sabina - Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was absolutely the best stay of our vacation. It was located a little north of the town, but beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are very nice, and look like they've been recently upgraded. All the rooms have a different theme, the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was homemade, organic and delicious! The owner gave us the best advice on touring the park...it was absolutely on target for our time and taking into account our interests. In the evening the owner has a "roping" lesson, which was a lot of fun. I can't say enough good things about our stay...I would go back in a minute! We loved it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and face the valley to the West. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbrandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaSkip42, Owner at Yellowstone Basin Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for one of the best reviews on Trip Advisor for the Yellowstone Basin Inn. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms. It is really important to make our guests comfortable. This year we are planning on getting new linens, and upgrading some of our TVs and furniture. We are glad you appreciate our breakfasts, we think it is really important to serve food that is good for us and the environment. We are also glad that our recommendations made your trip special. We offer calf roping lessons to all our guests for the true Yellowstone and Montana experience.

Thanks again and we will see you soon,

Greg & Sabina - Your Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife an I stayed for a couple of days at the Yellostone Basin Inn this past October while visiting northern Yellowstone National Park..The property was only four miles out of town and it was a very easy drive to and from the park. The room we had was large and very upscale with nice ammenities such as a stove, refridgerator, sink, etc. Greg, the owner, manager, and concierge was incredible. He knew which springs were flowing at Mammoth Hot Springs and the best places to hike, see wildlife and other beauties of the park. If in the area again, we will certainly return to the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The owner Greg made us very welcome for our 3 night stay last week. Since there were 4 of us we were upgraded into an enormous and spacious suite, complete with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 2 reception rooms, & a dining room!
The free breakfast majors on organically and locally sourced ingredients, but was definitely american style in content.
Greg is a fountain of good information and is very willing to share his knowledge with the guests, - very helpful!
The only downside of the YBI is that it is nearly 5 miles out of town on the Livingston road, so a drive back into town is necessary each evening for a meal. However the early morning views across the valley from the elevated situation are worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although it bills itself as a B & B, don't expect the classic B & B experience. The rooms aren't fancy, the facility is very much akin to a roadside motel in appearance and the breakfast is a fairly limited albeit tasty selection of a few entrees served out of small chafing pans.
However, what in fact sets this place apart is service, and lots of it. Owners Greg and Sabina Strauss are almost fanatical in their attention to detail and dedication in making sure their guests not only enjoy their stay at the Inn but in nearby Gardiner and Yellowstone as well, even to the point of offering a picnic lunch as an option for those spending the day in the Park. Greg is filled with facts, info and suggestions to park visitors and his advice to visit Rosie's cafe in Gardiner and the nearby Lighthouse restaurant were spot on. Affable, helpful and knowledgeable, he was seemingly everywhere at once and made our stay even more enjoyable.
The inn is about 5 minutes outside Gardiner on a quiet hillside, and quite easy to locate. The rooms were meticulously clean and lacked nothing in the way of amenities, and the bed was the best we encountered in a month on the road. Truly exceptional!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomersdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
355 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Property: Yellowstone Basin Inn
Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing